Deception Subdomain - Sudden Shift


Rules Questions

Contributor

Deception Subdomain
Associated Domain: Trickery.
Replacement Power: The following granted power replaces the copycat power of the Trickery domain.
Sudden Shift (Sp): In the blink of an eye, you can appear somewhere else. As an immediate action, after you are missed by a melee attack, you can teleport up to 10 feet to a space that you can see. This space must be inside the reach of the creature that attacked you. You can use this power a number of times each day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

So, have a player who's pc has this domain power and his pc and another pc were placed into a 10'x10' iron barred cell. He and the other pc stood by the bars and the second pc made a melee attack against the first and missed.

The question is can they do this as a means to activate this domain power and thereby have the first pc "teleport" outside the cell bars as a means to escape?


Almost certainly not the intent PER SE, but I don't see why not based on the rules,
or even why it really conflicts with the game-universe 'why' of the ability,
i.e. using it vs. a monster who REALLY IS trying to kill you while you are trapped in a cage (and ending up on other sides of bars) doesn't seem AT ALL unreasonable to me... Triggering 'when you are attacked' abilities via Ally's 'attacking you' for just that effect is always going to feel a little cheesy no matter what, but I don't see any specific problem in this case.

Barring such usage, another useful usage of the ability is Shifting to a square with concealment,
in which you can (as part of the Shifting action) make a Stealth check to be Hidden.


I was going to say that the PC was not really playing by the spirit of the rules here and that you would be in your rights to suggest his deity does not allow such a usage of his power or something like that, but then I realized that this is exactly the sort of thing a deity associated with Trickery would approve of.

I'd say, applaud him for his craftiness--but don't allow the guy swinging at him to auto-fail. Make him actually roll to see if he hits, so the plan carries some risk.


I agree with the above... If the ally is declaring they want to fail, then it isn't really a valid attack to trigger the ability. That said, a normal Unarmed Strike attack doing Non-Lethal damage should be valid to trigger the ability.

Still, non-lethal damage still has an effect, and your buddy is probably using Power Attack (while you are FulL Defensing, etc) in order to maximize the chance of triggering the ability, so if it hits it should hit hard :-)

Contributor

Yeah, I started to roll my eyes as soon as he started to say, "Ok my friend here is going to try to swing at me and if he misses I'll teleport outside the cell to escape"

I was about to call shananagins, but in the end I allowed it, but the whole time my inner voice said that it was a bad call. Exactly because I don't think that was the intent of the power when it was created, but then again it doesnt really address this type of situation against it.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
mplindustries wrote:

...but then I realized that this is exactly the sort of thing a deity associated with Trickery would approve of.

Exactly.

As well, short range teleportation certainly is not outside the realm of what first level abilities of this sort can accomplish.


Quandary wrote:

Almost certainly not the intent PER SE, but I don't see why not based on the rules,

or even why it really conflicts with the game-universe 'why' of the ability,

Indeed. Note that it's labeled as "Sp", meaning it's a spell-like ability. That means the ability is magical, and the description states the effect is based on teleport. Hands down, the ability *can* achieve the stated result.

(Being Sp also means that it triggers an AoO, but that makes absolutely no sense. They surely simply forgot to specify it doesn't.)

mplindustries wrote:
but then I realized that this is exactly the sort of thing a deity associated with Trickery would approve of.

And it works from a role-play point of view too. Perfect!


Re: the Spell-Like Ability thing, since Immediate Actions are pretty much Swift Actions, I think the rule 'Casting a spell as a swift action doesn't incur an attack of opportunity.' applies here(PRD:Combat:Actions:Swift Actions).

Grand Lodge

When the ability states within reach, must they still be threatening you?


Not necessarily, as it is possible to be within a target's reach while not being in a threatened square.

Such as being beside a spear-wielding humanoid for example, or in one of its diagonal blind spots.

There can also be cases where a creature with natural reach is prevented from attacking, but it still has an established reach.

Grand Lodge

If say, a creature with a 10ft reach is against a 5ft wall, attacks you, misses, could you teleport to the other side of the wall?

Contributor

Ok - second question. (I admit I haven't look this up) but his Inquisitor was in a cell without belongings...(ie no holy symbol) would this change the ability to use his spell-like domain power or only if he was a cleric or neither and he can do it either class as stated above?


Holy symbols need to be presented and visible for spell casting.
Domain has no such text and doesn't seem to need a symbol present.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Tyki11 wrote:
Holy symbols need to be presented and visible for spell casting.

Incorrect. You need one if one of the spell components is "Divine Focus", but otherwise you don't need a holy symbol to cast.

Silver Crusade

blackbloodtroll wrote:
If say, a creature with a 10ft reach is against a 5ft wall, attacks you, misses, could you teleport to the other side of the wall?

The ability specifically says you need to be able to see the space you're teleporting to. So going through a wall would be out, but teleporting around a corner to a space you can see, but your attacker can't see because of positioning would be perfectly legit. Unless the wall is made of clear glass or crystal, in which case you could see the other side and teleport there.

Grand Lodge

I like this ability. It's good, without breaking balance.


Fromper wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
If say, a creature with a 10ft reach is against a 5ft wall, attacks you, misses, could you teleport to the other side of the wall?

The ability specifically says you need to be able to see the space you're teleporting to. So going through a wall would be out, but teleporting around a corner to a space you can see, but your attacker can't see because of positioning would be perfectly legit. Unless the wall is made of clear glass or crystal, in which case you could see the other side and teleport there.

I'm not sure if teleporting to a place that is technically inside the creature's reach, but that they're unable to attack into because of a wall is a legitimate use or not. What if you were on one side of a wall of force, and you used this to teleport to the other side, in a space the creature could attack if it wasn't for the wall?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Bobson wrote:
I'm not sure if teleporting to a place that is technically inside the creature's reach, but that they're unable to attack into because of a wall is a legitimate use or not. What if you were on one side of a wall of force, and you used this to teleport to the other side, in a space the creature could attack if it wasn't for the wall?

Sounds like the question is this:

Can a space that a creature can't actually reach still be considered "in reach"?

That... doesn't sound too hard to answer.

Grand Lodge

This is something that could combine well with Crane Wing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Deception Subdomain - Sudden Shift All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.