Wizard

Jose Suarez 916's page

122 posts (196 including aliases). No reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 2 aliases.




This prestige class has an ability that reads as follows:

Sword Against Injustice (Su)

At 3rd level, a crusader may use his power to judge the guilty and absolve the innocent. As a standard action he may announce he is bringing divine judgment upon a target who is accused of a crime, lie, or other affront to justice; the crusader makes a melee attack with his sword against the target as part of this judgment. If the target is innocent of what he is accused, the attack stops just short of striking him, as if hitting an invisible wall; if the target is guilty, the attack automatically hits with a flash of white light.

This attack requires no attack roll and cannot critically hit. If the target is protected by an effect that inhibits divinations (such as mind blank), the attack bounces off the target with an unpleasant metallic hiss, like quenching a red-hot blade in water. The crusader may use this ability once per day; each additional use beyond the first drains him, causing him to become fatigued. He cannot use this class ability if he is exhausted. He may expend a use of channel energy or lay on hands while activating this ability to prevent fatigue. Sometimes people wrongly accused of great crimes beg for the intercession of an Inheritor’s crusader, knowing this power will exonerate them.

My question is, if the target has mirrior image casted on him or any other type of miss chance? do I still hit automatically? or I need to roll the miss chance?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

There is a wizards crossbow called "Mages crossbow" which adds it's enhancement bonus to your ray attacks (to hit and to damage).

If I were gonna use Battering blast as a level 20 wizard which equals to(five balls of force) with a Mages Crossbow +5, would you add this +5 bonus damage on the first battering blast only? or would it add to each subsequent battering blast attack made on that turn?

Mages Crossbow:
This +2 light crossbow is made of silver that never needs to be polished.

A mage’s crossbow is especially effective against creatures with spell resistance. Against such creatures, the weapon’s effective enhancement bonus increases to +3, and it deals an additional 1d6 points of damage. Whenever the wielder casts a spell that requires him to make a ranged touch attack (such as a ray) while he has the crossbow in hand, he gains a bonus on his ranged attack roll equal to the crossbow’s enhancement bonus against the target creature. If the spell hits, the caster also applies this bonus to the caster level check to overcome the target’s spell resistance (if any) and on the spell’s damage roll (if any).

Battering Blast:
You hurl a fist-sized ball of force resembling a sphere of spikes to ram a designated creature or object. You must succeed on a ranged touch attack to strike your target. On a successful hit, you deal 1d6 points of force damage per two caster levels (maximum 5d6). For every 5 caster levels you possess beyond 5th, you gain a second ball of force.

A creature struck by any of these is subject to a bull rush attempt. The force has a Strength modifier equal to your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma modifier (whichever is highest). The CMB for the force’s bull rush uses your caster level as its base attack bonus, adding the force’s Strength modifier and a +10 bonus for each additional blast directed against the same target. Each sphere of force makes its own separate bull rush attempt—if multiple spheres strike one target, you make multiple CMB checks but only take the highest result to determine success. If the bull rush succeeds, the force pushes the creature away from you in a straight line, and the creature must make a Reflex save or fall prone.

This spell pushes an unattended object struck by it 20 feet away from you, provided it weighs no more than 25 pounds per level (maximum 250 pounds). This spell cannot move creatures or objects beyond your range. Used on a door or other obstacle, the spell attempts a Strength check to destroy it if the sheer damage inflicted by the spell doesn’t do the job.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So guys this is simple, can I stack aid another and swift aid on the same person for the AC? It says that "similar bonuses stack" but at the same time it comes from the "same source" which is me. Does it work for double aid another for AC on the same person or it has to be AC and Attack or you can't use both on the same guy period?

What about the investigator ability which allows you to use aid another as a move action? Can I use aid another 3 times on the same target? (Standard action, move action, swift action)?
_______________________
Aid Another

In melee combat, you can help a friend attack or defend by distracting or interfering with an opponent. If you’re in position to make a melee attack on an opponent that is engaging a friend in melee combat, you can attempt to aid your friend as a standard action. You make an attack roll against AC 10. If you succeed, your friend gains either a +2 bonus on his next attack roll against that opponent or a +2 bonus to AC against that opponent’s next attack (your choice), as long as that attack comes before the beginning of your next turn. Multiple characters can aid the same friend, and similar bonuses stack.

You can also use this standard action to help a friend in other ways, such as when he is affected by a spell, or to assist another character’s skill check.

_____________________________

Swift Aid:

Prerequisites: Int 13, Combat Expertise,base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: As a swift action, you can attempt the aid another action, granting your ally either a +1 bonus on his nextattack roll or a +1 bonus to his AC.

Normal: Aid another is a standard action.

______________________________

The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.

Quote:

Effortless Aid (Ex): The investigator can use an aid another action as a move action instead of as a standard action. An investigator can expend one use of inspiration to instead perform an aid another action as a swift action.


I know this question it's been asked many times but still to this day I don't see any clear rules or FAQ that clarifies bodyguard and reach weapons. There are people who uses reach weapon and bodyguard while there are others who believe that it's illegal because it clearly say in the bodyguard feat "you have to be adjacent to the attacked ally"" and adjacent means 5 FEET from your square. I know that the creator of bodyguard already clarified that you don't have to threaten the attacked which pretty much gives the feat much more usefullnes but still it clearly says "you have to be adjacent to your ally".

Why is everyone allowing bodyguard to be used with reach weapons? Am I missing something here?
__________________________________________
Aid Another

In melee combat, you can help a friend attack or defend by distracting or interfering with an opponent. If you're in position to make a melee attack on an opponent that is engaging a friend in melee combat, you can attempt to aid your friend as a standard action. You make an attack roll against AC 10. If you succeed, your friend gains either a +2 bonus on his next attack roll against that opponent or a +2 bonus to AC against that opponent's next attack (your choice), as long as that attack comes before the beginning of your next turn. Multiple characters can aid the same friend, and similar bonuses stack.

You can also use this standard action to help a friend in other ways, such as when he is affected by a spell, or to assist another character's skill check. 
_______________________________________________________________________
Bodyguard (Combat)

Your swift strikes ward off enemies attacking nearby allies.

Prerequisite: Combat reflexes.

Benefit: When an adjacent ally is attacked, you may use an attack of opportunity to attempt the aid another action to improve your ally’s AC. You may not use the aid another action to improve your ally’s attack roll with this attack.

Normal: Aid another is a standard action. 


9 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

What happends with a synthesist when he wears a belt of constitution? does he gains 1 hp and 1 temporari hit point? or do I only gain 1 hp from the synthesist but not 1 temprary hit point from the eidolon has well?

My DM keeps telling me that I only gain 1 hp from the item because they are calculated separetly so the temporary hit points aren't increased by the belt of constitution.


Does it means that I can't take the large evolution/ hughe evolutions since I have to be at least the same size?


The Synthesist archetype replaces my normal eidolon ability, does this means that I don't gain darkvision or evasion?

My Dm says that I only gain the listed abilities shown in the synthesist aka examples: Fused Link (Su) which replaceslife link.
Shielded Meld (Ex) which replaces shield ally, Maker’s Jump (Sp) which replaces maker’s call and transposition, Greater Shielded Meld (Ex) which replaces greater shield ally and Split Forms (Su) which replaces merge forms.

Since it dosen't say anything about evasion or dark vision he says that I lose these abilities which I find it wrong because the archetype itself dosen't tell me that I lost these abilities.

Any experts around here that could help me?

In other topic, is it posible for me to ''CLOSE'' a door without having the hand limbs evolution? Could I use my mouth to hold the handle and close the door since I have a bite attack ? Opening a door would be more acceptable to require hands but closing a door dosen't take any efforts at all, what do you think guys?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Let say that I'm using Use magical device has an alchemist to activate a scroll and I want to cast it adjacent to an enemy but I don't want to get hit or move.

Can I cast it defensively even tho Im not a caster?

How would it work since I got no caster level?

I can emulate the ability score modifier with Use Magic Device but can I emulate my caster level has well?

Concentration Checks and Casting Spells

To cast a spell, you must concentrate. If something interrupts your concentration while you're casting, you must make a concentration check or lose the spell. When you make a concentration check, you roll d20 and add your caster level and the ability score modifier used to determine bonus spells of the same type.

CASTING DEFENSIVELY

If you want to cast a spell without provoking any attacks of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 15 + double the level of the spell you're casting) to succeed. You lose the spell if you fail.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Creatures with critical immunity or fortification makes you immune to the Spirited charge damage?


Damage from a Lance and/or Spirit Charge is an extra damage that is multiply, so if this works just like critical hits then can a creature immune to critical or that has some Fortification can negate the Lance x2 (or x3 with Spirit Charge extra damage)?


Other than increasing dexterity and Skill Focus(Ride) feat, how else can I increase my ride check? any suggestions?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

In addition, a 7th-level or higher Medium beast rider can select any creature whose natural size is Large or Huge, provided that creature is normally available as a Medium-sized animal companion at 7th level (like a bear).

What does this means? does it mean that I can take a hughe animal companion has long has its normally avaible as a medium sized animal companion?


If I create either a mindless contruct or an intelligent contruct, do they always have to roll their own initiative check each time we have an encounter with an enemy? or do they use my own initiative check instead like for example familiars, pets and companions? why wouldn't a construct use its master's initiative check for battles?

Are there any rules about this on the books?

Thank you.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Scrap Bomb (Su): When the alchemist creates a bomb, he can choose to have it explode into shards of shrapnel that deal piercing damage. A creature that takes a direct hit from a scrap bomb takes 1 point of bleed damage per die of bomb damage unless it succeeds at a Reflex save.

So is the Scrap bomb discovery subject to the bleeding rules?

Bleed: A creature that is taking bleed damage takes the listed amount of damage at the beginning of its turn. Bleeding can be stopped by a DC 15 Heal check or through the application of any spell that cures hit point damage (even if the bleed is ability damage). Some bleed effects cause ability damage or even ability drain. Bleed effects do not stack with each other unless they deal different kinds of damage. When two or more bleed effects deal the same kind of damage, take the worse effect. In this case, ability drain is worse than ability damage.

So saying that the bleeding rules apply normally to my target, does that means that I can deal X bleeding damage initially after he fails the reflex save? or just X points of bleeding damage ONLY in the next turn?

Second, if I hit him 6 times with my bombs this turn and he fails all 6 saving throws, will he take the initial bleeding damage 6 consecutive times the very first turn that I hit him with my bombs? the bleeding rules says that bleeding damage does not stack but what about the initial damage done after the reflex save fails?( talking about the first turn, not the second turn)


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Gloves, Poisoner’s

Each glove may be filled with a single dose of poison, a potion, alchemist infusion, holy water, or similar liquid as long as the liquid would not harm the gloves (for example, alchemist’s fire and acid cannot be used).

In the text of the item says ''alchemist infusion'' is it refering to the discovery Infusion? do I really need the discovery Infusion to fill the gloves with my extracts?


Alchemist/Fire bomber-archetype:

Fire Bombardier (Su or Ex)

At 1st level, when a fire bomber throws a bomb that deals fire damage, all creatures in the splash radius take an additional point of damage per die of fire damage dealt.

This damage only applies to the splash damage? or it applies to everyone in the radius of the splash damage(including the guy that got hit directly by the bomb)?
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Explosive bomb dicovery question:

Explosive bomb

Benefit: The alchemist’s bombs now have a splash radius of 10 feet rather than 5 feet (see Throw Splash Weapon). Creatures that take a direct hit from an explosive bomb catch fire, taking 1d6 points of fire damage each round until the fire is extinguished. Extinguishing the flames is a full-round action that requires a Reflex save. Rolling on the ground provides the target with a +2 to the save. Dousing the target with at least 2 gallons of water automatically extinguishes the flames.

What if I hit him with 5 bombs this turn with this discovery? does it stack? does he get 5d6 fire damage on the next turn if he fails the reflex save? or he only takes 1d6 damage?