R2D2TS's page

Organized Play Member. 119 posts (121 including aliases). No reviews. 2 lists. No wishlists. 22 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 119 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge

There is at least one scenario that if failed has you tortured by the Aspis for little more than being Pathfinders.

The Aspis seem to be represented as a more selfish, greedy, and unscrupulous parallel to the Pathfinders.

Grand Lodge

Definitely going to keep an eye on this. I will look over what there currently is once some time opens up.

Grand Lodge

So during a recent session I was running there was a character with an animal companion that used it to defend another character. No problem with that, the thing that occurred to me was do tricks like defend/guard adjust a companions initiative score when triggered? Would they allow the companion to attack each qualifying target in the same round? I feel like I should understand this but it is eluding me for some reason.

Grand Lodge

Jiggy wrote:
New idea: human ranger with FE(undead), fights with a scorpion whip spiked chain, and carries ample supplies of throwing axes and holy water. Name's Simon Belmont.

You could possibly pick up a Starknife with returning as the Cross/Boomerang.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Undone wrote:
Green Smashomancer wrote:
Undone wrote:
Bandw2 wrote:
generally removing people's freedom is a lawful and slightly evil action, since chaos want's freedom for everyone.
FREEDOM FOR THE FREEDOM GOD!
MILK FOR THE KHORNE FLAKES!
BEER FOR CAYDEN CAILEAN, cause seriously he strikes me as the type to do the deed with an outsider if she was hot.

It has been said that Cayden possibly took the Test of the Starstone in order to get it on with Calistria.

Grand Lodge

Mike Brock stating they keep alertness

Grand Lodge

Theconiel wrote:
R2D2TS wrote:
Halfling Monk. (not sure if I will get to play as I am the only GM in my area)
There are two of us?

Yep. I am thinking of trying to do a Scorpion Style(and the follow ups) and Weapon Finesse. Go high dex and wis to hit and cripple foes. May even do some UMDing for some wand usage. I am still toying with it.

Grand Lodge

Halfling Monk. (not sure if I will get to play as I am the only GM in my area)

Grand Lodge

nosig wrote:
ah... how are you two getting around the Core requirement to be able to cast 2nd level Devine spells with only one level of Cleric?

I believe they are using one of the domain powers to qualify. I think the Copycat(Sp)of the Trickery Domain is the one that works. I might be wrong but I am not sure of any others right now.

Grand Lodge

I ran this back on the 19th for a group of 6 players in the low tier. Party of a level 1 Half-orc Barbarian, a level 1 Nagaji Oracle(of metal I believe), a Level 3 Human Brawler, a Level 3 Half-Elf Magus(blackblade), a level 1 Merisiel pregen, and a level one Lirianne pregen. They demolished the encounters. They even coordinated against the "feasters" and took out 4 in the surprise round. I am pretty sure the boss fight was over in a round. (they refused the "generous" offer that was made)
Since I knew I was running for a low tier I did not look over the differences in the high one. After hearing about some of the others experiences I am thinking I would like to actually play through this one on the high tier if I got the chance.

Grand Lodge

Human Fighter you may want to check out this thread for some help from the PFS side. There is even a link to a google doc at the bottom of the opening post that compiled most of the information collected there.

Grand Lodge

FrodoOf9Fingers, you were mostly right about brilliant energy not being on ranged weapons. The only ranged it can be on is thrown. Otherwise it is melee and ammunition it can be put on.(I believe you even quoted the CRB text prior)

Below is the text and link from the PRD for Brilliant Energy:

PRD wrote:

Brilliant Energy: A brilliant energy weapon has its significant portion transformed into light, although this does not modify the item's weight. It always gives off light as a torch (20-foot radius). A brilliant energy weapon ignores nonliving matter. Armor and shield bonuses to AC (including any enhancement bonuses to that armor) do not count against it because the weapon passes through armor. (Dexterity, deflection, dodge, natural armor, and other such bonuses still apply.) A brilliant energy weapon cannot harm undead, constructs, and objects. This property can only be applied to melee weapons, thrown weapons, and ammunition.

Strong transmutation; CL 16th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, gaseous form, continual flame; Price +4 bonus.

Bolding mine

Brilliant Energy PRD link

Grand Lodge

Is there any reason that a spoken command word could not be whispered? I have looked through my books and found nothing indicating the command has to be spoken at any specific volume or higher. It just says it must be spoken. (just curious if I am missing something somewhere)

As for the "at will" being unlimited usage that was mentioned a couple of times, I found that that only came up as a part of spell-like abilities and was not found in with magic items.

Grand Lodge

Flagbearer is a feat from The Inner Sea World Guide.

Grand Lodge

Kobold Style feat chain. Also, add my vote for Hex Channeler as well.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can also find it in the Society FAQ here.

Grand Lodge

You would have the 2 from each. Each spellcasting class has its own number of spells.

Grand Lodge

TheBulletKnight wrote:

So I was reading through the archetypes of the ACG, when I found this little gem of what I assume is ignorance.

Channel energy, pg. 132 of ACG wrote:

At 2nd level, a hex channeler can call upon her patron to release a wave of energy from herself or her familiar. A good witch channels positive energy (like a good cleric), and an evil witch channels negative energy (like an evil cleric). A witch who is neither good nor evil must choose whether she channels positive or negative energy; once this choice is made, it cannot be reversed.

Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the witch. The witch can channel energy a number of times per day equal to 3 + her Charisma modifier (minimum 1). This otherwise functions as a cleric using channel energy, except the witch does not require a holy symbol to use this ability. The hex channeler uses her witch level as her cleric level for all other effects dependent upon channel energy (except increasing the amount of damage healed or dealt). The hex channeler can choose whether or not to include herself or her familiar in this effect.

This burst heals or deals 1d6 points of damage. Every time the hex channeler is able to learn a new hex (including major or grand hexes), she can instead increase her channel energy amount by 1d6.

Now here's the abuse:the extra hex feat. You can take it multiple times, and as the bold shows, every time the hex channeler is able to learn a new hex, they can instead gain 1d6 of channel energy. As there is no limiter, such as max of 10d6, you can get a max of 19d6 channel energy.

Am I reading it wrong, or can you actually get 19d6 channeling with this archetype?

The things I like about this ability are you can channel via your familiar and you do not need a holy symbol.

Grand Lodge

Unless it was clarified the Extra Reservoir feat may only add to your total. Here are a couple of links to other posts on this subject:
Link 1
Link 2

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I was thinking of actually casting the spell when I thought of the idea. Of course I am goofy enough to make a witch that focused on boosting the caster level of this spell just to see what I could do with it.
And now I have a character sheet that needs filling.

Grand Lodge

FLite wrote:
*I would have said Golarian is more of a kitchen sink pulp setting, but some people are really convinced it is Tolkien fantasy.

It always (and even more so now) reminded me of The Fantasy Trip by Steve Jackson.

Grand Lodge

Crefar wrote:

Hey everyone,

A while back I created a Tiefling PFS Character and ive played with him once so far. Yesterday i got on Hero Lab after updating it and i found that Tieflings were illegal in PFS(according to it.) Is this correct, and if it is, does that mean this character is void?

Crefar

As long as the character had a chronicle, that is dated before August 14th of this year, granting 1xp to your character the character is still legal. It is just no longer legal to make a new Tiefling(or Aasimar) without a boon. Like LazarX mentioned you should download the latest guide and read up on all the changes.

Also this question should have been posted in the PFS General Discussion forums.

Grand Lodge

graystone wrote:
I don't think you need to bump this. it's a question that can't be answered with the rules in the book and with the number of issues that are in the book, it could be a LONG time before anyone in charge says anything.

I am just trying to keep up on this since I tend to miss stuff if I am not following it closely.

Grand Lodge

Anyone got any new info or insights on this?

Grand Lodge

Bump

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hex users might find the spell Hex Vulnerability of some interest. I like the idea of using it to get multiple uses of a healing hex on allies.

Grand Lodge

Still looking for clarification on this if anyone knows anything.

Grand Lodge

blahpers wrote:
Not really. I assume that you need to touch it at a minimum.

I believe it is at least that much myself. Otherwise as it is written you either cannot actually use it at all or you can use it on any qualifying item that you felt like no matter where it is located. I am just hoping to get some clarification on it.

Grand Lodge

It looks that way to me. Since the shirt's move action is used for moving only you would not be able to benefit on the same turn that you 5-foot step.

Grand Lodge

blahpers wrote:
Isn't it obvious? Grab your bib, Merlin, it's dinner time.

I did have images like that go through my head. The arcanist salting/buttering a wand and eating it like corn on the cob or just chewing on scrolls.

Jokes aside anyone got any idea on how the item is to be interacted with?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Consume Magic Items exploit for the Arcanist does not mention how one is to interact with the item to be drained. Do you have to hold, touch, or do something else to the item to use the ability on it?

I did a quick search of the message boards and got back nothing from the Rules section and the Class Discussion section gave me too much to sift through.

Consume Magic Items:
Consume Magic Items (Su): The arcanist can consume the power of potions, scrolls, staves, and wands, using them to fill her arcane reservoir. Using this ability is a move action that provokes an attack of opportunity. When using this exploit, the arcanist adds a number of points to her arcane reservoir equal to 1/2 the level of the spell contained in the item (0-level and 1st-level spells do not recharge the arcanist's arcane reservoir). If used on a wand, the wand loses 5 charges; if if has fewer than 5 charges, the wand is destroyed and the arcanist gains no benefit. If used on a staff, it loses 1 charge and the arcanist gains a number of points to his arcane reservoir equal to the highest-level spell the staff can cast using only 1 charge; if the staff has no spells that require only 1 charge, the arcanist cannot consume that staff's magic. No more than 1 charge can be drawn from a staff each day in this way. Points gained in excess of the arcanist's reservoir's maximum are lost. This exploit has no effect on magic armor, weapons, rings, rods, wonderous items, or other magic items besides those noted above.

Grand Lodge

SirGeshko wrote:

June, I looked into doing something similar, but asked for clarification: modifying the existing art violates the Community Use Policy. =\

As far as devianart; is there a forum there? All of my forays to that site consist of artist galleries. Unless you're suggesting I message specific artists if they would do it?

Here is a link to the deviantArt Forum. If you have not done so already, you may want to try contacting the one who played a fish loving halfling for you. I imagine that one may be up for the task.(at least would not hurt to ask)

Grand Lodge

Finlanderboy wrote:
Russ Brown wrote:
I like the Ring of the Sublime - constant remove fear for 2,000gp.

I am not a fan of this. while wearing the ring you just get a +4 vs fear effects.

** spoiler omitted **

Depending on circumstances you may be able to take the ring off and put it back on. The character should be able to get back to action sooner this way.

Grand Lodge

Kyle Baird wrote:
I still want to build a 5 CON Dhampir Necromancer Wizard. Use FC bonuses for skill points. Wonder how long I could make it...

Would you use Toughness or just straight class die?

(I actually have a Human Abjurer with a 7 CON built, but I use both toughness and Tribal Scars. Unfortunately I have not played the character yet)

On topic: I do not recall seeing this mentioned, I would suggest keeping in mind Snorkels. They are fairly cheap(5sp for common, 5gp for masterwork).

Grand Lodge

I had an interesting die rolling with a dice tower experience. I was running Echoes of the Overwatched last night for a party of six players and as they were battling a tough creature. The creature was slamming away at one of the characters when one of dice had landed flat. It was leaning up against the side of the catch area the dice roll into. So, I go and reroll it. Only it lands right on top of the tower and sits there. Everyone stops and looks. Then the laughter comes. A bunch of the players start taking pics with their phones. I decided not to bother getting my camera out because of this. We even had a customer, that had nothing to do with the game, in the store we were playing in stop and take a picture.
That attack was declared a miss.

Here are links to pics that one of the players took:
image 1
image 2
image 3

Grand Lodge

You can go to this Grapple section. There are a couple of flow chart images on the right that should get you started. I imagine some more informed people will come along with additional help.

Grand Lodge

It should be usable by any Bard. The Unfortunate is just a theme.

Grand Lodge

I am certainly hoping that GM credit is allowed. I am the only GM in my area and we meet once a month. Due to work and living arrangements online play is not a viable option for me. I plan on using the credit from next session on the 21st to apply to an Aasimar concept that I already have built but have no credit on. This will be my -16. (after checking my list, I only have 5 characters that I have actually played)

Grand Lodge

Alexander Augunas wrote:

So the Sovereign Court is essentially, "Aristocrats try to fund the UN?"

Interesting.

David Neilson wrote:
Really, it sounds more like "Hey lets start the Illuminati!"

And here, as I was reading it, I thought to myself "This seems to be a combination of the UN and Illuminati". Then I read the comments and see within the first five posts both are mentioned. I enjoy it when stuff like that happens.

Grand Lodge

Well, I certainly need to read entire paragraphs in the CRB more thoroughly. That line was right there at the end of the fourth paragraph.

Grand Lodge

I have done a quick look through the CRB and brief(and probably weak) search of the Rules Forum and PRD and I have not seen any rules that states either way on if you lose your arcane bond. This is the first time I have ever heard of being revived having this effect. On the other hand I believe you can just "lose" your bonded item and get a new one for cost you have already stated. The only listing for non-magical jewelry I could find was in Ultimate Equipment. There it is listed as varies for pricing. I would not expect anything masterwork to cost less than 50gp but there is nothing to back that rules wise as far as I can recall.

Grand Lodge

Oladon wrote:

You people have never played Nethack, have you?

I had considered saying something about that but was not sure if it would be understood. I loved it whenever I found a wand for it or the spell if I had a wizard. It would help with those boulders I could not move.

Grand Lodge

Tangaroa wrote:

Hmmm... for Pathfinder Savant, maybe:

  • Cloistered Cleric
  • Oracle (Ancestors Mystery, Enlightened Philosopher Archetype, Deaf Curse)
  • Scrollmaster Wizard (this is just a hilarious archetype in general)
  • I actually have a Scrollmaster made with a couple of GM credits applied to give it a chance at earlier levels. I plan to take it into the Cyphermage prestige class. Unfortunately I am the only GM in my area so I do not know if/when I will ever get to play it.

    Grand Lodge

    I like this proposal. The only thing that sticks out to me is a table of all 1st level characters, even if it is 7, would always have the 4 player adjustment for tier 1-2 in seasons 4 and 5. Not sure if this is a good or bad thing. It just stands out to me.

    Grand Lodge

    Rules for Towers:
    Setup: You start by separating out the neutral cards(those with the symbol in the center when using the original harrow deck). Lay out these six cards in a row across the table, each more than two full cards' width away from the others. These represent the foundations of towers: the Tower of Strength, the Tower of Dexterity, and so on.

    Shuffle the rest of the deck. Deal three cards to each player, face up in front of him-this is the players cache. Players must sit along opposite sides of the rows of towers, with their caches parallel to the row of towers.

    Place the deck to the side, face down.

    Each player also has a balance-a pile of cards off to the side of the player. All players start with zero cards in their balance. Each player's balance is his debt to the other players in the game, and this debt must be paid by that player as he leaves the game.

    Whoever has the card that is alphabetically first among all the players' cache cards goes first.

    Taking A Turn:
    On your turn, you may either flee or play any one of your cache cards onto one of the towers.

    If you flee, put all your cards into your balance, and immediately pay that balance in coins to each of the players still in the game. Turn your balance facedown to show you are out of the game. You do not get any more cards, nor incur any more debt.

    If you don't flee, you must play a card so that:
    1. The card's title is towards you.
    2. The card's symbol covers one of the eight alignment positions surrounding the foundation's symbol.
    3. The card doesn't cover any symbols
    4. The card's symbol is next to the symbol of a card on the tower (not including the foundation), if any are on that foundation.

    That last rule means that if one or more cards have been placed on the tower, their symbols are all connected to each other.

    If the card you played matches the foundation's symbol, you may play another one of your cards on any tower. If that symbol matches, you can play your last cared as well.

    Any card you can't play goes into your balance.

    When you are done, draw three cards to replace your cache and pass the turn to the player to your left.

    Closing A Tower:
    If you play a card in a way that makes it impossible to play another card on the tower, the tower is closed. Starting with the opponent on your left, give one card from the tower to each opponent still in the game, continuing around until all the cards from the tower (including the foundation) are distributed. Those cards go in the opponent's balances. (If you face only one remaining opponent, that opponent gets all the cards from that tower.)

    Ending The Game:
    The game ends when no more cards can be played by anyone. All cards in players' caches go into their balances.

    Each player's balance is his debt to each of the remaining players. Unlike debts in fleeing, debts at the end of the game can cancel each other out, so if you owe a player nine coins, and that player owes you five coins, you owe that player four coins.

    This was taken from the Harrow Divination Book(rules booklet) from the original Harrow deck Paizo put out.

    Grand Lodge

    1 person marked this as a favorite.
    blackbloodtroll wrote:
    Ultimate Equipment pg. 17, PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 142 wrote:

    Club

    Statistics
    Cost — Weight 3 lbs.
    Damage: 1d4 (small), 1d6 (medium); Critical x2; Range 10 ft.; Type B; Special —
    Description
    This weapon is usually just a shaped piece of wood, sometimes with a few nails or studs embedded in it.

    I can imagine dealing different kinds of damage.

    I truly sorry for those who cannot imagine it so.

    Here is a link to the image from the CRB. A picture to go with the description.

    Grand Lodge

    Akinra wrote:
    Link to Mike Brock's statement regarding Valet defaulting back to Alertness

    Thanks for the link.

    Grand Lodge

    aegrisomnia wrote:
    quotes and examples of different wield uses:
    Quote:
    An anarchic weapon is infused with the power of chaos. It makes the weapon chaotically aligned and thus bypasses the corresponding damage reduction. It deals an extra 2d6 points of damage against all creatures of lawful alignment. It bestows one permanent negative level (Core Rulebook 562) on any lawful creature attempting to wield it. The negative level remains as long as the weapon is in hand and disappears when the weapon is no longer wielded. This negative level cannot be overcome in any way (including restoration spells) while the weapon is wielded.

    This makes it sound a lot like "having the weapon in hand" is what is meant by "wielded" in this case. Or should we take this to mean that a Lawful creature only suffers from a negative level while actively trying to hit things with the sword?

    Quote:
    This ability can only be placed on a melee weapon. When the wielder of a benevolent weapon uses the aid another action to grant an ally a bonus on attack rolls, he increases the aid another bonus by the enhancement bonus of the weapon.

    You can't really be trying to hit anything in a round you use the Aid Another action (AoOs aside). I suppose this doesn't rule out "used recently", i.e., within the last round or so.

    Quote:
    A called weapon can be teleported to the wielder's hand as a swift action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity, even if the weapon is in the possession of another creature.[b]

    By RAW, the Called property cannot work, since you cannot possibly be wielding (and be the wielder of) a weapon you are not holding. Based on this, I'd say "wield" means something more like "own".

    Quote:
    As a standard action, a dancing weapon can be loosed to attack on its own. It fights for 4 rounds using the base attack bonus of the one who loosed it and then drops. While dancing, it cannot make attacks of opportunity, and the activating character it is not considered armed with the weapon. [b]The weapon is considered wielded or[/b][/b]
    ...

    Spoilered to save room.

    While reading this thread and this quote in particular I thought, what if they just tagged the different types of wielding with certain letters. Such as (h) for the held form, (o) for the owned form, and (u) for the used form. I am not sure on where the best placement would be for each tagging but it seems it may be the simplest solution with possibly the least amount of work. (Though I could be missing something and be completely off base.)

    Grand Lodge

    Mathwei ap Niall wrote:

    In PFS you don't replace alertness with cooperative casting, you just keep the alertness ability.

    I asked the same thing when the book came out.

    Did I miss a ruling somewhere? The last I knew alertness was still replaced but cooperative casting was a dead ability(due to the no crafting rule). Also, they have not listed any such changes in the additional resources.

    Grand Lodge

    Sarrah wrote:
    Jiggy wrote:
    DarkPhoenixx wrote:
    RAW no undefined defined and the answer is no.
    Fixed that for you. There's a big difference between the rules saying that you keep the full benefits of invisibility while visibly emanating light, and the rules saying nothing one way or the other.

    Fixed it for ya.

    http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/spells/invisibility.html#_invisibility
    Items dropped or put down by an invisible creature become visible; items picked up disappear if tucked into the clothing or pouches worn by the creature. Light, however, never becomes invisible, although a source of light can become so (thus, the effect is that of a light with no visible source). Any part of an item that the subject carries but that extends more than 10 feet from it becomes visible.

    The part about the source being able to become invisible just means if they were on fire prior to being invisible the flames would then be invisible. If set on fire post invisibility effect the flames are invisible unless they are actively concealed.

    1 to 50 of 119 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>