Can a Witch use Divine scrolls?


Rules Questions


Quote:

To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.

  • The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)
  • The user must have the spell on her class list.
  • The user must have the requisite ability score.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magicItems/scrolls.html

1) The Witch is an Arcane caster.
2) An example spell is Destruction, which is on the Witches spell list at level 8. http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advanced/baseClasses/witch.html

Quote:

School necromancy [death]; Level cleric 7

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, F (holy or unholy symbol costing 500 gp)
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one creature
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Fortitude partial; Spell Resistance yes
This spell instantly delivers 10 points of damage per caster level. If the spell slays the target, it consumes the remains utterly in holy (or unholy) fire (but not its equipment or possessions). If the target's Fortitude saving throw succeeds, it instead takes 10d6 points of damage. The only way to restore life to a character who has failed to save against this spell (and was slain) is to use true resurrection, a carefully worded wish spell followed by resurrection, or miracle.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/spells/destruction.html#_destruc tion

I guess it would come down to if the spell itself is divine or not. It's listed as a Cleric spell but nothing in the description states if it's Divine or Arcane. It does say it requires a focus, but not a divine focus.

Is there a definitive source for this?


Scrolls can be either arcane or divine when they are made. The witch could use an arcane version, but not divine without a UMD check.

This is the same deal with Cure Light Wounds. Bards have an arcane version that they share with witches, for example.

Please keep in mind that spells from the Core Book were made before Witches existed, so theres simply another version now, an arcane version.

Silver Crusade

Activate the Spell wrote:
Activating a scroll requires reading the spell from the scroll. The character must be able to see and read the writing on the scroll. Activating a scroll spell requires no material components or focus. (The creator of the scroll provided these when scribing the scroll.) Note that some spells are effective only when cast on an item or items. In such a case, the scroll user must provide the item when activating the spell. Activating a scroll spell is subject to disruption just as casting a normally prepared spell would be. Using a scroll is like casting a spell for purposes of arcane spell failure chance.

As Weables said, as well. Withes can only cast from arcane scrolls without Use Magic Device. That spell is indeed listed as divine- the only caster is a cleric, which means a cleric had to craft the scroll, which means it is a divine spell.

Liberty's Edge

A scroll is either arcane or divine, which is determined when it is created. The usual case is that a scroll of destruction would be prepared by a cleric who had Scribe Scroll and thus would be divine. A scroll of destruction could be created by a witch who had Scribe Scroll, in which case it would be arcane. If these two scrolls were sitting side by side, a cleric could cast the divine one, but not the arcane, while the witch could cast the arcane one, but not the divine version.

A cleric/witch multiclassed character with Scribe Scroll could make a divine version of destruction, and, if she knew the witch version, could prepare an arcane scroll of destruction as well.


In a related question - does it matter what type of scroll (arcane/divine) it is if the intention is to teach the spell to the witch's familiar?


cattoy wrote:
In a related question - does it matter what type of scroll (arcane/divine) it is if the intention is to teach the spell to the witch's familiar?

Not by any RAW I can find. If the spell belongs to the witch's spell list, and she makes the spellcraft check, then the familiar learns it.


Thanks guys. I was unaware a scroll could be one or the other. Is there a link/quote for this or can you tell me the general chapter/section?

Thanks.


Buri wrote:
Thanks guys. I was unaware a scroll could be one or the other. Is there a link/quote for this or can you tell me the general chapter/section?

Magic chapter.

Arcane Magical Writings: "If the magical writing is a scroll and the reader can cast arcane spells, he can attempt to use the scroll."

Divine Magical Writings: "Divine spells can be written and deciphered like arcane spells (see Arcane Magical Writings). A Spellcraft check can decipher divine magical writing and identify it. Only characters who have the spell (in its divine form) on their class spell list can cast a divine spell from a scroll."


Very well. Nice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Witch use Divine scrolls? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.