Ring of Counterspells vs Dispel magic on a spell affecting me


Rules Questions


So here's the situation:

* I have a Ring of counterspells filled with a Dispel Magic spell.
* I have casted haste or <insert any buff spell affecting me or entire party>

Now, an enemy wizard targets a dispel magic on this buff. What happens?
- Is the buff simply dispelled because the dispel magic does not count as 'Instead, should that spell ever be cast upon the wearer, the spell is immediately countered' because I was not targeted, but the buff spell was.
- Is the dispel magic countered?
- Or (don't think this would be the case), the buff is dispelled on everyone except me.

It seems to me filling a ring of counterspells with Dispel magic would be pretty worthless if an enemy can simply cast it on the spells I have buffed myself with circumventing the counterspell effect. In a way, I do think the dispel magic is cast 'upon me', since it affects me in a negative way.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

RAW it doesn't, because in order for the ring to trigger you must be the target of the spell, and in this case the enemy's dispel is targeted on the buff.

It will work if the enemy targets you as a creature (trying to remove any spell in general), it won't work if he targets a specific named spell affecting you.


Gorbacz wrote:

RAW it doesn't, because in order for the ring to trigger you must be the target of the spell, and in this case the enemy's dispel is targeted on the buff.

It will work if the enemy targets you as a creature (trying to remove any spell in general), it won't work if he targets a specific named spell affecting you.

Ya, I was afraid for that. Is there any way to protect buffs on you otherwise?

Liberty's Edge

Funkytrip wrote:


Ya, I was afraid for that. Is there any way to protect buffs on you otherwise?

Yup :-)

Cast them twice!


midknight wrote:
Funkytrip wrote:


Ya, I was afraid for that. Is there any way to protect buffs on you otherwise?

Yup :-)

Cast them twice!

Will a greater dispel magic be countered with the ring if I happen to stand inside the area of an area dispel and the ring contains the spell?

The Exchange

Funkytrip wrote:

So here's the situation:

* I have a Ring of counterspells filled with a Dispel Magic spell.
* I have casted haste or <insert any buff spell affecting me or entire party>

Now, an enemy wizard targets a dispel magic on this buff. What happens?
- Is the buff simply dispelled because the dispel magic does not count as 'Instead, should that spell ever be cast upon the wearer, the spell is immediately countered' because I was not targeted, but the buff spell was.
- Is the dispel magic countered?
- Or (don't think this would be the case), the buff is dispelled on everyone except me.

It seems to me filling a ring of counterspells with Dispel magic would be pretty worthless if an enemy can simply cast it on the spells I have buffed myself with circumventing the counterspell effect. In a way, I do think the dispel magic is cast 'upon me', since it affects me in a negative way.

From PRD "You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target"

The target of the dispel is the creature with the buff, therefore you can counterspell.

You can only dispel a buff that affects multiple creatures from one creature as the target or area is "one spellcaster, creature, or object".


brock wrote:


From PRD "You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target"

The target of the dispel is the creature with the buff, therefore you can counterspell.

You can only dispel a buff that affects multiple creatures from one creature as the target or area is "one spellcaster, creature, or object".

But I also read in the spell description:

"Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell"

which seems to contradict the 'target' in the spell header.

The Exchange

Funkytrip wrote:
brock wrote:


From PRD "You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target"

The target of the dispel is the creature with the buff, therefore you can counterspell.

You can only dispel a buff that affects multiple creatures from one creature as the target or area is "one spellcaster, creature, or object".

But I also read in the spell description:

"Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell"

which seems to contradict the 'target' in the spell header.

True - I interpret that as 'one spell in effect upon the creature or object targetted'.


brock wrote:
Funkytrip wrote:

But I also read in the spell description:

"Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell"
which seems to contradict the 'target' in the spell header.
True - I interpret that as 'one spell in effect upon the creature or object targetted'.

Or simply one spell effect that is not targeted on any object (Stinking Cloud for instance).

The Ring of Counterspells would most *definitely* work. As far as I know, it would also work if they were trying to dispel your sword for instance, as it is an attended object, and considered part of you (uses your saves, protections, etc.)

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies, Representative - D20 Hobbies

Gorbacz wrote:

RAW it doesn't

It will work if the enemy targets you as a creature (trying to remove any spell in general), it won't work if he targets a specific named spell affecting you.

+1

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ring of Counterspells vs Dispel magic on a spell affecting me All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.