
Justin Franklin |

Spellstrike has you cast a spell (generally as a standard action) and then use your weapon to deliver the spell.
Is this considered an "attack action" for using Vital Strike (as it pertains to the weapon damage only, of course)?
I would say yes, but that's just my opinion.

![]() |
Spellstrike has you cast a spell (generally as a standard action) and then use your weapon to deliver the spell.
Is this considered an "attack action" for using Vital Strike (as it pertains to the weapon damage only, of course)?
Since the attack used to deliver the spell has to be an attack you get normally, as long as that attack is qualified then yes you get vital strike.

Banpai |

I wish it was differently, but the way Spellstrike is currently understood by the majority:
1.Cast a touch Spell
2.Do not use your free touch attack.
3.Attack with your weapon to discharge the touch spell.
So yeah Vital Strike works just fine, of course if it were:
"As a standard action you can cast a touch range spell (and provoke AOEs as normal unless you cast defensively) and instead of trying to hit your enemy with a touch attack against touch AC, you can deliver the attack through your weapon.
If you chose to deliver the touch spell trough your weapon, apply the weapons threat range to see if you crit. If you confirm a crit apply weapon damage as norml, but only double the damage of your spell.
there would be no vital strike option.

![]() |

I suppose an interesting and slightly parallel question would be this:
If you (through whatever means) are able to cast a quickened spell as part of your Spellstrike, and you use Cleave... does the spell discharge on each or just on the first target?
(could even go for a full round of attacks, like the Duskblade (or one of the similar PrCs) as a high-level ability)

![]() |

I suppose an interesting and slightly parallel question would be this:
If you (through whatever means) are able to cast a quickened spell as part of your Spellstrike, and you use Cleave... does the spell discharge on each or just on the first target?
(could even go for a full round of attacks, like the Duskblade (or one of the similar PrCs) as a high-level ability)
On the same line of thought, what about Whirlwind Attack?

Epic Meepo RPG Superstar 2009 Top 16, 2012 Top 32 |
If you (through whatever means) are able to cast a quickened spell as part of your Spellstrike, and you use Cleave... does the spell discharge on each or just on the first target?
Probably just the first target you successfully hit. In every example I've ever heard, rolling a successful attack roll to deliver the spell discharges the spell (unless it allows multiple attacks, like chill touch).

![]() |

Jason Nelson wrote:If you (through whatever means) are able to cast a quickened spell as part of your Spellstrike, and you use Cleave... does the spell discharge on each or just on the first target?Probably just the first target you successfully hit. In every example I've ever heard, rolling a successful attack roll to deliver the spell discharges the spell (unless it allows multiple attacks, like chill touch).
It's true for the standard touch spells rule.
But, it's an idea for a class ability to let it supersede that limit. Just something to think about.