Some clarification on Charge, please


Rules Questions


when you Charge, do you move up to the target's adjacent square? and if I cast Enlarge Person to get 10ft reach, and then Charge, may I then Charge so that I am two squares away from the target?

furthermore, with Pounce, which grants me a Full-Attack Action, may I then do Flurry of Blows, and then 5-Foot Step away from the target? the rules for Charge dictate that you can't 5-Foot Step, but the rules for Full-Attack Actions specify that you may do a 5-foot step as part of this action, which I interpret as overruling the Charge rule due to the Pounce being a Special Ability, and thus a specific exception to the Charge rules (which also firmly states that you only get one attack).

lastly, if I am able to 5-Foot Step, placing me 15ft away from my target, does this mean that if it has to charge me to attack me, I get an Attack of Opportunity at 10ft?


Yes, you stop at the first square you can attack your target from on a charge. If you have 10' reach, that's 10' away from the target.

You may do a full attack with pounce at the end of a charge, yes. However, you may not subsequently take a 5' step. You may only take a 5' step if you have not moved in the round.

Moot from the answer above, but if you are 15' away from a target, it needs to move up till it threatens you to make a melee attack, which may provoke an AoO.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2014 Top 32

alexanderb wrote:

when you Charge, do you move up to the target's adjacent square? and if I cast Enlarge Person to get 10ft reach, and then Charge, may I then Charge so that I am two squares away from the target?

furthermore, with Pounce, which grants me a Full-Attack Action, may I then do Flurry of Blows, and then 5-Foot Step away from the target? the rules for Charge dictate that you can't 5-Foot Step, but the rules for Full-Attack Actions specify that you may do a 5-foot step as part of this action, which I interpret as overruling the Charge rule due to the Pounce being a Special Ability, and thus a specific exception to the Charge rules (which also firmly states that you only get one attack).

lastly, if I am able to 5-Foot Step, placing me 15ft away from my target, does this mean that if it has to charge me to attack me, I get an Attack of Opportunity at 10ft?

You stop moving on a charge when you get within reach of the target. If you have a 5ft reach you stop in the adjacent square, if you have 10ft reach you stop 10ft away and make your attack, and so on.

As for pounce you can't take 2 movement actions in a round. So you couldn't charge then pounce then 5ft step. Some abilities such as Spring Attack allow you to interrupt a move action with an attack. Pounce only gives you all your attacks at the end of a charge instead of the single attack normally allowed.


thank you, both.

the confusion regarding Pounce stems from the fact that it specifically grants me a *Full-Attack Action* after a Charge, and the rules for Full-Attack Actions say that you may do a 5-Foot Step afterwords.

Grand Lodge

alexanderb wrote:
the confusion regarding Pounce stems from the fact that it specifically grants me a *Full-Attack Action* after a Charge, and the rules for Full-Attack Actions say that you may do a 5-Foot Step afterwords.

You can take a 5 foot step if you haven't made any other movement in the round. Since you have moved at least 10 feet, you don't have a 5 foot step available.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Some clarification on Charge, please All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.