![]() ![]()
![]() I'm in a gaming group and we typically limit the books we can use to only Core & Advanced. I've been thinking of making an Arcane Trickster and wanted to do something besides Wizard/Rogue. I became interested in Witch/Rogue. Witch unfortunately doesn't have Mage Hand. Could I use Rogue trick: Minor Magic to get Mage Hand and make this combination work? ![]()
![]() We'll agree to disagree I guess. I feel your completely ignoring the "or effect" part of that description. Granted, it doesn't say 'effective level', but I feel that's what was intended.. otherwise why put the "or effect" in there at all, as all spells have levels? Furthermore: Since it doesn't say 'effective level of the caster' on wand creation, it just says: 375 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster
![]()
![]() So.. your claiming a Level 1 wand of fireball. 5d6 fireball: DC 10+3+1 (13 int = +1) = DC14.
Whereas.. I read it as EFFECT having changed from 5d6 to 10d6, therefore, it's being cast as a 10th lvl effect. Thus, it scales (which would explain more as to why it's so much more costly)
![]()
![]() I'd go back and re-read that if I were you.
The only difference between casting it as a spell and putting that same spell in a wand is as a spell, you get your full INT bonus to the Save DC, whereas in a wand, you only get the minimum required to cast the spell. ![]()
![]() Actually.. let me change that slightly, as to my chagrin, I used Magic Missile which doesn't have a saving throw. LOL. Lets use Color Spray instead. Same level, same modifiers. However, Say the mage has a 18 INT. (+4)
So.. A lvl 1 wand would be DC 10+1 (minimum) +1 (you need a minimum IQ of 1). So DC=12
![]()
![]() It is. The rules for creating magic items are here, look under wand:
But to sum it up: 375 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster Pre-made/found wands are assumed to require the minimum caster level required to cast the spell. However, if you use a higher level to gain more effectiveness, then the price obviously becomes higher as it's factored into the equation. And wand save DC's are based on the spells casting level, which is whatever level used to make the wand. A 5th lvl mage could make a wand of magic missiles as a 1st lvl caster and the cost would be 375gpx1x1 = 375gp. The wand would shoot 1 magic missile. However, if he created it as a 5th lvl mage, it would be 375x1x5 = 1875gp. And the wand would fire 3 missiles. ![]()
![]() I disagree with the disagree. Total Concealment usually gives a 50% miss chance, and that's what the spell is referring to.. it never says it actually gives total concealment, in fact, it specifically says you can target the creature normally. Similar to how an Oracle with the sight curse can see 'as if they had darkvision'.. but they don't actually gain darkvision, so they don't qualify for feats were darkvision is a requirement. Displacement
![]()
![]() Well, I was originally using it along with GangUp.. The two fighters were holding the line, I'd move up, attack (getting my sneak attack), and then teleport 2 spaces back out of their reach. A bit cowardly.. but I don't have the HP they do. heh. I was hoping to setup something for 'on my own'. Improved Feint is a wonderful thing for a rogue! ![]()
![]() I thought under the perception rules, if we were in combat (ie. distracted) they would have to at least make a perception roll to notice me. Cause they were expecting an attack from the front not from behind. But I see what your saying about the facing rules. Oh well.. it was a nice idea while it lasted. ![]()
![]() cwslyclgh wrote: (note that in the case of obscuring mist, the opponent would have partial concealment from the rogue as well, which would mean that no sneak attack was possible). Unless you have the Shadow Strike feat.. Which would allow you to deal precision damage (sneak attack) if someone has concealment. Shadow Strike (Combat)
![]()
![]() 4th lvl Teleportation School Wizard/1st lvl Rogue Move action: moves up to target
The Swift action teleport doesn't provoke an AOO, however, would this count as a sneak attack as the target wouldn't know where I was as I disappeared right in front of him? Or would a perception check be needed to realize I teleported right behind him? If so, not exactly sure what parameters would be needed for the perception check. ![]()
![]() During our gaming session today, we had an issue where one of our party didn't want to stop attacking the enemy, and one of the casters took away his ability to move in to attack them using "Forbid Action". The forbidden action in this case was the MOVE action, the targetted PC failed his will save, couldn't move, then drew his bow and fired on the other PC, rather than his original target. The target of Forbid Action was a barbarian who was raging, if this matters.
Quote:
Needless to say: Some questions were raised during this. First: Is it an attack on the character?
Secondly: Does the target know a spell was cast on them?
Third: Since this was a language dependent spell: Does the target know WHO cast the spell on them?
Fourth: This is just a clarification: If the spell wasn't language dependent, would this have changed the answers to the above questions at all? ![]()
![]() You might be holding a 2H weapon in 1H, however, the weapon is completely unusable in that fashion unless your of Large size or better. For a medium creature, you HAVE to have your second hand on it in order to use it properly. So in effect, your just carrying the weapon in 1H, much like your scabbard is carrying your weapon. Draw is the closest thing that effectively works for 'readying' the weapon for use in combat, therefore, a move action. ![]()
![]() Personally, it sounds like your trying to abuse the system and get the benefits of x1.5 STR modifier AND qualify for your feats by having 1 hand free at the exact same time. At the very least I'd impose an entangled penalty to you as your now off-balanced holding a greatsword in 1 hand while trying to perform martial arts maneuvers. ![]()
![]() Can we can an OFFICIAL ruling on this? We are constantly discussing/arguing about this very thing in my group. As we have multiple GM's and rotate through games, the rules keep changing depending on whose game we're running.. which gets annoying/confusing. Our basic question boils down to: When do you apply the range penalties of 1/10' to perception checks?
Lets also assume an open field (no obstructions).
Person A says:
Person B says:
------------------
Person A has also argued that human vision, conservatively, has a 3 miles range. But at 1 mile, the range penalties would be -528 by person B's way of doing it. PLEASE HELP! Who's interpretation is correct: A or B? ![]()
![]() I completely disagree. There is no "feat action". As referenced in the combat section: THESE are the acceptable "standard actions", and not once is 'feat action' mentioned; a feat might make you use a standard action, but that standard action your using will be 'attack'.
|