The Jester

Harliquinn Whiteshadow's page

68 posts. Alias of John Bellando.


RSS

1 to 50 of 68 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge

The power reads:

You throw a nearby unattended object at a single foe as a
ranged attack. The object must weigh no more than 5 pounds
per kineticist level you possess. If the attack hits, the target and
the thrown object each take the blast’s damage.

Not sure why it says "Alternatively" for the other version but it clearly states the object takes the blast's damage.

Shadow Lodge

DM_aka_Dudemeister wrote:


So, Telekinetic blast has two different uses:

1) Wrap the item in telekinetic aether to deal full damage with your attacks, this protects the item from damage.

Clarification: The object thrown always takes damage, even if wrapped in aether. It either takes the blasts damage or the thrown damage (if not wrapped in aether)

John

Shadow Lodge

shroudb wrote:
one of the benefits of loosen the strands is using special material items to bypass DR, using the magical properties of a magic item and etc

I suppose as long as you're doing it with items who can take the beating, it's okay. I just can't see being rich enough to hurl magical weapons or expensive materials when they are going to take a lot of damage in return.

Shadow Lodge

Thanks!

Shadow Lodge

Just to clarify: The Metakinesis before Metakinetic Master can only be reduced by Gather Power and not by Infusion Specialization?

John

Shadow Lodge

Another Question: Can you use Telekinetic Haul with your Telekinetic Blast and "loosen the strands" to have your extremely heavy object deal tons of damage? Telekinetic Haul says it doesn't increase the damage, but the wording of Telekinetic Blast "Loosen the Strands" says you do damage as the object.

John

Shadow Lodge

Question: Can anyone explain the differences between the two applications of "Telekinetic Blast" and why anyone would use the "Loosen the Strands" version?

The "Wrapped in Strands of Aether" version I sort of get, in that whatever you throw is essentially 'flavor' and your damage is always your Blast Damage. However, since the item is wrapped in Aether and doesn't impart any of its special abilities, I'm not sure why the object takes damage. If it does take damage, does Hardness and Hitpoints, etc. count?

For the "Loosen the Strands of Aether" version, instead of Blast damage, you do damage as if you threw the item, and both the target and item still take the same damage. However, how does one compute the damage if the character throws something big? Is there a table or chart that lists 'damage by size of object'? If you're limited to things you could hold in hand to throw the damage is going to be very small. I also assume that hitpoints and hardness apply to the object.

John

Shadow Lodge

N. Jolly wrote:

Whoa, whoa, whoa! An off topic post in MY thread? How dare you, sir! You shame me!

Nah, just messing with you. Personally I took it as another "aether isn't damage" combined with the idea that combining telekinesis with any other blast doesn't really work thematically, so you get a rather lackluster composite blast.

Aehter gets nice things like self TK, invisibility, and TK finesse, all of which really help them be a more tricky character, so you're looking at the kind of situation where the trade off for this versatility is a painful downward spiral for damage.

I understand versatility being a trade-off, but Air has some really great things such as Fly, etc. It just seems sad that picking Aether as an element before level 16 means no real composite blast worth using.

John

Shadow Lodge

This may be off topic and if so I apologize, but does anyone know why the Aetheric Boost Composite Blast is so horrible compared to all the others? Getting +1 point / Die compared to +1d6+1 for every other physical blast seems really broken (in a bad way).

I was curious if any designers had weighed in on that during playtest or if there is something about that composite blast that I'm missing. I really want to create a Kineticist with Aether, but the blast being the primary way to attack seems really lacking either as a primary or secondary element.

John

Shadow Lodge

Thanks all. I had overlooked Gather Power and had assumed it worked the same way as Infusion Specialization. I had not put together that a Blast was a Wild Talent, I thought it was its own special 'thing'.

That said, does anyone know of a way to get additional Blast Wild Talents outside of Expanded Element?

John

Shadow Lodge

Question: Do people feel that the Composite Blasts will be used very often? The 2 Burn seems a high price to pay, since it doesn't appear that the base Burn cost can be reduced/negated in any way. Infusion Specialization only works on the 'added cost of infusions' added to blasts and doesn't reduce the base Composite Blast cost.

Are Composite Blasts meant to be a once a day type thing in an emergency?

John

Shadow Lodge

I was looking over the Kineticist and wanted to know if there are any ways to get more 'basic blasts' by level 8 other than the 2 free you get with First Element and Expanded Element?

John

Shadow Lodge

I have a few questions:
1) Do you add Class Skills when taking an expanded element?mit doesn't say either way.

2) Can someone explain the benefit of the buffer? You use burn to get a buffer that lets you negate a point of burn. Seems a wash.

3) Is Metakinesis a one use power for each burn accepted or does it apply all day?

John

Shadow Lodge

Wow I had always misread that part about meeting requirements and considerations part to mean at the time you would have taken the feat. Seems a cheesy (but legal) way to 'bank' feat slots for things you don't quality for at low levels.

John

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So let's see if this is about how it goes?

Level 1: Take Imp. Unarmed Strike
Level 3/5/7: Take Feats that required Imp. Unarmed Strike
Level 8: Take a level of monk and gain "Unarmed Strike"

Now you want to retrain out your level 1 feat since you meet the pre-requisites? However, your character I thought had to be 'legal' at all levels. Since you didn't take monk until level 8, your feats that require Improved Unarmed Strike would have to be taken after that in order for you to meet the pre-requisites.

John

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Instead of Magical Weapons, the enemies could have Oil of Magic Weapon that they use. Then it works but there's no messing with the economy. It's only 50gp so many NPC's could have it.

John

Shadow Lodge

I didn't think there was a way but wanted to at least ask. Thanks all!

Shadow Lodge

I'm curious if there are any trait/feat/etc combinations that allow an arcane caster to turn a 1st level spell into a cantrip or a multiple use/day feature?

Shadow Lodge

I guess the other limitation is the Returning property going back to the square you were in. So you can't throw a card then move. Granted, you're likely cackling with your move action but still.

Shadow Lodge

I have some questions around the Cartomancer Witch's ability to deliver touch attacks through the Spell Deck.

Deliver Touch Spells:

Deliver Touch Spells (Su)

At 3rd level, when the cartomancer uses the Deadly Dealer feat with a card from her spell deck, the card is not destroyed and gains the returning weapon special ability.

In addition, the cartomancer can deliver a touch spell with a thrown card. This uses the Deadly Dealer feat (see below), except the attack is resolved as a ranged touch attack and the card deals no damage of its own. This ability can be used with any card (not just one from the cartomancer's spell deck).

1) The returning special ability seems to indicate that the thrown weapon remains 'somewhere' from the time the character throws it until the start of the character's next turn. Where is the weapon during this time? Is it flying back towards the thrower or embedded in the target?
2) The returning property seems very dangerous to use for a Cartomancer, since losing even a single card 'ruins' the Spell Deck as a familiar (i.e. the witch can't memorize any spells).
3) It also says "This ability can be used with any card". Does that refer to the Returning Special Ability or just the delivery touch spells? They are both listed under the overall ability "Deliver Touch Spells".

Bonus) Is there an item that would give the cards the ability to immediately return to the witch's grasp after being thrown/resolved? I saw the Blinkback Belt but that wouldn't work for these.

Thanks

Shadow Lodge

Thanks everyone!

Shadow Lodge

Are there feats, traits, items, etc. that work for the Arcanist to increase their Spells Prepared for the day?

Second question, Do they qualify as "Spontaneous Casters" for those feats, items, etc. that add extra Spells Known (Though those aren't as useful for an Arcanist)

Shadow Lodge

I may run this by our GM :) Thanks for the insight (And the guide you've made for the Arcanist)

Shadow Lodge

I like hexes, I just hate prepared casting anymore *laugh*. Was hoping for a spontaneous witch.

Shadow Lodge

I was curious if anyone has converted the Witch class into a caster like the Arcanist? Would this be an even trade to play a Witch but with the Arcanist method of learning/preparing/casting spells?

Shadow Lodge

Technically, a Large creature occupies 2x2 squares, so you could gain an implicit 5' of range if you are attacking someone that is in the opposite corner of where you would have occupied at medium.

At medium:

X- - - -20' range (4 squares away from your square)

At large:

XX- - - - 20' range (5 squares away from your "medium" size starting square)
XX

Shadow Lodge

Unless you've also grown in size, the range increments for thrown weapons stay the same. If you're bigger in size, the range increment starts at the edge of your space. So if you went from medium to huge, you've gained an additional 5' essentially.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

One more question: How would this feature interact with another class's Familiar Feature (Say a Magus or Shaman) if the Witch were to multiclass?

Shadow Lodge

Thanks all. I'll review that other thread. I'm wondering if giving up the other cool familiar abilities (and the ability to take Improved Familiar) is worth slinging my touch spells around 20' or if Reach Spell is a good alternative.

John

Shadow Lodge

Just bumping...

Shadow Lodge

I'm trying to understand the use of Final Embrace (feat) with the White Haired Witch's Constrict ability. Final Embrace requires having Constrict, and then in the benefit it says you can Constrict. Does this mean you Constrict TWICE each time you grapple? Otherwise, what's the point of Final Embrace?

John

Shadow Lodge

Cool thanks all. I think it could be interesting to stack the two archetypes for an upcoming character. I may combine with Hexcrafter as well for Hex goodness.

Shadow Lodge

claudekennilol wrote:
No, they are not compatible. They both alter "Weapon and Armor Proficiency" so both archetypes cannot be chosen.

Could you expand on this? Only Kapenia Dancer appears to modify "Weapon and Armor Proficiency" section, while Spell Dancer replaces the 2 Magus Features "Medium Armor" and "Heavy Armor"

Shadow Lodge

Is there any reason that an Elven Magus couldn't have Kapenia Dancer and Spell Dancer?

Kapenia Dancer (Link: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/magus/archetypes/paizo---magus -archetypes/kapenia-dancer) removes your initial Armor Proficiencies but says nothing about what happens when you get Medium / Heavy Armor (So I'm assuming they wouldn't be 'touched' RAW and whether they bump down to Light / Medium or you just don't get light doesn't matter at the moment).

The Archetype doesn't 'lose' any other Magus features, but instead gains a Free Feat and expanded Arcana Options.

Spell Dancer (Elf) (Link: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/races/core-races/elf/spell-dancer-magus-elf) changes Magus Class Skills, modifies the Magus's level 1 Arcane Pool spending, replaces the 5th level Feat and the important thing: Replaces Medium and Heavy Armor features with Insight Bonuses to AC.

It seems these would fit nicely together and give the Kapenia Dancer an AC comparable with other Magi.

Thoughts?

Shadow Lodge

By reading, it would cost 1 point for each ability you wanted to affect on the hit.

Shadow Lodge

I hope Split Hex was an oversight.

John

Shadow Lodge

A witch loses out on hexes, etc. but other than that, it's a good base for the Harrower. Use some of your early feats for Extra Hex!

John

Shadow Lodge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Has anyone officially answered the "Can shamans take Split Hex"?

Shadow Lodge

We're starting up Carrion Crown soon and I'm going to play a Varisian Fortune Teller styled character. I'm waffling between Shaman or Witch and if I go to Witch, considering Cartomancer.

Shadow Lodge

shroudb wrote:
Harliquinn Whiteshadow wrote:

I'm looking at deciding between a Witch and Shaman for an upcoming Carrion Crown AP. This is how I see the big differences over 20 levels:

Shaman vs. Witch
(+) Med BAB vs. (-) Low BAB
(+) Med Armor vs. (-) No Armor
(+) Shields vs. (-) No Shields
(+) d8 HP vs. (-) d6 HP
(+) Familiar with Buffs vs. (-) Familiar
(-) Learns 10 Hexes vs. (+) Learns 11 Hexes
(+) Change 2 Hexes/Day vs. (-) Fixed Hexes
(-) No Major Hexes vs. (+) Major Hexes
(-) No Grand Hexes vs. (+) Grand Hexes
(+) 6 Spirit Abilities vs. (-) No Extra Abilities
(+) Capstone Ability vs. (-) No Capstone Ability
(+) 1 Spontaneous Spell / Lvl vs. (-) No Spontaneous Spells
(=) Spell Lists are different

So it looks like this is the decision (abilities wise)
Shaman loses 1 Hex, Major Hexes, and Grand Hexes to gain 2 Floating Hexes, 6 Spirit Abilities, a Capstone Ability, a buffed Familiar, and 9 Spontaneous Spells.

Witches have more than +1hex due to lvl acquired.

A lvl1human witch can start with 3 hexes, 4atlvl2 5at lvl3
A lvl3 shaman will have 2 at lvl 3 due to not being able to pick extra hex at lvl1

Also note:
Unless erratta'ed extra hex for shaman gives ONLY from his chosen spirit, not from the general list.

Given that evil eye/cackle/sleep/fortune/misfortune are all in the general list, that is a huge thorn against shaman

My comparison is for 'base abilities' not racial or other choices made along the way.

As for "Extra Hex" I don't see how you are interpreting it. The Extra Hex feats requires the Hex class feature and says you learn a Hex you meet the prerequisities for. The Shaman's Hex feture lallows choosing any general shaman hex or a hex from their spirit.

Shadow Lodge

I'm looking at deciding between a Witch and Shaman for an upcoming Carrion Crown AP. This is how I see the big differences over 20 levels:

Shaman vs. Witch
(+) Med BAB vs. (-) Low BAB
(+) Med Armor vs. (-) No Armor
(+) Shields vs. (-) No Shields
(+) d8 HP vs. (-) d6 HP
(+) Familiar with Buffs vs. (-) Familiar
(-) Learns 10 Hexes vs. (+) Learns 11 Hexes
(+) Change 2 Hexes/Day vs. (-) Fixed Hexes
(-) No Major Hexes vs. (+) Major Hexes
(-) No Grand Hexes vs. (+) Grand Hexes
(+) 6 Spirit Abilities vs. (-) No Extra Abilities
(+) Capstone Ability vs. (-) No Capstone Ability
(+) 1 Spontaneous Spell / Lvl vs. (-) No Spontaneous Spells
(=) Spell Lists are different

So it looks like this is the decision (abilities wise)
Shaman loses 1 Hex, Major Hexes, and Grand Hexes to gain 2 Floating Hexes, 6 Spirit Abilities, a Capstone Ability, a buffed Familiar, and 9 Spontaneous Spells.

Shadow Lodge

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Personally I think it would be more disappointing if the core class's ability was a severely neutered version of the hybrid class's ability.

John

Shadow Lodge

Removing the Mind Affecting restriction is a very big advantage. It opens up a lot more monster types to evil eye.

John

Shadow Lodge

Evil Eye doesn't have the 1/day/target restriction. Misfortune does.

John

Shadow Lodge

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Witch's Evil Eye Hex says it's mind-affecting (meaning that it cannot affect many creatures). The Shaman's Evil Eye does not has this restriction. Anyone know if that's intentional or an oversight?

John

Shadow Lodge

You bring up a good point. I retract my reading of it.

Shadow Lodge

It would seem that the line about "They gain any of the bonuses or penalties related to that size" means your movement rate decreases to match that of your non-fiendish ancestor.

Shadow Lodge

The Cartomancer has an ability "Spell Deck" which it says replaces Witch's Familiar ability. The first paragraph seems to indicate that the only thing the Spell Deck does is store the spells like a witch's familiar. However, the next section says "The following familiar ability works differently for a cartomancer" and it speaks about Deliver Touch Spells.

Being that it calls out that the Spell Deck gets at least one of the familiar abilities but doesn't say something like "In addition, the Spell Deck gets this one Familiar Ability and this is how it functions", does that mean that the Spell Deck gets other Familiar Abilities that make sense (Alertness, Evasion, etc)? Or is it just a poor wording for that particular ability and it meant "Your Spell Deck also gets this ability"?

John

Shadow Lodge

Nevermind, I found out how to extract the images. Woot! Thanks Paizo :)

John

Shadow Lodge

Does the "Extract Method" work on Flip-Mat PDFs? I'm trying to modify the Pirate Ship Flip-Mat I purchased a bit for the Skull and Shackle's Campaign. My goal is to print out the decks and glue them onto thin plywood for play. I'd like to actually create the small Dinghy's hanging on the deck instead of having them be part of the deck.

John

1 to 50 of 68 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>