As always, here is my honest and refreshingly candid opinion. Resonance needs a great deal of work, I.e. it down right sucks. My main reasoning for that is this, several items , like Slippers of Spider Climb, must be invested and then only ever give a benefit after another totally separate RP is spent; no primary benefit. IMHO, these items are not worth much and seem like the Pathfinder developers were nerfing for the sake of nerfing. Lastly, the Alchemist should be completely severed from dependency on RP. Another nerf for the sake of nerfing.
We will be running a full Pathfinder Society Convention on 5-6 November 2016 with 20 Table/Events. All events are free (courtesy of the Historic Haven; thanks Gene and Steve). The big highlight of this Con is that we will be running 6-00 Legacy of the Stonelords, a convention special, as well as, many exclusive 4/5 Star/VO run scenarios.
Sign up in Meetup for the slots available on 5 and 6 November 2016. Slots are going fast so sign up early.
Any questions, please contact me at my Meetup.com account (via the messenger). Also see the following link: http://www.meetup.com/Frederick-RPG-Consortium/events/233665082/ or http://paizo.com/events/v5748mkg0bmc6#newPost
Players die, it is a part of the game. Players die for various reasons. The number one reason that I have found is nothing but pure luck, dice rolls/aka critical hits. I roll all dice that the players are aware of in front of everyone (I have recently asked players to roll dice for me in front of all players). The chips fall where they fall and X3 Critical Hit weapons will usually kill on a confirmed critical hit. The second reason, that I have found, as to why players die is that they separate from the party for whatever reason and run into a second encounter. Bad move that usually results in death.
My last game was me and 3 other level 6's, a level 2 and a level 1. Played the subtier 6-7 on a tier 1-7. Everything went fine, and the 1st level still proved useful. It helped that two of the 6th level characters were focused on bodyguarding, and the mission was a fairly easy one, but there's nothing wrong with playing up.
Thistle, I don't think that was quite legal. I don't think a 1st or 2nd Level can play a 6-7 subtier in a >2 tiered scenario as per below:
"Some scenarios or special events offer more than two subtiers. In these cases, no PC can play at a subtier more than 1 step away from her
You might want to talk with your GM a bit as those players could have problems later on if their Chronicle sheets are examined. Just trying to save you some later on drama.
Michael Brock wrote:
As always, Mike B., your input is greatly appreciated. Thanks for the info.
I have one of the players donate a d20 to me (everyone rolls a d20 and highest is asked to donate) for the game. Then I have everyone roll another d20 and the highest gets to roll for me for rolls that the players are aware of in full view of the table. I am never accused of cheating and get to enjoy the sad look on the PCs faces when their buddy rolls 2-3 crits in a row in full view of everyone (for some reason it works out that way). one of the bad guys (aka a PC rolling for me) scored 4 crits in a row once. Nasty.
Squirrel King wrote:
"Notice the reciprocal relationship between the topic sentence and the rest of the paragraph. The first sentence forecasts the content of the proceeding sentences and the proceeding sentences develop the content of the topic sentence."
I think that when we are arguing grammar (where nosig is clearly wrong) instead of the original subject then it is time to retire.
This sentence, "As a Pathfinder Society GM, you have the right and responsibility to make whatever calls you feel are necessary at your table to ensure that everyone has a fair and fun experience.
also contradicts this sentence,"This does not mean you can contradict rules or restrictions outlined in this document, a published Pathfinder Roleplaying Game source, errata document, or official FAQ on paizo.com, but only you can judge what is right at your table for cases not covered in these sources."
Not out of context. The first sentence contradicts all the proceeding text.
Yurius Papers wrote:
I agree with the second statement with regards to CON play. I agree with the first statement when playing with a table of regular players at our weekly game.
These 2 statements seem to contradict each other:
Page 34 1st Column: "As a Pathfinder Society GM, you have the right and responsibility to make whatever calls you feel are necessary at your table to ensure that everyone has a fair and fun experience."
Page 34 2nd Column: "Scenarios are to be run as written, with no addition or subtraction to number of monsters, or changes to stats, feats, spells, skills or any other mechanics of the scenario. GMs may use other Pathfinder RPG sources to add flavor to the scenario, but may not change the mechanics of encounters."
Aqueous Orb has been great. Lots of scenarios take place on ships. Place BBEG is Orb and launch over the side of the ship (holding him there so you can get his stuff), kill his pals, kill him and fish him out. The Pit spells are also quite effective. They are quite hard to get out of.
We have a cleric in our group who constantly readies silence spells for nasty spellcasters (casting it at their feet; no save and ruining the spell they were getting ready to cast).
Here is my 2 cents:
Feats: Rapid Shot (from Musket Master), Extra Grit, Point Blank Shot, Precise Shot, Rapid Shot, Deadly Aim
Skill Training: Acrobatics (5 Ranks), Craft Alchemy (1 Rank), Heal (4 Ranks), Perception (5 Ranks), Sleight of Hand (5 Ranks), Stealth (5 Ranks), Survival (5 Ranks).
Items: +1 Musket, +1 Leather, +2 Belt of Incredible Dexterity, Alchemical Cartridge (paper)(as many as you can carry).
Future Feats: Vital Strike.
Overall the Musket Master can out DPR most of the other firearm builds and by 3rd level he can reload as a swift action with alchemical cartridges.
Actually, the text on Pg. 23 states, "When playing YOUR OWN character (I.e. not a pre-gen) all conditions (including death) not resolved within the scenario or module carry beyond the end of the adventure."
Thus the confusion pertaining to a pre-gen remains as it is clearly not YOUR OWN character. This does not clear up this conundrum. The question still remains, Shall a pre-gen resolve death at the time and date of play or does the player resolve the death upon the point of applying the chronicle to THEIR OWN character?
The only person that can resolve this issue is Mr. Brock. And the guide clearly needs to be changed to make all this more clear.
Let me start off this diatribe with a reference to 3 different rules from the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play (GtPSOP):
1) When playing your own character, all conditions (including death) not resolved within the scenario or module carry beyond the end of the adventure. Pg. 23.
2) If you play a non-1st-level pregenerated character, you may apply the credit to your character as soon as she reaches the level of the pregenerated character played. Equipment listed on the pregenerated character sheet may only be sold to clear conditions, such as death, during the play of the module and any remaining gold does not carry over at the end of the module. Pg. 29
3) A player who uses a pregenerated character must apply the Chronicle sheet to a newly created 1st-level character or hold the Chronicle sheet until his character reaches the level of the pregenerated character. Pg. 29
What does this all mean? 1) You should (during games in which I DM, a player shall) designate the character that the Chronicle is going to be applied to (i.e. either the pre-gen or a character that is not the level of the pre-gen and is not legal for the current Mod/Scenario). 2) All conditions acquired during the Mod/Scenario are included in this Chronicle Sheet and shall be resolved, as if your actual Character had played the mod. 3) If the pre-gen died, then the death condition is applied to the Chronicle Sheet and shall be resolved. Two options exist at this point in accordance with #3 (Pg. 29 GtPSOP), you can apply the Chronicle to a newly created 1st Level character who immediately gains the death condition and, for all purposes, is permanently dead because said 1st level character does not have the resources to be raised. Or, you can apply the Chronicle to a designated character who will gain the death condition when they reach the level of the pre-gen and receive the Chronicle Sheet. At that point, a raise dead (or equivalent) must be paid for (with either gold or PP) to eliminate said condition. For example, a player makes use of a 4th level pre-gen who dies in the Midnight Mirror Sanctioned Module. Pretty much the only option is to apply the Chronicle sheet to a designated character of 1st or 2nd level character (since a 3rd+ level character would have had to play in the mod since they were legal). When the 1st or 2nd level character reaches 4th level (the level of the pre-gen), said character would have to "pay" for a raise dead and would note so on the Chronicle sheet. Hopefully, this clears things up.
Kurt Schaecher wrote:
Here is the link to my website we use for scheduling.http://www.meetup.com/Frederick-RPG-Consortium/
We use MeetUp, which allows us to plan out events on a calender, schedule DMs in advance, and limit attendance to match the number of DMs that we have scheduled (the big rate limiting factor).
There is no general rule for consuming an action to make a saving throw. Unless otherwise stated (such as with Hold Person) attempting a saving throw when prompted consumes no action.
Yes, yes, yes, I get that. Why do they use the word "MAY"? Sorry, but this is the rules lawyer and military officer in me that find words and their use very important. The use of this word is very troubling and probably should be changed to shall (meaning something you must do; and, yes, I get that you can choose to fail a save, but that is after you have to attempt one. You just choose to fail the attempt.).
hello, my name is ninja wrote:
Well, even if you did have to make the save you can choose to fails saves voluntarily, so it's somewhat of a moot point.
that is not the point here. The point is does the words MAY ATTEMPT mean that a save is attempted with the use of an action. Very important, someone who is trapped can still take actions within the sphere (albeit very impaired).
The spell Aqueous Orb (APG) states: "Creatures within the orb MAY attempt a new Reflex save each round to escape into a random square adjacent to the aqueous orb."
The use of the word MAY implies a choice or perhaps an action to be taken. Is this true or should the wording be changed to "Creatures within the orb shall attempt a new Reflex save each round..."
You do realize that this is a living campaign with specific rules for character creation and administration. If its legal, its legal and there is really nothing you can do about it. Not sure why you feel you need to "deal" with them. Some people like the combat aspect of the game more than the roleplaying aspect. What is wrong with that? Some people like ketchup on pizza, is that wrong because you might not like it? If you don't like running for these people or playing with them, then stop playing a living campaign and start a home game with ultra restrictive character creation and administration rules.
Just wanted to give everyone a heads up that we are running games at the Historic Haven in Frederick, MD, usually 3 Sundays/month. So far, we have run 8 games in the last 2 months (not bad for beginning) with full tables for every game. We are always looking for new folks to join in from around the area. We get players from PA, Baltimore, Frederick, DC Metro area, and VA. Here is a link to our website:
Any questions, get in contact with me.