Frequent Visitor

Funkytrip's page

165 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The rogue in our group got hit by a feeblemind spell yesterday and he failed the save. He also has the Hard to Fool feat from UC. Will that give me a new save in the round after? gue-advanced-talents/hard-to-fool-ex

Gut feeling says no, but the DM was kind and let me reroll the round after (to kinda prevent a potential TPK)

Example situations:

1. Party is surrounding monster. Monster decides who he's gonna hit, picks the party wizard and starts swinging his axe.
- Can the party wizard use an immediate action to prevent himself from getting hit (teleporting away or casting some defensive spell)?

2. Enemy wizard is casting teleport.
- Can the party wizard -after having id'd the spell with a spellcraft check use an immediate action like casting dimensional anchor to prevent the enemy from teleporting?

i.e. does it work like a Magic the Gathering instant/interrupt?

So my party has ended up in the middle of the desert. I want to give them a fun game of intrigue. The story arc is follows:
Party encounters monsters, which turns out to be a very tough battle (party is lvl 3, so no insta-kills, but they might go down). They get rescued by a trade caravan of trade organisation X (or they win the battle sustaining heavy wounds and encounter the caravan directly after). Caravan leader asks them to go along with them and explains that he suspects there is a spy among her men trying to sabotage the caravan and setup an ambush for his buddies of trade organisation Y (they're kinda at war). Party needs to find out who it is. There's about 6 or so suspects. Of course, they all show behavior that might be considered suspicious. One sneaks off to steal food, 2 others have a secret relation, a 3rd is just plain rude etc etc.

I'm trying to add some extra intrigue to it and come up with neat ideas for the bandits or reasons for people acting suspicious.

Maybe the extra intrigue is that the caravan leader is herself the spy and she tries to get rid of the person who is a secret agent trying to figure out why so many caravans get robbed or all 6 are the bandits and only the caravan leader is genuine.

Any ideas? I am slightly enclined to have an end-fight between party and bandits and then have desert monsters or evil organisation Z show up forcing everyone to band together. They learn that way there are heavy trade wars going on between different mafia-like trading guilds.

In the mean time, if things go too fast, I want to add some desert flavor and have the caravan enter storms, encounter oases guarded by monsters etc. Ideas on this would be welcome too.

One of my players wants to play a Mystic Theurge. Since we start at lvl 1, lvl 7 is way in the future and the Mystic Theurge is not really considered powerful (a 3wiz/3cler by definition is not really powerful compared to a full class imo), I was wondering what the pitfalls would be if I lowered the requirements so that MT can be accessed at level 5 (2wiz/2cler). Would full caster progression in both classes be too powerful if you get it 2 levels earlier?

If it turns out to be broken, I could always rule that the next MT level will not gain any spell progression. Might be I'm missing something important though that will completely screw balance if you can become MT at lvl 5.

Any thoughts?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The rules state that spell-like abilities can be dispelled like other spells, but not counterspelled (except with a dispel magic).

Will a (greater) dispel magic 'dispel' spell-like abilities from monsters in the sense that it suppresses the ability (just like a targeted dispel on an item)?

Example: casting a greater dispel magic on a demon to suppress some of his annoying abilities like greater teleport or greater dispel. I can roll for every ability from highest to lowest to see if it gets suppressed or not.

The rules are a bit vague to me. It could also be that you can only dispel the effect of a spell-like ability after it has been used. For example, dispelling a Heroism from a monster that can cast heroism as a spell-like ability.

Could someone please clarify?

So I picked prismatic wall as a spell. The violet layer effects reads:

Energy field destroys all objects and effects.
Creatures sent to another plane (Will negates).

Does it destroy equipment and magic items etc as well?
Does your equipment get a save? Most spells explicitly mention whether attended or unattended items receive a save or not. No such mention here. Simply 'destroys all objects'.

I can imagine the rule of intent being that any object you throw through the wall will get hosed by the violet layer, even if it is a magic item, but if you make your will save versus the planar trip, you and your equipment will pass.

An official ruling would be nice. I've googled around and there doesn't seem to be a concensus. I wished Pathfinder had clarified the rule a bit.

If a spell reads 'target creature' and said creature is under the effect of a displacement spell, does the spell have a 50% chance of missing?

I assume the miss chance will be applied for rays and touch spells but for targeted spells as well?

I've searched around a bit but couldn't really find a good answer on whether a maximized version of Flaming Sphere would do 18 damage every round (on a saved fail) or that the maximize would only count on the first damage. Same with call lightning, or even Ball Lightning from Spell Compendium.

RAW seems to agree, but it seems quite powerful.

Some spell effects you can use to do a combat maneuver on an opponent like grappling or bullrushing. Think of telekinesis or forceful hand.

The CMB is often described, but not the CMD to escape or counter the maneuver.

What is the CMD to escape a telekinesis grapple? Or bullrush against a forceful hand etc? Is it the Wizard's? That seems counterintuitive since I think my mental telekinesis is stronger than my thin frail body with CMD below the 20s.

I noticed that the CMD to escape black tentacles is 10+its CMB. Should that be the general rule to use for spell effects like this?

So here's the situation:

* I have a Ring of counterspells filled with a Dispel Magic spell.
* I have casted haste or <insert any buff spell affecting me or entire party>

Now, an enemy wizard targets a dispel magic on this buff. What happens?
- Is the buff simply dispelled because the dispel magic does not count as 'Instead, should that spell ever be cast upon the wearer, the spell is immediately countered' because I was not targeted, but the buff spell was.
- Is the dispel magic countered?
- Or (don't think this would be the case), the buff is dispelled on everyone except me.

It seems to me filling a ring of counterspells with Dispel magic would be pretty worthless if an enemy can simply cast it on the spells I have buffed myself with circumventing the counterspell effect. In a way, I do think the dispel magic is cast 'upon me', since it affects me in a negative way.

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

You might want to check word #3 in the spell description. :)

Recently I noticed a kinda heavy nerf to Solid Fog. In the old days it was able to occupy enemies for the several rounds it took them to move out, but now it only reduces movement speed to half, meaning most opponents get out in 1 round. Otherwise it's basically just a fog cloud with a little movement restriction.

But it's still 4th level. Shouldn't the spell not be 3rd for its power level? Which is the logical upgrade from fog cloud to a fog-cloud-with-a-bit-of-movement-restriciton.

In Pathfinder you cannot have your level + 3 ranks anymore in a skill. The maximum number of ranks you can have is your level. The +3 has been turned into a +3 bonus for class skills.

For 3.5 compatibility this poses a problem as feats and prestige classes that use skill ranks for prerequisites can only be acquired 3 levels later than it used to be. Archmage & Hierophant at lvl 15 instead of lvl 12, Blackguard at lvl 5 instead of 2 and a feat such as swift concentration at lvl 12 instead of 9.

Waiting 3 levels can be quite a lot and may screw up Prc combinations.

Has this been on purpose or was this an oversight? I'd like to see a rule 'for determining skill prerequisites, you may add this +3 bonus' or something.

See the title...

I picked the Arcane Bond ability for my wizard instead of the Familiar. This means I can cast any spell I have in my spellbook 1/day.
Any spell, unprepared. Does this fall in the category 'spontaneous casting' ?

It would mean there's a whole number of feats I would qualify for then.