Questions about Alchemist


Rules Questions


I have some questions about the alchemist class that arent fully explained in the book...

"Explosive bomb*: The alchemist’s bombs now have
a splash radius of 10 feet rather than 5 feet. Creatures
that take a direct hit from an explosive bomb catch fire,
taking 1d6 points of fire damage each round until the
fire is extinguished. Extinguishing the flames is a fullround
action that requires a Reflex save. Rolling on the
ground provides the target with a +2 to the save. Dousing
the target with at least 2 gallons of water automatically
extinguishes the flames."

Several questions:
How long does it burn? Will it burn indefinately until put out? Does the whole area burn as well?
Are the bombs affected by spell resistance as they are a supernatural ability? I have more but I cant remember them right now and will add them later

Silver Crusade

I would use the alchemist fire as precedent. It does initial 1d6 points of damage, and splashes for 1 pt of damage at a 5’ radius.

I would say that the “explosive Bomb” discovery causes an alchemist bomb to do an extra d6 of fire damage, with the 10’ radius spread of it doing the minimum splash damage. I would say the fire would persist for one extra round doing another d6 points of damage before going out.

I would also say, within 10’, flammable things would ignite, i.e. paper etc.

Since the bomb is a (SU) supernatural ability, I would say that spell resistance does not apply. I would say, if something has resistance to fire, that would apply.

That’s what would suggest. I hope that is helpful.


As far as the damage goes, for alchemists bombs it does
"On a direct hit, an alchemist’s
bomb inf licts 1d6 points of f ire damage + additional
damage equal to the alchemist’s Intelligence modif ier.
The damage of an alchemist’s bomb increases by 1d6
points at every odd-numbered alchemist level (this
bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit or by
using feats such as Vital Strike). Splash damage from an
alchemist bomb is always equal to the bomb’s minimum
damage (so if the bomb would deal 2d6+4 points of f ire
damage on a direct hit, its splash damage would be 6
points of f ire damage). Those caught in the splash
damage can attempt a Ref lex save for half damage. The
DC of this save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the alchemist’s level +
the alchemist’s Intelligence modif ier."

I was curious as to wether the burn continues and how long as it doesnt say in the book

Sovereign Court

The burning doesn't have a set duration. It's left to the discretion of the GM for the most part and should last for the length of any combat if it's not put out.


Morgen wrote:
The burning doesn't have a set duration. It's left to the discretion of the GM for the most part and should last for the length of any combat if it's not put out.

wow... thats a little bit overpowered isnt it? 13 rounds of combat at lvl 8 an im doing 4d6 +int (save for half) per round plus 13d6 over the whole fight

Contributor

buddahcjcc wrote:
wow... thats a little bit overpowered isnt it? 13 rounds of combat at lvl 8 an im doing 4d6 +int (save for half) per round plus 13d6 over the whole fight

From Wikipedia:

"The original napalm usually burned for 15 to 30 seconds while napalm-B can burn for up to 10 minutes.[5]"

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

My understanding is it refers to the standard rules for catching on fire.


Ross Byers wrote:
My understanding is it refers to the standard rules for catching on fire.

so it just burns forever then lol


buddahcjcc wrote:
Ross Byers wrote:
My understanding is it refers to the standard rules for catching on fire.
so it just burns forever then lol

The other question is does just the target burn or the whole area that is affected?


buddahcjcc wrote:
Ross Byers wrote:
My understanding is it refers to the standard rules for catching on fire.
so it just burns forever then lol

Well forever until they do something about it.

" Extinguishing the flames is a fullround
action that requires a Reflex save. Rolling on the
ground provides the target with a +2 to the save. Dousing
the target with at least 2 gallons of water automatically
extinguishes the flames."

Frankly a ref save at +2 is not that hard to make. If you have a friend to 'aid another' on you for another +2 this looks even better.

Fire bombs are good but they are not eternal.
~will

Contributor

buddahcjcc wrote:
The other question is does just the target burn or the whole area that is affected?

"Creatures that take a direct hit from an explosive bomb catch fire...."


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
buddahcjcc wrote:
The other question is does just the target burn or the whole area that is affected?
"Creatures that take a direct hit from an explosive bomb catch fire...."

ah good

anyone know if infuse mutagen allows them to be used by others?


buddahcjcc wrote:
anyone know if infuse mutagen allows them to be used by others?

Another alchemist can use a stolen mutagen, but the effects of any existing mutagen cease when he drinks it, and the effects of the stolen mutagen will cease if the original alchemist makes a new one.

Another alchemist can use a stolen infused mutagen, and the effects will remain even if the original alchemist creates a new one. Still only one mutagen can be in effect at one time.

Infusing the mutagen only means that the alchemist with that discovery can have multiple (expensive) mutagens at the same time. Normally old mutagens go inert if you make a new one.

A non-alchemist can never gain the benefit of a mutagen.

You can read about mutagens here and discoveries further down that page.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber
PoorWanderingOne wrote:
Fire bombs are good but they are not eternal.

But in the RAW, they *are*. They do not have a duration. Seems like something that should be addressed in the rules, not left to GM discretion.

And whether or not it is hard to put out the flames is not really the issue. Extinguishing the flames is a full-round action, so you don't get to do anything else on your turn. As soon as you get the flames out, the alchemist can ignite them again with a new bomb. So, if a creature wants to attack the alchemist back, it has to ignore the fact that is it on fire.

My experience (from DMing a group with an alchemist in it), is that this is too powerful.


At lower levels its good by mid game a lot of things are gonna be resistant or immune. A second level cleric can create the two gallons of water with out much issue and 1d6 per round isnt much to something with a tons of hp or to something thats just gonna rush and die and knows it or doesn't care.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber
Talonhawke wrote:
At lower levels its good by mid game a lot of things are gonna be resistant or immune. A second level cleric can create the two gallons of water with out much issue and 1d6 per round isnt much to something with a tons of hp or to something thats just gonna rush and die and knows it or doesn't care.

I agree that the ongoing damage isn't that severe for a tougher creature, so most of the time I've had the creature ignore the damage and keep attacking.

That said, it still bothers me from a role-playing standpoint. How many creatures would reasonably ignore being on fire? I feel like most creatures should make an effort to put the fire out, but that's a full-round action, so the alchemist gets to attack again before the creature can do anything else.

Anyway, thanks for commenting!


Since quoting Wikipedia seems to be the trend in quelling rules questions (Sorry, SKR, couldn't resist ;) it seems like fun and I wanted to try):

Talonhawke wrote:
A second level cleric can create the two gallons of water with out much issue...
wikipedia wrote:

A US army source, talking about napalm, reported

‘We sure are pleased with those backroom boys at Dow. The original product wasn’t so hot - if the g*!#s were quick they could scrape it off. So the boys started adding polystyrene - now it sticks like s!#+ to a blanket. But if the g@!%s jumped under water it stopped burning, so they started adding Willie Peter (white phosphorus) so’s to make it burn better. And just one drop is enough, it’ll keep on burning right down to the bone so they die anyway from phosphorus poisoning.’

In other words not only will create water not work but even diving into water wont work! GAH!

In fact...

wikipedia wrote:
One of the main anti-personnel features of napalm is that it sticks to human skin, with no practical method for removal of the burning substance.

Sounds like you need Universal Solvent to get rid of it to me. Don't have it? Well, have fun burning every turn until you can buy some. XD

(tongue/cheek)


I never read of napalm related to Alchemist's bombs...


Read Sean K. Reynold's posts above. ;)


"Explosive bomb*: The alchemist’s bombs now have
a splash radius of 10 feet rather than 5 feet. Creatures
that take a direct hit from an explosive bomb catch fire,
taking 1d6 points of fire damage each round until the
fire is extinguished. Extinguishing the flames is a fullround
action that requires a Reflex save. Rolling on the
ground provides the target with a +2 to the save. Dousing
the target with at least 2 gallons of water automatically
extinguishes the flames."

Just so no one takes your tongue in cheekness seriously lune figured i would bold the relevent.


But thats not how napalm works...


Think of it as low-grade knock-off napalm made by drug cartels in ancient china.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions about Alchemist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions