Nightskies
|
Found the relevant 3.5 FAQ:
Yes. There’s nothing inherent in the full attack action that requires all the attacks to be made as the same kind of attack or with the same kind of weapon.
A character with a base attack bonus of +6 or better holding a longsword, for example, could make a melee attack with the longsword (using his full base attack bonus), drop the longsword (a free action), use Quick Draw to draw a dagger (another free action), then throw the dagger (using his base attack bonus –5). If the character had both hands free (for instance, if he didn’t carry a light or heavy shield in his off hand), he could even use Quick Draw to draw a bow (free action), draw and nock an arrow (free action) and then shoot the bow (using his base attack bonus –5).
This situation is actually improved if the melee weapon is a two-handed weapon. A character can hold a two-handed weapon in one hand; he just can’t attack with it while it’s held like that. Thus, he wouldn’t even have to drop the weapon in order to draw and throw the dagger. If Krusk the 6th-level barbarian had Quick Draw, he could swing his greataxe (using his full base attack bonus), then leave the axe in his off-hand while drawing a javelin with his primary hand (free action), and finally throw the javelin (using his base attack bonus –5). If Krusk were drawing a ranged weapon that required two hands to use (such as a bow), he’d have to drop his greataxe.
So a two handed weapon and a single handed weapon can be used in the same attack iteration, so long as the two-handed weapon is used first.
| Grick |
Two-handed weapon. Needs a move action to grab with both hands.
James Jacobs: "if you're wielding a 2H weapon, you can let go of the weapon with one of your hands (free action). You're now only carrying the 2H weapon, not wielding it, but your free hand is now free to attack or help cast spells or whatever. And at the end of your turn if your free hand remains free you'd be able to return it to grip your 2H weapon so you can still threaten foes and take attacks of opportunity if you want."
As a fighter with BAB+16 and Quickdraw, I can stand there unarmed. Quickdraw my whip (free action), whip a guy and substitue a trip for the attack (Beginning of full-attack), drop the whip (Free action), quickdraw my greatsword (free action), hit someone with it (2nd iterative attack from high BAB), drop one hand from the greatsword (free action), quickdraw my small longspear (free action), stab someone 10' away with it (3rd iterative attack from high-BAB), drop the small longspear (free action), and return my hand to my greatsword for AoOs (free action).
That might be a bit too many free actions, depending on DM, but it's otherwise rules legal!
Howie23
|
Two-handed weapon. Needs a move action to grab with both hands. In other words, a character can't attack with both a two-handed weapon and a light, ranged, or one-handed weapon in the same full attack iteration. Which explicitly excludes using a two handed weapon as an off hand attack using two weapon fighting, and that makes perfect sense, even with Quick Draw (according to Howie23, though still looking for that 3.5 FAQ).
It looks like WotC has moved this stuff. And, they replaced the final FAQ (dated June 30, 2008) with a prior version from March 2008. That's pretty annoying. The March FAQ is here. There are multiple passages regarding the topic that has been discussed, I'm not going to cite them all, and the page numbering is different between the March and June versions, anyway. The one I will is regarding switching weapons, which is on page 65 of the March version, and page 68 of the June version, which calls switching a weapon between hands a move action, akin to drawing. I think there is one specifically about regripping a weapon to two hands, but cannot find it right now. It's possible that I've confused the two issues.
Note that James Jacobs has taken a different stance in these forums (as quoted by Grick in this thread), calling it a free action to change grips. Where folks go to to find their voice of authority can result in different points of view as a result.
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
Nightskies wrote:Two-handed weapon. Needs a move action to grab with both hands.James Jacobs: "if you're wielding a 2H weapon, you can let go of the weapon with one of your hands (free action). You're now only carrying the 2H weapon, not wielding it, but your free hand is now free to attack or help cast spells or whatever. And at the end of your turn if your free hand remains free you'd be able to return it to grip your 2H weapon so you can still threaten foes and take attacks of opportunity if you want."
As a fighter with BAB+16 and Quickdraw, I can stand there unarmed. Quickdraw my whip (free action), whip a guy and substitue a trip for the attack (Beginning of full-attack), drop the whip (Free action), quickdraw my greatsword (free action), hit someone with it (2nd iterative attack from high BAB), drop one hand from the greatsword (free action), quickdraw my small longspear (free action), stab someone 10' away with it (3rd iterative attack from high-BAB), drop the small longspear (free action), and return my hand to my greatsword for AoOs (free action).
That might be a bit too many free actions, depending on DM, but it's otherwise rules legal!
On the other hand, you also risk repetitive-motion injuries in your hands/wrists (from all the grabbing and un-grabbing) which could lead to embarassing questions.
| KrispyXIV |
On the other hand, you also risk repetitive-motion injuries in your hands/wrists (from all the grabbing and un-grabbing) which could lead to embarassing questions.
Sure, but would anyone who saw you be that incredibly awesome in six seconds question you or make fun of you?
They'd risk being rapidly tripped, skewered and chopped into tiny pieces.
But yeah, its cools stuff you can pull when you have options like that.
Howie23
|
Jiggy wrote:
On the other hand, you also risk repetitive-motion injuries in your hands/wrists (from all the grabbing and un-grabbing) which could lead to embarassing questions.Repetitive-motion injury in your hand?
No such thing.
I should know.
Howie looks at the scars of surgery for five different procedures on his hands. "Ya sure about that?"
Jiggy, I wore out my right hand from over-use, switched to my left hand, and then wore that one out, too. Trust me, the questions and comments are only limited to how well I know someone and whether their mother is around when they speak. :)
Nightskies
|
The 3.5 FAQ, now using the ... updated older source ... says the following:
Another simple option is for the cleric to carry a buckler or light shield instead of a heavy shield. The buckler leaves one hand free for spellcasting, and you don’t even lose the buckler’s shield bonus to AC when casting with that hand. The light shield doesn’t give you a free hand for spellcasting, but since you can hold an item in the same hand that holds the light shield, you could switch your weapon to that hand to free up a hand for spellcasting. (You can’t use the weapon while it’s held in the same hand as your shield, of course.) The rules don’t state what type of action is required to switch hands on a weapon, but it seems reasonable to assume that it’s the equivalent of drawing a weapon (a move action that doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity).
Not finding anything else relevant to the topic. Since the FAQ states it this way, looks like its the GM's choice what kind of action it is. I'm favoring free action at this point (I believed Howie, but I'm just not finding it anywhere). It's not even swapping hands, just taking the two hander in both hands. If that the GM sees it this way, all the situations are plausible and not considered two weapon fighting! Even if the GM doesn't, Quick Draw almost certainly allows it. Not finding anything in the FAQ to the contrary, Howie. Time to start a new thread, 'cus now I've got another question. Research to be done first.
Cpt_kirstov
|
The 3.5 FAQ, now using the ... updated older source ... says the following:
** spoiler omitted **
** spoiler omitted **...
Sean FAQd this tho be only counted as two weapon fighting whne trying to get the extra attack - I bow to his wosdom and admit I was wrong. but if you decide you want that attack, you need to decide before rolling that first to hit still.