Confusion Confusion


Rules Questions

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

Okay, I have a bit of confusion about the spell confusion.

The table shows the results of the d% roll and what actions the confused character is forced to take. However, in the last line it stipulates this: "Any confused character who is attacked automatically attacks its attackers on its next turn, as long as it is still confused when its turn comes."

So, if a confused character is attacked, they automatically attack the attacker? Meaning that you no longer check against the confusion table at all? Or you automatically attack your attacker only if a result of "attack the nearest creature" comes up?

Also, as a side note, how do you dictate the entry "deal 1d8+STR damage to self with item in hand" if the character in question isn't holding anything? Do they deal more damage to themselves with their fist than they would otherwise be capable of inflicting? Is it non-lethal damage in this case?

Dark Archive

Fatespinner wrote:

Okay, I have a bit of confusion about the spell confusion.

The table shows the results of the d% roll and what actions the confused character is forced to take. However, in the last line it stipulates this: "Any confused character who is attacked automatically attacks its attackers on its next turn, as long as it is still confused when its turn comes."

So, if a confused character is attacked, they automatically attack the attacker? Meaning that you no longer check against the confusion table at all? Or you automatically attack your attacker only if a result of "attack the nearest creature" comes up?

Also, as a side note, how do you dictate the entry "deal 1d8+STR damage to self with item in hand" if the character in question isn't holding anything? Do they deal more damage to themselves with their fist than they would otherwise be capable of inflicting? Is it non-lethal damage in this case?

for the first question, I view it as this, If not attacked, then follow the table, if attacked, retaliate. By the way since the glossary states that confused things can not tell the difference between friends or foes, they will react badly to someone trying to touch them with a spell (aka cure light wounds).

For the damage. I would state that it is not always with item at hand (since if you had a quill in hand, then that is one deadly quill for doing as much damage as a longsword!) but that it is the character damaging themselves in some way. Biting their tongue, stabbing their thigh, anything you want to state to show that the character, at least for this round, is a danger to themselves.


I have played that you get stuck in the cycle and the two confused creatures continue to attack one another until the spell ends.

On a related note, I had this happen to the party wizard. What does it mean by attack? Will wizards attack to thier best ability, i.e. use spells?


With attack nearest creature result, will you attack downed creatures?


I would play it as; only if they're moving.


Yes you would attack with your spells if you're a spell caster.

I would stop attacking if your target goes down - you could bluff by dropping to the floor, pretending to be unconscious but this would allow a sense motive check.

Protection from Evil doesn't help vs confusion as it's not mind control but calm emotions would work.

Confusion is very nasty if a couple of PC's fail their saves.

Once you are attacked you no longer use the table, you just attack back.


stuart haffenden wrote:

Yes you would attack with your spells if you're a spell caster.

I think a spell that gives you a stipulation to "attack" it would definitely mean the attack action.

Also I would say if you cannot discern friend from foe, your a little too confused to put together verbal and somatic components to produce a spell.


Speaker for the Dead wrote:
I would play it as; only if they're moving.

I meant people that is in negatives in the floor. They are not dead but dying. Attack nearest creature takes into account them?

I don't think so but my GM ruled otherwise.


I had 2 PC fail there saves. The spell says at the beginning of each turn the PC will roll to see what happens. If one attacks the nearest charcter, and the one that is attacked is under the spell as well, then is it that they fight till one drops or dies or spell stops? Do they get a roll on the table next round or not? My thought is that if one or both acts normal, then they can get away from each other, or if one is bables and the other acts normal the next round again they could break the circle of attacking each other. This has happened twice in my party, and both times had dead PC's at the end.

Tom


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Confusion has a two-step process. First: Was the confused character attacked last turn? If yes: attack their attacker. If no, or if they cannot attack the attacker (dead, gone, otherwise unavailable to be targeted): roll on the table.

You could have the confused character chase after their attacker instead of rolling on the table, which would be reasonable.


It says 'attack', not use the attack action. If you're a sorc for example I would expect you to blast them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Confusion Confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.