
Lochmonster |

My character is a druid and has a wand of CLW and has made it clear he tells the whole party the activation word for the wand if he should ever become injured.
So do the other characters need to make UMD checks if they use the wand to try and revive him and if yes, why? What is the DC? Can only other Divine Magic users use the CLW wand?
Sorry but I've never been very clear on the UMD skill. it seems like you can't really do anything with it until you get the skill into double digits. All the DCs listed in the core rule book are 20 or above.

Jon Otaguro 428 |
If they have cure light wounds on their spell list (ranger, paladin, bard, cleric, oracle, inquisitor, witch) they can use the wand without UMD. If they aren't one of the classes I listed, they have to make a UMD roll with a DC20. They can retry until they roll a 1.
However, it is possible that while they are trying you could die from HP loss. It is safer if no one else has cure light wounds on a spell list, for you to carry a potion of cure light wounds.

Quantum Steve |

Do attempts cost charges?
No.
Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

Paladin of Baha-who? |

Knowing the activation word only means they can use a DC 20 to activate a wand rather than a DC 25 to activate blindly. That's better than nothing however.
Any magic user with CLW in their class spell list, regardless of whether they know it or not, can use the wand without a problem. So, any divine caster, bards,and witches.
Otherwise, if they know the word, DC 20 UMD check.
The explanation is that casters who have that spell on their listclass have enough familiarity with it, even if they can't cast it themselves, to know how to activate the wand. It's not just tge word, it's also intonation ("Honestly, Ron, it's not 'LevioSAH', it's 'LeviOHsa'!), how you move it ("Swish and flick!"), and knowing how the flow of energy is supplied to the wand.

![]() |

You can always carry a X of great intellect that grants CL UMD to anyone wearing it. Thus they can first remove the X item, then roll with their HD skill ranks in it. This would help, though not completely mitigate the rolls as already stated "being a caster class" does.
Its a cheap enough solution at a few thousand gold for a +2 INT item and a 50 charge 750 GP rod/wand. And you get to use the INT boost until you get KO'D.

concerro |

Knowing the activation word only means they can use a DC 20 to activate a wand rather than a DC 25 to activate blindly. That's better than nothing however.
Any magic user with CLW in their class spell list, regardless of whether they know it or not, can use the wand without a problem. So, any divine caster, bards,and witches.
Otherwise, if they know the word, DC 20 UMD check.
The explanation is that casters who have that spell on their listclass have enough familiarity with it, even if they can't cast it themselves, to know how to activate the wand. It's not just tge word, it's also intonation ("Honestly, Ron, it's not 'LevioSAH', it's 'LeviOHsa'!), how you move it ("Swish and flick!"), and knowing how the flow of energy is supplied to the wand.
A wand is not a command word item. It's method of activation is spell-trigger. The DC is always 20. The DC 25 is for items with no clear method of activation.

mdt |

You can always carry a X of great intellect that grants CL UMD to anyone wearing it. Thus they can first remove the X item, then roll with their HD skill ranks in it. This would help, though not completely mitigate the rolls as already stated "being a caster class" does.
Its a cheap enough solution at a few thousand gold for a +2 INT item and a 50 charge 750 GP rod/wand. And you get to use the INT boost until you get KO'D.
This does not work, as they would need to wear the headband for 24 hours before the int bonus is considered 'permanent' and they get the skill bonuses.
However, giving the biggest baddest tank such a headband and the ability to UMD pretty much at will is not a bad thing. :)

concerro |

maouse wrote:You can always carry a X of great intellect that grants CL UMD to anyone wearing it. Thus they can first remove the X item, then roll with their HD skill ranks in it. This would help, though not completely mitigate the rolls as already stated "being a caster class" does.
Its a cheap enough solution at a few thousand gold for a +2 INT item and a 50 charge 750 GP rod/wand. And you get to use the INT boost until you get KO'D.
This does not work, as they would need to wear the headband for 24 hours before the int bonus is considered 'permanent' and they get the skill bonuses.
However, giving the biggest baddest tank such a headband and the ability to UMD pretty much at will is not a bad thing. :)
I thought so at first but they do get something out of it.
Charisma: Temporary increases to your Charisma score give you a bonus on Charisma-based skill checks. This bonus also applies to any spell DCs based on Charisma and the DC to resist your channeled energy.
Permanent Bonuses: Ability bonuses with a duration greater than 1 day actually increase the relevant ability score after 24 hours. Modify all skills and statistics related to that ability. This might cause you to gain skill points, hit points, and other bonuses. These bonuses should be noted separately in case they are removed.
UMD would count as charisma based skill check so they would get that.

concerro |

True, but the original post was about using the skill bonus equal to HD, which you don't get. And the headband is going to give at most a +3 to UMD, not a lot of oomph for the cost.
I thought he was trying to use the headband that boost Cha, even though he did type intelligence. Sorry Mause, that won't work.
edit:made a change.

![]() |

Wands don't use command words.
Wands are spell trigger activation method items, but that activation does require a single word (the activation word indicated by OP), to use them without UMD.
"Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken."