Prismatic wall: Does violet layer leave you naked?


Rules Questions


So I picked prismatic wall as a spell. The violet layer effects reads:

Energy field destroys all objects and effects.
Creatures sent to another plane (Will negates).

Does it destroy equipment and magic items etc as well?
Does your equipment get a save? Most spells explicitly mention whether attended or unattended items receive a save or not. No such mention here. Simply 'destroys all objects'.

I can imagine the rule of intent being that any object you throw through the wall will get hosed by the violet layer, even if it is a magic item, but if you make your will save versus the planar trip, you and your equipment will pass.

An official ruling would be nice. I've googled around and there doesn't seem to be a concensus. I wished Pathfinder had clarified the rule a bit.


Nope, attended items are never harmed by spell effects such as this (unless the victim rolls a 1 on his save in which case 1 item might be affected).

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Wacky image. I would imagine the first line is for unattended objects. The second is for creatures and their gear. They are not meant to apply at the same time.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
Wacky image. I would imagine the first line is for unattended objects. The second is for creatures and their gear. They are not meant to apply at the same time.

It also applies to projectiles that are fired through the wall.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
Wacky image.

I have this picture of a Paladin stepping through and coming out naked on the other side.

That said, I agree that the first line only applies to unattended objects.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Charender wrote:
TriOmegaZero wrote:
Wacky image. I would imagine the first line is for unattended objects. The second is for creatures and their gear. They are not meant to apply at the same time.
It also applies to projectiles that are fired through the wall.

Yeah, I was counting those as unattended objects.


that would probably make the most sense, seeing as once fired/thrown they are out of the shooter/throwers possession.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Funkytrip wrote:

So I picked prismatic wall as a spell. The violet layer effects reads:

Energy field destroys all objects and effects.
Creatures sent to another plane (Will negates).

Does it destroy equipment and magic items etc as well?
Does your equipment get a save? Most spells explicitly mention whether attended or unattended items receive a save or not. No such mention here. Simply 'destroys all objects'.

I can imagine the rule of intent being that any object you throw through the wall will get hosed by the violet layer, even if it is a magic item, but if you make your will save versus the planar trip, you and your equipment will pass.

An official ruling would be nice. I've googled around and there doesn't seem to be a concensus. I wished Pathfinder had clarified the rule a bit.

The official ruling is that carried objects stick with you; you either are sent to another plane (if you fail your save) or get through the wall (if you make your save).


I have a question about how the 7 colors work. Are they all in effect at once? If so, does that mean someone who passes through the wall could be affected by every effect at once (i.e. 20 fire, 40 acid, 80 elec, poison, turned to stone, insanity, and sent to another plane)?

Or do the colors rotate and change to a new one every round?


TriOmegaZero wrote:
Wacky image. I would imagine the first line is for unattended objects. The second is for creatures and their gear. They are not meant to apply at the same time.

Wacky image indeed:

*fails saving throw*
"...Where am I and why am I naked?"


reefwood wrote:

I have a question about how the 7 colors work. Are they all in effect at once? If so, does that mean someone who passes through the wall could be affected by every effect at once (i.e. 20 fire, 40 acid, 80 elec, poison, turned to stone, insanity, and sent to another plane)?

Or do the colors rotate and change to a new one every round?

They're all there -- in fact, if you look at the description to Prismatic Wall, it even tells you the order that you hit them in. That's why you don't charge the Prismatic Wall. [Even having evasion or improved to dodge the damage still leaves you subject to 2 fort and then 2 will saves]

Liberty's Edge

A) Never strip away gear from a PC on a succeeded save.
B) Everyone always has pants.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

James, you really missed your chance here.

I just want you to imagine, for a moment, how much better this world would have been, should you have answered:

"Yes, the intention is that the violet layer leaves all creatures as naked as they were when they entered this world. In my home campaign, a powerful sorceress used this spell to determine who would be her daily tryst and who would be sent to the abyss."

I mean, just picture the world where you had typed that.

But, you missed it. And therefore, we no longer live in the best of all possible worlds.


Lyrax wrote:


B) Everyone always has pants.

Just like the Hulk.


cfalcon wrote:

James, you really missed your chance here.

I just want you to imagine, for a moment, how much better this world would have been, should you have answered:

"Yes, the intention is that the violet layer leaves all creatures as naked as they were when they entered this world. In my home campaign, a powerful sorceress used this spell to determine who would be her daily tryst and who would be sent to the abyss."

I mean, just picture the world where you had typed that.

But, you missed it. And therefore, we no longer live in the best of all possible worlds.

Hahahahaha!!!!!! Epic!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Prismatic wall: Does violet layer leave you naked? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.