Erdrinneir Vonnarc

CrazyElf's page

39 posts. Alias of 2radly.


RSS


1. It last for one round, meaning Krom is stunned for his turn and won't get a turn again until after Rethgif goes.
1.a. What kind of name is Rethgif? Eeesh.

2. Stuns end at the end of the initiating persons next turn, assuming a 1 round stun; or if stunned for 2 rounds, at the end of the initiating persons second turn.

3. At the end of Rethgif's next turn. Since his movement is what would have caused the 'stunned' condition by setting off the trap on his turn.


It just says "a stone", it's up to you, the GM, to define what you think "one stone" is. There are arguments for and against it, modifiers such as natural breaks/fault lines/alternate types of rock (stone, grantie, marble, etc..). It's up to you to decide how much is too much.


IMO, They miss out on it.
XP is defined: "As a character overcomes challenges, defeats monsters, and completes quests, he gains experience points."
They didn't defeat the monsters, they bypassed them. The only one they defeated was the boss, so they only get xp for the boss.


"Being a construct of force, the spiritual ally cannot be harmed by any physical attacks..."
So ya, it's a construct.


Hand of the Mage already exists in Pathfinder. Though it's really only useful for classes that can't cast it. Cantrips stay in memory and are castable all day long for spellcasters.

Yes, you did it all correctly.

Personally, I don't recommend using 'charges per day' unless it's something expensive, as unlimited isn't that much more.. usually. But sometimes ya have to fit it into the characters monetary ability. 1st lvl wands are the cheapest thing under the sun. Scrolls and a Handy Haversack work incredibly well also.

I play a lot of mages, but I try NOT to get anywhere near melee range, so I rarely use burning hands myself after level one or two.. but that's just my playstyle.


Yes and No. Disguise Self normally doesn't allow you to mimic a specific person, with Mimic Mastery, you can. However, you're still limited duration of Disguise self, but cast at caster lvl +2.

If you polymorphed into a dog, you could impersonate a specific dog, down to the specific markings.

You're limited to the spells affects and durations.. Mimic Mastery just ADDS to the spells abilities for yourself.


Your search-fu may be weak, but your mind is agile young grasshopper. ;)


Sure, they are called practice weapons.. though they won't have the same heft as the real weapon.
I supposed if you had a druid cast Ironwood on the item after it was crafted, it'd be the same, and that'd hold it for a few days.. But you'd have to have permanency cast to make it permanent. You're talking about a lot of expense there.


I don't see a problem with intercepting the fireball in the prescribed manner you indicate.
HOWEVER, Spellcraft check should be required, it's why the skill exists in the first place.
Spellcraft is more than realizing what components they are pulling out, though that IS part of it.. It's also about the gestures and understanding the techincal art of casting a spell. Not only do you need to SEE the wizard but you need to understand what he is doing. For all he knows without the spellcraft check, bat guano & sulfer could be used for many spells.
Further, what if the Wizard has ESCHEW MATERIALS feat? Sorcerers get that for free ya know.. What then?


*BUMP* to hopefully draw an official eye.
Our group is looking for answers to these questions also.
No FAQ answers are present even after 6 months.
Thanks!


I haven't been able to find a list of race traits (for the Adopted feat) for any races in the Uncommon or Featured races in the ARG (Advanced Race Guide). Do they exist somewhere? Am I missing something obvious? :)
Thanks!


I would like to point out, it specifically says "..under the effects of a confusion SPELL"..

The confusion spell header contains:
CONFUSION
Saving Throw Will negates; Spell Resistance yes

So, it would have to beat their spell resistance first, and then they get a will save to avoid the confusion effect.

So you have to hit (not difficult), overcome SR (if they even have it) and then make they get a will save.


PCGen/laziness strikes again? heh


I understand it's against the targets CMD. But which of the 6 CMDs?
Grapple, Trip, Disarm, Sunder, Bull Rush or Overrun?
or I guess we just use the generic base CMD?
Sorry, I use PCGen, and it never lists the base CMD, just those 6.


That logic would allow a sorcerer to threaten every square on the field, along with the archer. I wish! ;)


No. Because a Lantern Archon does not have a melee attack.

Under Combat - Threatened Squares: You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn.


Probably a stupid question, but..
On the Push/Pull evolutions, it says when you make an attack, you get a free combat maneuver check. AGAINST WHAT!? It doesn't say which CMD the other person is supposed to use.
Anyone know?


You only make 1 concentration check for spellcasting, but you apply the corresponding check for whichever instance applies.

Question 1's answer should be 3. ;) They would cast defensively if you miss your attack; if you hit, they would use the concentration check for taking damage during casting a spell: 10+spell level+damage taken+4 for disruptive for the DC. Both options trigger Spellbreaker should they fail their concentration check.

Question 2 should be cleared up significantly by my answer to Question 1.
Teleport Tactician should operate off of even a quickened spell.. It operates off of Su abilities, and Teleport Wizards Shift abiliity is Su to teleport as a swift action, same action as a quickened spell.


Exactly seebs. Oh well. *shrugs* I was hoping other people saw it the same way I did, but I guess not. That's why I asked.


Shadow conjuration can mimic any sorcerer or wizard conjuration (summoning) or conjuration (creation) spell of 3rd level or lower.

Darkness is an evocation spell. So no way to 'dim the light' per se.

About the best you could do I think would make a fog cloud and use that for cover which you could then stealth using.

If someone could lay down a darkness for you, or if you have a high enough UMD you could use a scroll or wand of darkness or even greater darkness depending on how high the light levels were.


As I'm understanding it, RAY spells act like Ranged Weapons, so I get cover and firing into melee penalties when trying to shoot someone..

What about missile type spells, like Acid Splash or Acid Arrow?

Does it apply to all ranged touch attacks?
If so, is there any way to get around this?

Precise Shot only seems to work with Ranged Weapons, but I don't see where it says missiles or other spells are considered 'ranged weapons', only ray spells.

Just could use some assistance understanding this better. I was suffering from -8 because of cover and firing into melee for most of my first battle with my wizard (lvl 4) and couldn't move around much because of confined space.


That's what I was essentially wondering; If the rules under bonded object where it says the bonded object uses a slot (for amulets and rings) was a 'definite must', or just considered like most items that it does unless you magic it so it will not.
Your all saying by RAW, it's a must. Therefore, I'm not even going to try to argue it with my GM. If there's no argument by RAW for it, I have no chance of getting it with my group.


I know the GM has final word, that's the way it ALWAYS is. I'm merely asking if this seems like a fair way to go about it, or if it's do-able by RAW considering all the side effects arcane bonded object has in comparison to familiar. It does say under Wizard that I can designate a magic item as my bonded object.. so if the item were already enchanted in the way stated above.. I don't see why it wouldn't work.

But if you must know Gilarius - I just don't like familiars, people abuse them and their abilities far too much in my opinion. There is absolutely no penalties anymore if a familiar dies, but with bonded object, your penalized for having it and worse if it gets destroyed!


Let me try to explain what I mean a little more..let me give you some references also.

Under Wizard for Arcane Bond: "If the object is an amulet or ring, it must be worn to have effect.." *snippet* it also says "if the item is a ring or an amulet, it uses up a slot like normal."

Now, say I either enchanted it myself, or am replacing my bonded object with a new magical one. Now it was enchanted as it says on page 550 CRB item 3 in the chart. "3 An item that does not take up one of the spaces on a body costs double.". Table: Estimating Magic Item Gold Piece Values

Now, we only have 1 amulet slot and 2 ring slots per Pathfinder, but we've all seen people with multiple rings on their fingers, or wearing more than 1 necklace at a time. It's easily plausible. But is it acceptable for me to do?

I'm basically asking if by the rules of magic items, if I can free up the requirement of it "using a slot" stated under Arcane Bond. I'm in no way trying to get out of wearing the item, only leaving the slot open.

To me, the rules of Arcane Bond are so lop-sided towards you taking a familiar. If the familiar dies, nothing bad happens, you an cast spells, you can replace it or not.. But for an object, it takes up a slot while you have it, concentration checks to cast any spells if you lose it, and you have to replace it or your casting is never certain. I just want to level the playing field a little by making the item not use a slot.

Is that fair?


Flite: Look at how Clouded Vision curse is worded.

Clouded Vision: Your eyes are obscured, making it difficult for you to see. You cannot see anything beyond 30 feet, but you can see as if you had darkvision. At 5th level, this distance increases to 60 feet. At 10th level, you gain blindsense out to a range of 30 feet. At 15th level, you gain blindsight out to a range of 15 feet.

Note:
but you can see 'as if' you had darkvision
Whereas later in the power:
you gain blindsense
you gain blindsight

That's pretty clear that you do not 'gain darkvision', but see 'as if' you had darkvision.
Therefore, you would not qualify for Deepsight.
Even if your race had 60' darkvision to begin with, you would never see past that 60' limitation without deity intervention. Heck, you wouldn't see past 30' until lvl 5.


FLite wrote:
CrazyElf wrote:


I'd say no, for the same reason that an oracle with Clouded Vision doesn't have darkvision. "As if" would be the key phrase.

So if a feat had a prereq "darkvision" would you say the oracle could not take that feat? Do you have a ruling for that? Ususally when they say

"as if" it means that this thing acts in all ways as if you had the other thing.

Read this thread

It doesn't say it grants or gains darkvision, it says you see as if you had darkvision.


You can at 8th level standard druid. Your while shape works as BEAST SHAPE III and you can start doing magical beasts.
Your wild shape gets more powerful as you advance in levels.


You people are funny.

I think they proved their point that since you can't 'disarm' a person who has no weapon in their hands; you can't 'trip' a person who is already prone; you can't bull rush a target who is standing in the corner of a room; you can't sunder and item on a naked person.

AoO happens BEFORE the action that initiates the AoO. Thus, until that person pulls out a weapon, stands up, gets out of the corner, or puts on an item/weapon.. you can't 'succeed' at an attempt that the person doesn't qualify for. You can do other actions that they qualify for, such as a grapple, or just hit them, include them in a cleave if you want.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Life for an adventurer is hard.. when in doubt, toss them a bone. Then have a hoarde of angry dire wolfs chasing that bone. ;) j/k.
It's the lower price.


I'd say CL1 unless you have a higher CL from a class. It's the general norm for traits.


FLite wrote:

Interesting question:

If an SLA has a metamagic effect applied to it, what spell level does it count as for for prerequisite.

For example, Teifling with the prolong magic trait.

Teifling has darkness as a SLA. = can cast level 2 spells.
Prolong magic, teifling's spell like ability acts as it affected by "extend" metamagic feat.

Extend spell says the spell uses a spell slot one level higher.

Does that mean the teifling counts as being able to cast level 3 spells?

I'd say no, for the same reason that an oracle with Clouded Vision doesn't have darkvision. "As if" would be the key phrase.


A wizards bonded object uses a slot if it's a ring or an amulet.
If the item were say a "Hand of the Mage" amulet, and I paid double because "An item that does not take up one of the spaces on a body costs double", would it then no longer use up a space on the body?

I'm thinking it would.


I'm no expert, but I read it as AND, not OR.
So the 1st Caster's Tower, AND 1st Library, AND 1st Magic Shop. Any additional ones ones would cost normal price.


The text of the Dazzling Display feat says:
Dazzling Display (Combat)
Your skill with your favored weapon can frighten enemies.
Prerequisite: Weapon Focus, proficiency with the selected weapon.
Benefit: While wielding the weapon in which you have Weapon Focus, you can perform a bewildering show of prowess as a full-round action. Make an Intimidate check to demoralize all foes within 30 feet who can see your display.

From Order of the Cockatrice
Braggart (Ex): At 2nd level, the cavalier can spend a standard action to extol his own accomplishments and battle prowess. He receives Dazzling Display as a bonus feat. He does not need a weapon in hand to use this ability. The cavalier receives a +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against demoralized targets.

So to answer your question:
Dazzling Display is only taken ONCE(or in the case of the Order of the Cockatrice, you get it for free @ 2nd level)
Order of the Cockatrice ability allows you can use Dazzling Display with no weapon in hand. (normally you'd need to have Weapon Focus (Unarmed) to use Dazzling Display while unarmed)
However, if you have a weapon in hand, you'd have to have the Weapon Focus feat for that specific weapon to use Dazzling Display.


OK. I guess it all makes more sense to me now.
It was feeling more unbalanced in my mind than I guess it really was.
Thanks everyone!


There is nothing about only an owner can open the haversack. I can also see how the design of the haversack is very vague so it would be a GM decision as to whether or not a familiar would be able to open/slip into it. However, that actually brings up another point.

The haversack bags behave like bags of holding. Bags of holding can be punctured from inside or outside. There is a reference to putting a living creature inside a bag how long it would live, but you'd also have to protect the bag from the creatures talons/claws/teeth/etc. as they are sharp objects they could pierce the bag; thus destroying it and all items and creatures contained within.


Claxon wrote:
How about you just use a familiar satchel?

Our group only uses Core & APG, so a familiar satchel wouldn't be available. But thank you for that information, I'll have to pass that by our GM.


The reasons/problems I see with this are the following:
1. The haversack is closed, with buckles. It requires a move action by the owner to retrieve anything out of it. It would make sense to require at least a move action to put something into it. No-one walks around with a backpack open, otherwise things will fall out. Which means if they are going to leave it open so that a familiar can get into/out of it; anytime he/she bends over or falls down, or even while riding a horse, it would stand to reason that anything inside the haversack could potentially fall out. The only familiar I'd say could easily do the buckles themselves would be the monkey, but then once inside, the haversack is now open until the master closes it.

2. The familiar is sentient and bound to the wizard, with communication and also providing benefits. If it's inside the haversack, it would be completely cut off from the wizard, unable to communicate with it as it's in an extra dimensional space, with limited air, and unable to get out on it's own.

3. I could see it as a safe place, however, If the magic item is destroyed or broken, the familiar could be irrevocably lost or destroyed.

4. The familiar is sentient, with feelings/emotions. It might not like the idea of being essentially caged, completely vulnerable and disconnected from his master.

5. The familiar has to be at least 5th level to communicate with the master, until then all you have is an emotional bond. How is the master supposed to communicate with the familiar where it is going, or where he wants it to go, or anything else? You can't even have the discussion with the familiar til 5th level.

6. I'm also seeing this as kind of a way to auto-deny the GM attacking the familiar. The alternative choice is a bonded item, which has to be worn, and could be stolen, broken, or destroyed.


What would you say about a familiar diving or running into a handy haversack on his masters back on its own accord? Do you think this is viable?
Would it require the master to waste a full round action to place it into the haversack?
Would the familiar even go willingly into it?


Liberty's Edge 5/5

Title should maybe be "Why force the fun to end?"

So why not continue the campaign as normal, but make 2nd edition into another option to play? Like have 1e, 2e, and core. There has been mentions of conversions between the rules being possible. You could sell 2 versions of the same product. People might complain about paying twice, but probably less than the number complaining about 1e ending. If you make converting a volunteer position like VA, VL or such then the most work Paizo would have to do would be reviewing a conversion and small edits. It would also open up the door to converting old seasons, which doubles the number of products you already have. Seems silly to toss out the old for the new, when you can have both.

I would happily play both, but won't know if I will ever happily play 2e since it seems to be killing 1e.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Are any of the boons from 1st edition going to have any effect in 2nd? Talking race boons or any others be it hellbound, haunted, or mounted tradition. On the same note will the Gencon boon for this year have any effect in 2nd edition? I know it sounds selfish, but I would rather not gm for a boon that I'm not going to use.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hello,
I hope I am not the only one who thought the original chronicle sheet for #9-09 Beyond the Halflight Path is well... poorly formatted, and could use some improvement. The thought occurred to me that each path has its loot outlined and could be separated out on the chronicle sheet for easier marking. I took the time to make an example of this, and was wondering if the official one could be modified to something similar for easier filling. Example Sheet. Sorry if this isn't something to be discussed in this forum. It just seemed like something that should be brought up.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Noticed that the additional resources says: "Equipment: anything found on pages 28-29 and clockwork bug, clockwork prosthesis, mind buttressing, poisoning, saline purge, and serpentine tattoo are not legal for play;".

Does this mean that the rest of the equipment is legal in the book?

Asking because other books read:"All items in this book are legal for play except"

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Sign up here.

An investigation of the Lost Coast's most notorious haunted mansion sets the heroes on the trail of a cult of serial murderers called the Skinsaw Men.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Trying this again. Sign up here.

City of Golden Death:
In the center of Lake Encarthan looms the dreaded Isle of Terror, accursed land of mystery and treachery. Hidden within the island's negative energy storms, the secret treasure city of the wizard-king Tar-Baphon has lain sealed for centuries. Now masked cultists have opened the golden city of Xin-Grafar to claim the wealth of the legendary city for the Living God Razmir. Can the PCs track the cultists through the poisoned swamps and blasted wastelands of the Isle of Terror to the City of Golden Death itself? And what forgotten dangers will oppose them as they struggle to prevent a dark faith from spreading across the world?

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Sign up Here
I know this is kind of late notice, but lets see if it can work.

City of Golden Death:
In the center of Lake Encarthan looms the dreaded Isle of Terror, accursed land of mystery and treachery. Hidden within the island's negative energy storms, the secret treasure city of the wizard-king Tar-Baphon has lain sealed for centuries. Now masked cultists have opened the golden city of Xin-Grafar to claim the wealth of the legendary city for the Living God Razmir. Can the PCs track the cultists through the poisoned swamps and blasted wastelands of the Isle of Terror to the City of Golden Death itself? And what forgotten dangers will oppose them as they struggle to prevent a dark faith from spreading across the world?

Liberty's Edge 5/5

In the additional resources page, the Giant Hunter's Handbook says, "Misc: the new skill options on page 11 will be covered in a future blog. Until that time, they are not legal for play". Did that blog ever occur? If so can somebody link it? I want to hide behind the raging half-orc.