So during a recent session I was running there was a character with an animal companion that used it to defend another character. No problem with that, the thing that occurred to me was do tricks like defend/guard adjust a companions initiative score when triggered? Would they allow the companion to attack each qualifying target in the same round? I feel like I should understand this but it is eluding me for some reason.
It has been said that Cayden possibly took the Test of the Starstone in order to get it on with Calistria.
Yep. I am thinking of trying to do a Scorpion Style(and the follow ups) and Weapon Finesse. Go high dex and wis to hit and cripple foes. May even do some UMDing for some wand usage. I am still toying with it.
ah... how are you two getting around the Core requirement to be able to cast 2nd level Devine spells with only one level of Cleric?
I believe they are using one of the domain powers to qualify. I think the Copycat(Sp)of the Trickery Domain is the one that works. I might be wrong but I am not sure of any others right now.
I ran this back on the 19th for a group of 6 players in the low tier. Party of a level 1 Half-orc Barbarian, a level 1 Nagaji Oracle(of metal I believe), a Level 3 Human Brawler, a Level 3 Half-Elf Magus(blackblade), a level 1 Merisiel pregen, and a level one Lirianne pregen. They demolished the encounters. They even coordinated against the "feasters" and took out 4 in the surprise round. I am pretty sure the boss fight was over in a round. (they refused the "generous" offer that was made)
FrodoOf9Fingers, you were mostly right about brilliant energy not being on ranged weapons. The only ranged it can be on is thrown. Otherwise it is melee and ammunition it can be put on.(I believe you even quoted the CRB text prior)
Below is the text and link from the PRD for Brilliant Energy:
Is there any reason that a spoken command word could not be whispered? I have looked through my books and found nothing indicating the command has to be spoken at any specific volume or higher. It just says it must be spoken. (just curious if I am missing something somewhere)
As for the "at will" being unlimited usage that was mentioned a couple of times, I found that that only came up as a part of spell-like abilities and was not found in with magic items.
The things I like about this ability are you can channel via your familiar and you do not need a holy symbol.
As long as the character had a chronicle, that is dated before August 14th of this year, granting 1xp to your character the character is still legal. It is just no longer legal to make a new Tiefling(or Aasimar) without a boon. Like LazarX mentioned you should download the latest guide and read up on all the changes.Also this question should have been posted in the PFS General Discussion forums.
I don't think you need to bump this. it's a question that can't be answered with the rules in the book and with the number of issues that are in the book, it could be a LONG time before anyone in charge says anything.
I am just trying to keep up on this since I tend to miss stuff if I am not following it closely.
Not really. I assume that you need to touch it at a minimum.
I believe it is at least that much myself. Otherwise as it is written you either cannot actually use it at all or you can use it on any qualifying item that you felt like no matter where it is located. I am just hoping to get some clarification on it.
The Consume Magic Items exploit for the Arcanist does not mention how one is to interact with the item to be drained. Do you have to hold, touch, or do something else to the item to use the ability on it?
I did a quick search of the message boards and got back nothing from the Rules section and the Class Discussion section gave me too much to sift through.
Consume Magic Items:
Consume Magic Items (Su): The arcanist can consume the power of potions, scrolls, staves, and wands, using them to fill her arcane reservoir. Using this ability is a move action that provokes an attack of opportunity. When using this exploit, the arcanist adds a number of points to her arcane reservoir equal to 1/2 the level of the spell contained in the item (0-level and 1st-level spells do not recharge the arcanist's arcane reservoir). If used on a wand, the wand loses 5 charges; if if has fewer than 5 charges, the wand is destroyed and the arcanist gains no benefit. If used on a staff, it loses 1 charge and the arcanist gains a number of points to his arcane reservoir equal to the highest-level spell the staff can cast using only 1 charge; if the staff has no spells that require only 1 charge, the arcanist cannot consume that staff's magic. No more than 1 charge can be drawn from a staff each day in this way. Points gained in excess of the arcanist's reservoir's maximum are lost. This exploit has no effect on magic armor, weapons, rings, rods, wonderous items, or other magic items besides those noted above.
Here is a link to the deviantArt Forum. If you have not done so already, you may want to try contacting the one who played a fish loving halfling for you. I imagine that one may be up for the task.(at least would not hurt to ask)
Depending on circumstances you may be able to take the ring off and put it back on. The character should be able to get back to action sooner this way.
Kyle Baird wrote:
I still want to build a 5 CON Dhampir Necromancer Wizard. Use FC bonuses for skill points. Wonder how long I could make it...
Would you use Toughness or just straight class die?(I actually have a Human Abjurer with a 7 CON built, but I use both toughness and Tribal Scars. Unfortunately I have not played the character yet)
On topic: I do not recall seeing this mentioned, I would suggest keeping in mind Snorkels. They are fairly cheap(5sp for common, 5gp for masterwork).
I had an interesting die rolling with a dice tower experience. I was running Echoes of the Overwatched last night for a party of six players and as they were battling a tough creature. The creature was slamming away at one of the characters when one of dice had landed flat. It was leaning up against the side of the catch area the dice roll into. So, I go and reroll it. Only it lands right on top of the tower and sits there. Everyone stops and looks. Then the laughter comes. A bunch of the players start taking pics with their phones. I decided not to bother getting my camera out because of this. We even had a customer, that had nothing to do with the game, in the store we were playing in stop and take a picture.
I am certainly hoping that GM credit is allowed. I am the only GM in my area and we meet once a month. Due to work and living arrangements online play is not a viable option for me. I plan on using the credit from next session on the 21st to apply to an Aasimar concept that I already have built but have no credit on. This will be my -16. (after checking my list, I only have 5 characters that I have actually played)
Alexander Augunas wrote:
David Neilson wrote:
Really, it sounds more like "Hey lets start the Illuminati!"
And here, as I was reading it, I thought to myself "This seems to be a combination of the UN and Illuminati". Then I read the comments and see within the first five posts both are mentioned. I enjoy it when stuff like that happens.
I have done a quick look through the CRB and brief(and probably weak) search of the Rules Forum and PRD and I have not seen any rules that states either way on if you lose your arcane bond. This is the first time I have ever heard of being revived having this effect. On the other hand I believe you can just "lose" your bonded item and get a new one for cost you have already stated. The only listing for non-magical jewelry I could find was in Ultimate Equipment. There it is listed as varies for pricing. I would not expect anything masterwork to cost less than 50gp but there is nothing to back that rules wise as far as I can recall.
I actually have a Scrollmaster made with a couple of GM credits applied to give it a chance at earlier levels. I plan to take it into the Cyphermage prestige class. Unfortunately I am the only GM in my area so I do not know if/when I will ever get to play it.
Rules for Towers:
Setup: You start by separating out the neutral cards(those with the symbol in the center when using the original harrow deck). Lay out these six cards in a row across the table, each more than two full cards' width away from the others. These represent the foundations of towers: the Tower of Strength, the Tower of Dexterity, and so on.
Shuffle the rest of the deck. Deal three cards to each player, face up in front of him-this is the players cache. Players must sit along opposite sides of the rows of towers, with their caches parallel to the row of towers.
Place the deck to the side, face down.
Each player also has a balance-a pile of cards off to the side of the player. All players start with zero cards in their balance. Each player's balance is his debt to the other players in the game, and this debt must be paid by that player as he leaves the game.
Whoever has the card that is alphabetically first among all the players' cache cards goes first.
Taking A Turn:
If you flee, put all your cards into your balance, and immediately pay that balance in coins to each of the players still in the game. Turn your balance facedown to show you are out of the game. You do not get any more cards, nor incur any more debt.
If you don't flee, you must play a card so that:
That last rule means that if one or more cards have been placed on the tower, their symbols are all connected to each other.
If the card you played matches the foundation's symbol, you may play another one of your cards on any tower. If that symbol matches, you can play your last cared as well.
Any card you can't play goes into your balance.
When you are done, draw three cards to replace your cache and pass the turn to the player to your left.
Closing A Tower:
Ending The Game:
Each player's balance is his debt to each of the remaining players. Unlike debts in fleeing, debts at the end of the game can cancel each other out, so if you owe a player nine coins, and that player owes you five coins, you owe that player four coins.
This was taken from the Harrow Divination Book(rules booklet) from the original Harrow deck Paizo put out.
Here is a link to the image from the CRB. A picture to go with the description.
Spoilered to save room.While reading this thread and this quote in particular I thought, what if they just tagged the different types of wielding with certain letters. Such as (h) for the held form, (o) for the owned form, and (u) for the used form. I am not sure on where the best placement would be for each tagging but it seems it may be the simplest solution with possibly the least amount of work. (Though I could be missing something and be completely off base.)
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
Did I miss a ruling somewhere? The last I knew alertness was still replaced but cooperative casting was a dead ability(due to the no crafting rule). Also, they have not listed any such changes in the additional resources.
The part about the source being able to become invisible just means if they were on fire prior to being invisible the flames would then be invisible. If set on fire post invisibility effect the flames are invisible unless they are actively concealed.