No deaths, but we did need to replay the final scenario (I decided to add the Crypt for fun and the villain may have ended up there... my bad).
Character Name: Channa Ti
Character Name: Simoun
This post (and really the two above it) confirm that you can indeed use multiples "knives" on a single check.
The husband won't stop bugging me about this so I'm asking. Simoun reveals the Dagger of Doubling for her combat check, then recharges it. She searches her deck for a weapon that has the knife trait, and grabs the same Dagger of Doubling. Which she then recharges for its knife add-on power (1d4+1 or whatever). Is it legal to draw the same weapon she used to search for the weapon? I know it's legal if she has two Daggers of Doubling in her deck (just grab the other one!) but am uncertain about only one.
Please and thank you! :)
Let's say I run into a barrier, say, the Collapsing Sphinx, that "deals 1d4 mental damage that may not be reduced" to me for daring to examine it. But I'm at the Tarworks, where "all damage dealt to [me] is fire damage." (I think it's the Tarworks; please correct me if I'm wrong)
Does that make it "1d4 fire damage that may not be reduced" or "1d4 fire damage"? My gut says the mental damage becomes fire damage that cannot be reduced.
As we all know, mental damage is "damage that may not be reduced." I've seen it so many times that I've wondered why they haven't just put "mental damage may not be reduced" in the rulebook, because it's implicit at this point. Then the cards could just say "mental damage" and not need to specify that it may not be reduced.
I suppose my question is: Does replacing mental damage mean the damage still may not be reduced or does it become "reduceable"?
I believe if that is the intent, those cards will be better served by a FAQ along the lines of "remove any 1 die from the check's result" - unless I'm really missing a rule that should've made the intended reading obvious.
Wow I didn't even notice that! I assumed that all adding and removing of dice happened BEFORE you rolled (like you said) unless stated otherwise (as in Maat: "after a character rolls the dice on any check").
It just so happens both of MM Alahazra's rules concern stuff specific to MM (Recursor with Curses, Seeker with Triggers). Still that base 1d8 extra on Fire Attack spells is very appealing especially in PFSACG because the Oracle deck has a bunch of Fire Attack spells in it.
Hence why I'm playing her in one of my OP groups. :D
The scourge die is provided by the adventure card (1d4, 1d6+1, etc.), so in another adventure path, she wouldn't be able to get scourges. MM Rulebook Page 22: "If a card tells you to suffer a scourge without naming a specific card, check the adventure card to find out what the adventure’s scourge die is, roll that die on the scourge table, draw the corresponding scourge from the box, and display it next to your character deck."
(holy crap I just quoted the rulebook)
So, yes, she turns into Merisiel. With a d4 Dexterity. :D
Apologies for the necromancy but I wanted to share that I was super psyched when I ran into a bane in Adv 5 of MM who said "You may play multiple armors during this encounter." I knew exactly why it was there and I was so excited (like the nerd I am). It may have said "any number of armors" I can't remember.
I just discovered that the linked images for the cards in this blog are mostly lo-resolution, in particular Mavaro's roles. Any chance they can be swapped for the more typical high resolution ones?
In the meantime, you can change the url from "name_###.jpeg" to just "name.jpg" and it'll be a larger version. :)
My husband and I seem to be the odd ones out here; we each play only one character and seem to end up with more than enough boons to trade away after almost every scenario. The traders more often than not don't even want our goods (because they brought crap to trade).
Adventure 1 is the roughest because you're still getting B Basics. If Adventure 1 gave you non-basic Bs and 1s it'd be so much better. :D But that's another conversation for another day.
Curse of Vulnerability wrote:
While displayed, you may not reduce Acid, Cold, Electricity, or Fire damage dealt to you. If you are dealt 2 or more Acid, Cold, Electricity, or Fire damage, banish this card.
Say I'm dealt 2 Fire damage from a monster. Can another character at my location, say, banish a Potion of Energy Resistance to "reduce Acid, Cold, Electricity, or Fire damage dealt to that character (me) by 4"? Would someone else playing Stone Skin on me work? Can Koren recharge an armor to reduce damage dealt to another character at his location (also me) by 2?
Follow up question. Assuming someone else can reduce the damage to 0, do I get to banish the Curse? I was dealt 2 Fire damage but it was reduced to 0.
My search skills have failed me and Eliandra was unsure, so here I am. :-D
Maybe reporting a certain number allows you to pool your die bumps? For example, I have 4 tier 7 characters, most of whom have extra die bumps that are just going to wallow away on their chronicle sheets, unused. So if you're playing solo, you can resurrect yourself BEFORE adventure 4 (lol).
Alternatively, allowing you to start a character fresh with a feat? Or non-basic cards?
I'm liking the Triggers so far. They're a good addition to the game and help tamp down the rampant awesomeness of Augury (and other scouting cards) without removing it completely. Really enjoying the balance that Mummy's Mask is evidencing so far.
On my first visit to a trader, I declined an augury. I was so ashamed.
I know that the GM for my table for the special at GenCon told us not to sign in for each scenario (we did the first two but then it got rough with the taking down and setting up of the next scenario) and then said we didn't need to bother signing in for the full adventure. So my Shardra has made it through the special but the only evidence is my chronicle sheet. :)
I'm going to bring in Heroclix rules here, although it's a separate game entirely, and I'm really just restating what other people have said.
If you are DEALT damage, it hits you. (0 damage is still a hit (in Heroclix, this is important))
It's tricky wording, but it's important. If we're supposed to bury the top card of your discard pile whether we were dealt 0 damage or 3 damage, I think it would combine the two somehow (the Wisdom/Perception Check and the combat damage/undefeated).
I was about to say I am on the zero damage doesn't count side, but now I'm in the middle. Gosh dang it.
Can something deal 0 damage? O_O
I don't have comments on the other spells, as I can't remember them, but I know Black Spot should have both. It's Basic so you can have it in your starting deck, and Veteran because it's affected by "the Adventure Deck Number of the Current Scenario, if any." It's quite a witchy spell.
I keep trying to convince Lem to take Transmogrify but he doesn't want to. I'm not gonna force him to take a spell he doesn't want! Raz would take it but she likes her Detect Demon (and she only sees it once or twice a scenario because... no deck cycling)...
I'm still confused as to why the Bard deck has so many melee weapons... they're not for Lem or Siwar, and Meliski doesn't really care about weapons; are they all for Bekah? She doesn't care about them unless they have the Finesse trait... Oops, I'm asking a "why" question. (I've been learning at work recently that I can't ask why, because there's no reason, it just is that way).
We were Team Shorties or something last month, because we realized (after almost a year) that we were two halflings, a gnome, and Randy (who has been a human at least three times?). Because Randy was a goblin this month, we were officially Team Shorties. That's not the real name but I'm super sleepy and can't remember. :)
Team One definitely made an appearance as there were SO MANY failed rolls in EVERY scenario. Raz goes "I need a 3 on 2d10!" Two 1s. ;_;
I suppose I can finally post in here (actually been somewhat busy at work? So I don't have much time for here? what?)!
Team Shorties (I think that's what we're called) dramatically failed 1-5C again and decided to forfeit before Brielle buried her entire deck (none of them were by choice, she just kept running into things that made her bury cards). After I set up the scenario correctly (I may have messed up the first time because I didn't read the scenario setup...), we blasted through it!
Raz and Lem like to start together, but then Raz will often run off to another location so she can run back over to Lem in case of emergency. An emergency in this case is Lem running into a monster. Of any sort. :-D
Raz will eventually get her Pegasus. 5 Allies are quite difficult to acquire, as they all want some nasty stuff. For example, Mr. Alderpash hit us all for 2d4+something fire damage because Brielle didn't have a spell to banish. Imagine that, the BARBARIAN didn't have a spell to banish!
Eventually I'll remember I have +4 to my check that has the polearm trait. Eventually.
We finished Adventure 5 and there was much rejoicing.
I really love in depth conversations like these, especially once you've gotten over the initial hurdle of "how do I play this game?" :)
I've noticed I really don't like using my allies for explorations; I'd rather keep them for their powers? (*insert comment about Mother Myrtle recharging Cats and Lizards and Toads here*)
Quite often in Pathfinder Adventures I'll find myself with 10 turns left and no chance of defeating the scenario, so I'll go all out on boon hunting. Our table had to do that at the latest HawkCon as we had too many locations open and Brielle was very low on cards (she had 9 or 10 cards buried, NONE by any of her own powers) and we didn't want to risk it. Upgrades ahoy!
(Theyron, now I'm self-conscious about my comments not adding to the conversation!)
Keith Richmond wrote:
At some point, it will probably make a lot of sense to go back over those rewards and make each season fair to each other, so there's no reason to consider leveling a character on specific scenarios in order to maximize the benefits. That might take some tricky wrangling to pull off right, though.
I'm not sure how well that would work, with Adventure 2 of Wrath being what it is (how many extra skill feats are in that one? Three? Four?).
Oh man, Wrathack really IS the reason why we can't have nice things (RIP Heggal and Radillo, RIP).
She was also my first character who wasn't support. I love smashing things with her. But that means that SHE needs support!
As First World Bard said, Lem is almost always a good suggestion. If not Lem, you'll need at least one person with Divine (or the ability to heal, like Damiel).
Anyway, I just got really excited to see Wrathack's name in the forums, so that's why I came in. *shuffles off*
Theryon Stormrune wrote:
That being said, please don't let proxying stop you from playing these adventures.
Oh, we're playing tonight (as Adventure 5 isn't out yet). I'm always so confused when an OP scenario doesn't have proxies. You mean the villain is actually the villain? And the henchmen are actually the henchmen? And we have to, what's this, "corner" and "defeat" the villain? What is this nonsense?
Eliandra is even playing a goblin!!!!! WHAT.
This is so amusing to me because it's Paizo stopping Paizo from printing something. There's probably a Dilbert comic about this somewhere...
Mark Seifter wrote:
Oh geez this one's rough for Myrtle. I mean, they're all rough for Myrtle, but this one especially so.