Hmm. So CRB pg592 says“You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level.”
And CRB pg597 says
“To cast a spell from a wand, it must be on your spell list. Because you’re the one casting the spell, use your spell attack roll and spell DC. The spell is of your tradition.”
It seems to me that the Basic Red Mantis Magic feat covers both of these requirements.
Yes it does but you are just reading part of a rule and ignoring the full context. This is the designers not wanting to re-state rules when they add new layers to it, it can be annoying at times but it is understandable seeing as the book is long enough as it is.
The rules for activating an item is placed early in chapter 11 because it covers all kinds of items that needs to be activated (some that cast spells and some that does not).
The rules you quoted is from later on in chapter 11 in the details of those specific kinds of items. And thus they only add the additional requirements/rules that exists for those items, they don't re-state the general rules because you are expected to already know those and...
I just read through chapter 11 and didn’t see anything indicating a conflict to what the rule I posted says. The feat gives the Cast a Spell activity which is the main requirement listed to use items that cast a spell. Perhaps you can show me specifically where the rule is.