Hello James Jacobs,
The summmoner synthesis says ''The synthesist also gains access to the eidolon’s special abilities and the eidolon’s evolutions''.
Are they refering to the eidolon's original Table Eidolon Base Statistics ? or is refering to the abilities that gives me in the archetype? http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/summoner/eidolons
I've seen many people using the synthesist archetype and getting evasion and darkvision from the eidolon's base statistics but my GM says that these abilities are actually replaced by the synthesis abilities shown here http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/summoner/archetypes/paizo---su mmoner-archetypes/synthesist
I was looking for some combat aerial rules for winged creatures and I could only find this http://www.d20pfsrd.com/skills/fly but left me with some questions.
Can I charge while flying ? does it count like a normal charge or does it triple the damage when charging while flying(dive from sky used to be like that in (d&d3.5). I always thought that flying creatures did extra damage when dive in from above which kinda makes sense but I can't find these rules in pathfinder.
If there are no specific rules of charging from above, would you use the old rules and adapt them to pathfinder ? or what would you has a GM.
My two adoptive parents were both weretiger-kins(skinwalkers) http://www.d20pfsrd.com/races/other-races/more-races/standard-races-1-10-rp /skinwalkers-10-rp#TOC-Weretiger-Kin-Fanglord- , If I pick the Adopted trait will it grant me access to the Tiger's Claw trait (Racial trait)?
or is this trait bound to blood (not customs) which makes it uneligible to pick with the Adopted trait ?
You were adopted and raised by someone not of your race, and raised in a society not your own.
Benefit: As a result, you picked up a race trait from your adoptive parents and society, and may immediately select a race trait from your adoptive parents' race.
Your feline agility helps you inflict a devastating blow at the end of a charge.
Prerequisite(s): Weretiger or Weretiger-kin(Skinwalker)
Benefit(s) Whenever you use the charge action, you gain a +1 trait bonus on your weapon damage roll.
James Jacobs wrote:
No James, I will just use this exactly the way you said in our home pathfinder advanture.
One more question tho, Raging Brutality feat at the end of the description says that it dosen't multiply on a ''critical hit'' but does this include multiplying on a mounted spirited charge (lance x3)? or does it multiply on spirited charge?
Don't hate me for making many questions James! :p lol
You expend some of your rage to strike your opponents with a more powerful weapon blow.
Prerequisite: Str 13, rage class feature, Power Attack, base attack bonus +12.
Benefit: While raging and using Power Attack, you can spend 3 additional rounds of your rage as a swift action to add your Constitution bonus on damage rolls for melee attacks or thrown weapon attacks you make on your turn. If you are using the weapon two-handed, instead add 1-1/2 times your Constitution bonus. This bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit.
When I use Mounted Mastery(cavalier) ability to add my animal's companion strength in addition to my own to the damage, do I multiply the total for (x1.5) if I'm using a two handed weapon?
for example: My cavalier's strength is 18(4) and my animal's companion strength is 22(6), do I add it all together and multiply the result for x1.5 if I'm wielding a two handed weapon? 6 + 4 = 10 + x1.5 = 15?
Mounted Mastery (Ex)
At 8th level, the cavalier ignores the armor check penalty when using the Ride skill, regardless of whether or not the creature he is riding is his mount. Whenever he makes a charge attack while mounted, he receives a +4 dodge bonus to his AC to avoid attacks set against his charge. When making such an attack, he can add his mount’s Strength modifier to the damage roll, in addition to his own.
James the feat ''fiendish heritage'' that appears in Pathfinder Adventure Path #25: The Bastards of Erebus (Council of Thieves 1 of 6) was used has a requirement to have access the Variant Tiefling Heritages and Variant Tiefling Abilities but then 3 years later on (april 2012) ''blood of fiends'' comes out adding the variant heritages again but without using the fiendish heritage feat requirements.
Was this ommitted in purpose to make it equal with the up coming book ''blood of angels'' which have the same variant rules for Aasimars with no 'heritage feat' requirements ?
So does anyone here has a clear answer? can I cast defensively while using a scroll with a none spellcaster class? what if I can cast a scroll defensively with a none spellcaster class, what would be my concentration calculation?
When you make a concentration check, you roll d20 and add your caster level and the ability score modifier used to determine bonus spells of the same type. So my caster level would be 0? -_-
Let say that I'm using Use magical device has an alchemist to activate a scroll and I want to cast it adjacent to an enemy but I don't want to get hit or move.
Can I cast it defensively even tho Im not a caster?
How would it work since I got no caster level?
I can emulate the ability score modifier with Use Magic Device but can I emulate my caster level has well?
Concentration Checks and Casting Spells
To cast a spell, you must concentrate. If something interrupts your concentration while you're casting, you must make a concentration check or lose the spell. When you make a concentration check, you roll d20 and add your caster level and the ability score modifier used to determine bonus spells of the same type.
If you want to cast a spell without provoking any attacks of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 15 + double the level of the spell you're casting) to succeed. You lose the spell if you fail.
What, you didn't like the answers you were getting in the other thread?
I made a diferent type of thread to simplify the question so it could be used to the FAQ's.
Thanks Ssalarn, I know its hard but my DM is going blind mode once again with something obvious, something clear that have been used that way since d&d 3.5.
James Jacobs wrote:
James if you send someone to the rules question forums to ask the question there, do you expect him to do so?
This is the type of stuff I like to see, diferent ways to play the cavalier with diferent optimization methods, thanks again Gauss :).
Awsome feat man, trick riding is just plain awsomeness!!, nice build right there Gauss, thank you very much for the tips, really really helpfull.
Gobo Horde wrote:
Thats a great idea, a single feat which gives you +6 untyped bonus to to ride checks plus acces to a new archtype sounds awsome!!!!.
My swift actions would be defensive for mounted combat + indomitable mount, pretty much I got nothing else to do with those actions.
The real question here is, does mounted combat let me avoid an attack that my pet already took ? (I mean my pet using bodyguard + In harms way)
Yeah you might be right, the problem with those feats is the fact that they spend my immediate action for just one attack : /.
Lincoln Hills wrote:
Indeed, thank you very much for the tips. I didn't think about ''super high ride checks'' until now that you mention it :)
Indomitable Mount (Combat, Local)
Your skill at riding helps your mount avoid attacks.
Prerequisites: Mounted Combat, Handle Animal 5 ranks, Ride 5 ranks.
Benefit: Once per round when your mount must make a saving throw, you can make a Ride check as an immediate action. Your mount makes its save if your Ride check result is greater than the DC of the opponent’s attack.
Why would you use military saddle instead master work tool(ride)? masterwork tool is an static +2 circ bonus o ride checks, military saddle in other hand is a +2 circ bonus only when mounted but you have a 75% of not falling from the mount if I fall unconcious. which one do u think is better?
I don't think ill have to sink tons of money on my ride check, maybe around 10k to 15k, at level 13 that ain't that much!.
Master work tool and military saddle wont stack right? I mean they are both circumstance bonuses.
Can I create a custom item that applies +5 to ride check? is this RAW? which rules allows me this? the problem here is that it has to be RAW in order for my DM to allow it. If Im able to create one it would be ''+5 circumstance bonus'' not ''+5 enchantment bonus'' right?
Ok Im checking the horse master saddle, thank you!.
No magic items at all? there are so many magic items around that increase diferent types of skills but nothing about riding : /, I want to max out my riding skill to never miss with mounted combat /indomitable mount.
I want to max out my ride check to make sure I wont miss my DC with the Mounted combat feat and with the Indomitable Mount feat, those feats require to pass a DC equal to the enemies hit and equal to the saving throw DC of an enemy. This was pretty much my goal.
Masterwork saddle? I can't find it anywere, how much does it give you?
James Jacobs wrote:
I was just joking, I would never do that :p.
Powerful Blow (Ex)
Benefit: The barbarian gains a +1 bonus on a single damage roll. This bonus increases by +1 for every 4 levels the barbarian has attained. This power is used as a swift action before the roll to hit is made.
Powerful Blow says that this bonus increases for every 4 levels ''the barbarian has attained'' which refers to the barbarian class itself, this seems clear to me. But now, Reckless abandon in other hand says:
Reckless Abandon (Ex)
Benefit: While raging, the barbarian can take a –1 penalty to AC to gain a +1 bonus on attack rolls. The AC penalty increases by –1 and the attack roll bonus increases by +1 at 4th level and every four levels thereafter.
''Every four levels thereafter'' (does not mention barbarian levels) is this intended to be used by none pure barbarian classes to get the full benefit of the attack bonus?
In addition, a 7th-level or higher Medium beast rider can select any creature whose natural size is Large or Huge, provided that creature is normally available as a Medium-sized animal companion at 7th level (like a bear).
What does this means? does it mean that I can take a hughe animal companion has long has its normally avaible as a medium sized animal companion?
Beast rider: a 7th-level or higher Medium beast rider can select any creature whose natural size is Large or Huge, provided that creature is normally available as a Medium-sized animal companion at 7th level (like a bear).
Does it mean that I can take a ''large or a hughe'' animal companion at level 7th or higher? The wording is kinda confusing me lol.
Hey James, lets say that you let ur players reach the biggest city(metropolis)in ur adventure at level 12, how hard would it be to find a Potion of Stoneskin made by a Summoner(the only class that can make it)? Would you make it nearly impossible to get? or just has easy has any level 3 potion in the market?
Robe of Runes:
Though favored by wizards, this robe can provide some benefit to any spellcasting creature. While worn, it grants a +4 enhancement bonus to Intelligence and allows the wearer to recall, as a free action, up to four levels of spells per day that he had prepared and then cast. Each time a spell is recalled and prepared again in this manner, the sudden rush of magical energy infuses the wearer with power. For 1 round after recalling a spell, the wearer's spell save DCs and attack rolls made with spells gain a +2 enhancement bonus.
Can you recall alchemist extracts with this item? extracts are prepared and are considered spells aren't they?
James did you knew that this is the thread page number 666? does that scare you a bit? does this number mean anything to you?
Next question, what happens when you start a high level campaign(lets say level 12) and you have an alchemist player that took the Mummification discovery(as his level 10 discovery), would you allow him to start with the immunities at level 12? or would you make him do the 30-day regimen when the adventure begins even tho he took it at has the level 10 discovery?
The alchemist has mastered preserving flesh and applied this knowledge to his own body, turning himself into an undead-like creature. After learning this discovery, the alchemist must perform a 30-day regimen of a special diet, rigorous exercise, and drinking a mildly poisonous alchemical tea. At the end of this regimen, he falls unconscious for 24 hours, then awakens as a “living mummy.” The alchemist’s type does not change, but he becomes immune to cold, nonlethal damage, paralysis, and sleep.
Prerequisite: Alchemist 10
Benefit: The effects of the alchemist’s bombs are persistent and continue to damage creatures for 1 round after the initial damage. Creatures that take a direct hit from a sticky bomb take the splash damage 1 round later. Bombs that have effects that would normally occur 1 round later instead have those effects occur 2 rounds later.
The part on bold means.... that if I throw 3 Sticky Bombs in the same round then one of them will do the splash dmg 1 round later, the 2nd two rounds later and the 3rd three rounds later and so on? or this effect only applies to modified bombs like (frost bomb, force bombs, etc) but not to the sticky bomb itself meaning that attacking with 3 sticky(normal)bombs will do all the sticky bomb damage 1 round later to the same target?
knowledge arcana from Core Rulebook p.101 says: lets me ''Identify a spell effect that is in place''(20+spell level), so does it mean that lets me identify all buffs casted on a creature has well?(rolling knowledge arcane per each buff or casted spell to know them all)
Knowledge arcana says: ''Identify materials manufactured by magic''(20+spell level) so is it referring to magic items? does it let me identify magic items worn by a creature? examples: swords( magic properties), armors(magic properties), belts, cloaks, boots, rings etc?