
![]() |
6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Let's say three opponents are under the effect of an haste spell.
You cast dispel magic against one target and you succeed your dispel
What are the consequences
(1) The spell is dispelled (on the targeted creature only)
(2) The spell is dispelled (and all three opponents loose their haste)
The rules RAW says "A dispelled spell ends as if its duration had expired", this implies that the spell as a whole expires and not only the spell effect on this specific creature.
What is your opinion ? Is there already a clarification somewhere ?
thx

Umbral Reaver |

I'm pretty sure when a spell targets more than one creature, lasting effects create a 'copy' of that spell. Each affected target has its own spell affecting them from that point on. If you counterspell a haste targeted at multiple creatures, it stops it from affecting all of them. If you dispel a haste, it removes only the instance affecting the creature you dispelled.

![]() |

Looks pretty clear to me:
Quote:If a single casting of haste is in effect on three creatures, you are able to dispel it from one of them.Target or Area one spellcaster, creature, or object
...
You can use dispel magic to end one ongoing spell that has been cast on a creature or object
Yup. FarmerBob has nailed it. Dispel magic targets a spellcaster, creature, or object. Not a spell. Ergo, the desired effect is only removed from the declared target.
Now, if said spell is an emanation originating from the target, then removing it from the target ends the emanation and thus allies/enemies who were benefiting/suffering from the emanation are similarly relieved of it's effects.

cibet44 |
Let's say three opponents are under the effect of an haste spell.
You cast dispel magic against one target and you succeed your dispel
What are the consequences
(1) The spell is dispelled (on the targeted creature only)
(2) The spell is dispelled (and all three opponents loose their haste)
The rules RAW says "A dispelled spell ends as if its duration had expired", this implies that the spell as a whole expires and not only the spell effect on this specific creature.
What is your opinion ? Is there already a clarification somewhere ?
thx
The caster of the Dispel Magic must decide how he is using the spell:
1. If he uses it as a Targeted Dispel on a specific creature he starts dispelling effects on that creature starting with the highest level spell and continuing until he runs out of spells or gets a success. This only effects spells affecting the targeted creature, nothing else and the caster can not select which spell to dispel he just starts with the highest CL and works his way down.
2. If he uses is as a Targeted Dispel on a specific spell (in this case Haste) he attempts to dispel just that spell, if he succeeds all creatures affected by that spell lose its effects, otherwise nothing happens.

FarmerBob |

You could use Greater Dispel to dispel the Haste from all three. You just have to name Haste as the spell to be dispelled.
You could use Greater Dispel in an area, but I don't think you can target Haste specifically in this case.
2. If he uses is as a Targeted Dispel on a specific spell (in this case Haste) he attempts to dispel just that spell, if he succeeds all creatures affected by that spell lose its effects, otherwise nothing happens.
Not quite. It can dispel a specific spell only on a specific creature.
You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way.

Quantum Steve |

Quantum Steve wrote:You could use Greater Dispel to dispel the Haste from all three. You just have to name Haste as the spell to be dispelled.You could use Greater Dispel in an area, but I don't think you can target Haste specifically in this case.
cibet44 wrote:2. If he uses is as a Targeted Dispel on a specific spell (in this case Haste) he attempts to dispel just that spell, if he succeeds all creatures affected by that spell lose its effects, otherwise nothing happens.Not quite. It can dispel a specific spell only on a specific creature.
Quote:You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way.
If you use GDM as an area dispel it acts as a targeted dispel on each creature in the area. Since you can target a specific spell with a targeted dispel, you can do this with an area dispel, too. You may even be able to target different spells on each creature.

FarmerBob |

If you use GDM as an area dispel it acts as a targeted dispel on each creature in the area. Since you can target a specific spell with a targeted dispel, you can do this with an area dispel, too. You may even be able to target different spells on each creature.
I was picking nits. The creatures all need to be within a 20' radius, so you can't necessarily end Haste for everyone via GDM. First reading of your original comment made it sound like you could.
You could use Greater Dispel to dispel the Haste from all three. You just have to name Haste as the spell to be dispelled.
I'm also not sure by RAW that you can do a spell targeted area dispel with GDM.
You choose to use greater dispel magic in one of three ways: a targeted dispel, area dispel, or a counterspell
Area Dispel: When greater dispel magic is used in this way, the spell affects everything within a 20-foot-radius burst. Roll one dispel check and apply that check to each creature in the area, as if targeted by dispel magic.
When doing an Area Dispel, it's treated as a creature targeted dispel, IMHO.

cibet44 |
cibet44 wrote:2. If he uses is as a Targeted Dispel on a specific spell (in this case Haste) he attempts to dispel just that spell, if he succeeds all creatures affected by that spell lose its effects, otherwise nothing happens.Not quite. It can dispel a specific spell only on a specific creature.
Quote:You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way.
Hmm. I've always read it as:
You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way. If your caster level check is equal to or higher than the DC of that spell, it ends. No other spells or effects on the target are dispelled if your check is not high enough to end the targeted effect.
So if your specifically dispel a spell on a creature that spell ends. Not just on that creature, the whole spell ends. If you specifically target a creature you only affect the creature and you can't choose what spell you affect, it just starts at the highest caster level. Targeting a spell lets you remove that spell but nothing else and requires you to identify the exact spell. Targeting a creature lets you focus on a single creature for when you may not know (or care) exactly what spells are in effect.

Quantum Steve |

Quantum Steve wrote:If you use GDM as an area dispel it acts as a targeted dispel on each creature in the area. Since you can target a specific spell with a targeted dispel, you can do this with an area dispel, too. You may even be able to target different spells on each creature.I was picking nits. The creatures all need to be within a 20' radius, so you can't necessarily end Haste for everyone via GDM. First reading of your original comment made it sound like you could.
Quantum Steve wrote:You could use Greater Dispel to dispel the Haste from all three. You just have to name Haste as the spell to be dispelled.I'm also not sure by RAW that you can do a spell targeted area dispel with GDM.
prd wrote:You choose to use greater dispel magic in one of three ways: a targeted dispel, area dispel, or a counterspell
Area Dispel: When greater dispel magic is used in this way, the spell affects everything within a 20-foot-radius burst. Roll one dispel check and apply that check to each creature in the area, as if targeted by dispel magic.
When doing an Area Dispel, it's treated as a creature targeted dispel, IMHO.
A targeted dispel on a creature to dispel a specific spell, still targets the creature, not the spell. A targeted dispel on a creature either dispels the highest level spell it can, or a specific spell named by you.
You are correct that the creatures need to be close enough together to all be hit by an area dispel. I should have been specific that you had to use an area dispel.

Quantum Steve |

FarmerBob wrote:
cibet44 wrote:2. If he uses is as a Targeted Dispel on a specific spell (in this case Haste) he attempts to dispel just that spell, if he succeeds all creatures affected by that spell lose its effects, otherwise nothing happens.Not quite. It can dispel a specific spell only on a specific creature.
Quote:You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way.Hmm. I've always read it as:
Quote:You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way. If your caster level check is equal to or higher than the DC of that spell, it ends. No other spells or effects on the target are dispelled if your check is not high enough to end the targeted effect.So if your specifically dispel a spell on a creature that spell ends. Not just on that creature, the whole spell ends. If you specifically target a creature you only affect the creature and you can't choose what spell you affect, it just starts at the highest caster level. Targeting a spell lets you remove that spell but nothing else and requires you to identify the exact spell. Targeting a creature lets you focus on a single creature for when you may not know (or care) exactly what spells are in effect.
That could result in some odd occurrences. Two characters under the effects of the same long duration spell could be hundreds of miles apart, or on different planes, when one of them gets dispelled. That's a pretty long range for Dispel Magic.

FarmerBob |

A targeted dispel on a creature to dispel a specific spell, still targets the creature, not the spell. A targeted dispel on a creature either dispels the highest level spell it can, or a specific spell named by you.
I guess I read this differently then, and my understanding is that a spell targeted dispel does target a spell, and not a creature.
Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell.
In any case, I'm sure GMs rule it both ways.

Bobson |

That could result in some odd occurrences. Two characters under the effects of the same long duration spell could be hundreds of miles apart, or on different planes, when one of them gets dispelled. That's a pretty long range for Dispel Magic.
This.
On the other hand, it's a very quantum thing to have happen - "spooky action at a distance" and all that :p

bodrin |

Looks pretty clear to me:
Quote:If a single casting of haste is in effect on three creatures, you are able to dispel it from one of them.Target or Area one spellcaster, creature, or object
...
You can use dispel magic to end one ongoing spell that has been cast on a creature or object
Agreed.
The the term "a creature or Object " excludes multiple targets. Otherwise what would be the point of Greater dispel magic and it's area dispel?

vip00 |

I am sorry to necro yet another thread. It seems clear that you can dispel a spell effect on the target only as indicated by the phrase "Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target"
However, it seems to make a special exception for summoning spells... The relevant line is "If you target an object or creature that is the effect of an ongoing spell (such as a monster summoned by summon monster), you make a dispel check to end the spell that conjured the object or creature."
So if there are 3 bone devils summoned by a Summon Monster VII spell in front of you - if you cast Dispel Magic to dispel one of them, strict reading of the rules says that you would "end the spell that conjured the creature", which implies that the entire spell ends. This seems like a specific exception to the above. Thoughts?

Torath |

I'll add to the question... let's consider a mass or communal spell. One that targets more people and is higher level than a basic spell. Say, bull's strength. When you target that one person of the many under the effect of the spell, do you dispel the higher level communal version or the lower level base version?
For specifics:
Bull's Strength, level 2
Bull's Strength, mass, level 6
So, when I target one of the multiple people under the effect of that level 6 spell; do I need hit a level 6 spell or a level 2 spell. If I succeed at level 6, does it get everyone or just that one person.
It seems to me that if I blindly dispel a person, hoping to strip magic off, I get the first spell I hit on that target... if I target the spell Bull's Strength I get one target's buff and need to clear a level 2... and if I target Bull's Strength, Mass I would get everyone under the effect of that one casting of the Mass version of the spell, assuming I could get rid of the level 6 spell.
Or does that even make sense?

![]() |

This came up in game recently. Party's Cleric had a Scroll of Communal Align Weapon. Opponents were daemons, so weapons were aligned to bybass DR/Good. One had Dispel Magic. After much deliberation (nobody had a clue how this worked), GM ruled that the single dispel magic casting was enough to remove the entire spell from every character affected.
I'm not really sure if this was handled right or wrong, as I think the rules are vague on this subject.