Hobgoblin Commander

Arcaneumkiller's page

Organized Play Member. 33 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.




1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi everyone,

I wanted to confirm if I understood correctly;

For example Yoon from the Mummy's Mask Set has a power on her character card:

You may recharge ([] or shuffle into your deck) a blessing to add your Fortitude skill and the Fire trait to your combat check.

So my question is;

Using this power on my combat check, does it make my check a Fortitude check as well ?


Hi everyone, just a small question, about the Armor [Commander's Field Plate] in Wrath of the Righteous (Adventure deck number 2); Is it possible that there is an error in its powers ?

===

(The card powers)

When another character at your location would encounter a monster on [YOUR] turn, you may discard this card to encounter that monster instead.

...

===

Shouldn't it say; when another character...on [His] turn, you may discard...

[HIS] or [HER] whichever, instead of [YOUR] turn. It just seem extremely situational, like it barely ever happens.

Thank you in advance


Hi,

My friend and I are arguing over the rule about playing 2 weapon on a check.

my friend understand that;

Main-Gauche powers;

[If you played a weapon that has the 2-handed trait on this check, you may not play this card.]

So, since he did not play a 2-handed weapon on his combat check , he can play this weapon in addition to a the other 1-hand weapon.

I told him it refers to the 2nd effect recharging this card to reduce Combat damage.


Sorry if my post is repetitive, my friend insisted that I ask to be sure;

I just want to confirm that detect evil, works the same way as Magic Detect, meaning that when Alahazra power examine 1 addtionnal card, that the additional card return on top, then the first card can be encountered if it is a monster. Or if Alahazra, can encounter the 2nd card if it is a monster.

Thank you in advance


Hello, me again, I believe I know the answer but we also can't agree on the latter, so if someone could confirm please.

Thank you in advance

Blessing of Nethys
Discard this card to examine the top 2 card of your location deck, put them back in any order, then explore your location.

Alahazra (Class Deck)
POWERS
When you examine 1 or more cards from a character or location deck, you may examine an additional card.

SEER'S HEADDRESS (Item/ Promo Card)
When you examine the top card of any deck, recharge this card to examine the bottom card of that deck.

Questions;
1- Does BO Nethys effect (..put them back in any order...) includes the 3rd card examined on top? (Or does the 3rd card examined on top return on top, then the first 2, in any order).

2a- Can Alahazra add her power multiple time in a chain of effect; Can Alahazra examine top 2 (Bo Nethys) + 1 (Alahazra power) then Seer's Headdress examine bottom card + 1 (Alahazra power) ?

2b- And if 1 & 2 is yes;
Does Bo Nethys affects the the order of the bottom cards as well ?

2c- And If all the above is yes, and Bo Nethys affects the order of all cards examined (top and bottom); If the top 3 cards are (A, B and C), and the bottom 2 cards are (Y and Z).

Can Alahazra put Y at the top and and B at the Bottom ?

3- Finally, Does the exploration of BoNethys happens before the examining of the bottom card(s) ?

Up until now, the player at my table playing Alahazra have been doing all the above. (Except for (2c); Bringing a card on top at the bottom vice versa).


Fog Bank
At this Location
After you play a card of use a power that examine cards in this location deck, shuffle it.

Blessing of Nethys
POWERS
...
Discard this card to examine the top 2 cards of your location deck, put them back in any order, then explore your location.

We have been arguing about the effects of both card.

1- Blessing of Nethys makes player examine 2 top card of his location deck, then;

-- Fog Bank interrupts --

Shuffle the location deck, then explore the location.

2- Blessing of nethys makes player examine 2 top card - then explore the location (preventing the shuffle)

3- Shuffle is delayed; Examine 2 top card, explore, then shuffle location deck.


Hello everyone.

My friend and I have been arguing over this for a few games so I thought I would ask here.

Alahazra has a power which enables you to examine 1 additional card whenever you examine card(s).

Magic Detect, makes you examine the top card of the location deck, and if that card has the magic trait or is a blessing you may encounter it.For the sake of example, the 2 top card on the location deck are spells.

1- Alahazra examine both card, and encounters both card senquentially in the order the player chooses

2- Alahazra examine both card and encounter only 1 of those card, of the player choosing

3- Alahazra examine both card and encounter only the first card drawn.

4 - Alahazra examine the first card - encounter the 1st card, after the encounter, examine (the additional card) and encounter it.

5- Alahazra examine the first card - encounter it then examine the 2nd card only.


Hello,

OK so on Nyctessa Role card (UNDEAD MASTER side), the 3rd power reads as follow;

____________________________________________________________________
Once per turn, if you are required to remove cards from your deck and you don't have enough, you do not die ([] and you may reset your hand from your discard pile).
____________________________________________________________________

It's the 2nd part in the parentheses, I understand 2 different thing;

1- Only when you would be require to remove card from your deck and are unable to and did not die because of this power, at that moment you may reset your hand - from your discard pile.

or

2- At the end of your turn, and or whenever you are required to reset your hand (as when forced to by the effect of a location or a bane), independently of if you have enough card in your deck or not, you may choose to reset your hand from your discard pile.

2nd Question; When you do reset your hand from your discard pile; Do you get to choose which card you put back in your hand ?

Or its basically the last card discarded, which would be the one on top of your discard pile, and going down (same as when drawing from the deck) ?

Thank you in advance.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi everyone, so a few months ago, my friends came to me and ask if I would be interested in playing Pathfinder, said yes, we all sat at the table and roll our attributes and all, but we never got to fully finish our character. We had to delay the game for months now, but I think we may be able to start in the next month or so.

Anyways, long story short. I am hoping to create this character (the game will be set in a Japanese-style setting. My character is a Dhampir, the GM already agreed to it, no problem. I roll for the background and everything. Background I roll is that my Parent is nobility, and my mother is Dead. I ask if it the same if my character is convince she is but maybe she isn't, could be a plot twist for my character later on... The GM was ok with it. Anyways, my initial story was that my character was a samurai at the service of a Daimyō (his father), I should say was as he's no longer at his service, he is a Ronin now, and he joined a temple whose underground serve as a base of operation for witchhunters - Particularly Vampire Hunter, which my character joinsed.

Now what I was going for is a Batman meets jack the ripper, sort of hunter, I don't just hunt the the bloodsucking fiend but I prey upon them, leave behind a message, a calling card of sort like a serial killer, fill the Vampire Nobility, and those who serves them with dread. Anyways. I was having a bit of difficulty joining my concept of samurai, with his alter ego, I initially thought that since it was set in Japanese like setting and I wanted my character to be a master of the Katana, that it would make sense that my character b or have been a samurai.

Anyhow, reading about the all classes this afternoon, I came upon the Vigilante Class, I had seen one such character in some images and read a little about him (the Red Raven) thought he was really cool, but I was unaware that vigilante was an actual class. So I got to reading about it, and its Class Skills and Features, and then I saw the archetypes, and I got a little loss, so that is why I am here, to ask if some of you Gentlemen, or ladies would be so kind as to share some of your wisdom and knowledge about how to best get to creating the charcter I have in mind.

So my character (apparence wise) started with the Batman villain; Talon, he is an Assassin of the Court of Owl - A Secret Society that is the architect of almost anythign that happens everywhere. Anyways, so an assassin, and the theme of the Owl, I wanted to keep that. As a symbol of Natural predator of bats - I know its cliche and cheesy, but I like it. Anyways, His vigilante name would be the Grey Owl, he would look something like a cross between an assassin from Assassin's creed and a Samurai, or now I guess a Japanese style armor. At his side his trusted and fearless companion a Eurasian eagle-owl. For weapon, I was thinking since a common theme of samurai, and superstition was that a Sword can be made corrupted or evil or if made by or with evil intent be curse, I thought my character katana is a Demon sword, (was also inspired by the Anime - Owari no seraph). My GM agreed but for obvious reason, my character cannot start with such a powerful weapon, I am ok with that. He wears a mask to protect his Identity and also inspired by the demon mask the samurai are often depicted wearing. He wears a wooden mask that cover all his face like Vega from Street Fighter, the mask would look very much the same as the Court of OWl mask, except made from wood, texture I imagine it would look like the Mask from the Movie the Mask. He would also wear a cloak with a hood, and light or medium armor, not sure in what category samurai armor falls into.

In term of skills, I see him as a master stalker, following his prey unotice in the shadow, like batman would. who has absolutely no regards for the safety of other vampire, they will all die, but he understand that there are priority, and ins't delusional or blind thinking he can take all of them head on. So he preys upon the predator and the hunter becomes the hunted, when he sees a vampire approaching a human, he strike with deadly intent, *not sure if vampire disintegrate in Pathfinder upon death* hoping they don't so he can leave their bloody corpses for the authority and other vampire to find.

So by day, he is a rich brat, son of a Vampire Count, a little prince so to speak, socializing with human and vampire nobility, and by night he preys upon the latter, but also on those who would serve them.

So I was reading the archetype and I saw the Magical Child (I think it was called), it was written that Vigilante of that archetype begins play with an animal companion like a druid. I thought he might need to be that archetype, but then I read about the faceless and I think it also fits my character, and the Serial Killer archetype, I think would fit the glove nicely too, but it was also written that you cannot take archetype that overlap on what they alter and I think some of the alteration of these archetype overlap.

Also I though I would take the Stalker side of the Vigilante from level 1 specialization.

Sorry for the long wall of text. So what would you guys suggest I do ? Also if you guys a better Idea or different class in mind which may be closer to what I wam going for by all means... thank you in advance for helping :)


Hi, everyone.

Sorry if the question sounds too obvious but, I just wanted to confirm with you guys, if you play a boon that add a 1d10 to a stealth check for example.

Can I use that card on a Stealth combat check ?

Because most card specify do specify wether it affect combat or only non-combat check.

But there are a few cards that do not specify wether it affects combat or non-combat checks; Like the Ally;

BURGLAR

Powers
Recharge this card to add 1d10 to your Disable or Stealth check or your check to defeat a barrier.

I have been playing for months now, using the Ally [Burglar] in combo with weapon such as [Blowgun]; which enables me to use my Stealth Skill + 1d4 for my combat check. Was I wrong all that time doing so ?


Hello everyone,

(In Skulls&Shackles) when encountering the card Enemy Ship (Henchman B) card. On the right hand just under the name its says Type underneath it is says Barrier.

1) Does that mean that this card is always treated as a barrier

=====================================================

When encountering the [Henchman B - Enemy Ship], Its first effect is;

Summon and encounter a random ship. If you do not defeat the summoned ship, the Enemy Ship is undefeated.

Which brings me to my 2nd question, for That random ship summoned;

=====================================================

2) Can I use the 2nd effect of the Blessing of Abadar ?;

Discard this card to add 2 dice to any check to defeat a barrier.


Good day,

I have a lot of questions

1) Is is forbidden to skip your turn, can you begin your turn advance the blessing deck, and choose to skip/end your turn/Reset your hand right there.

2) Also, my friend has the Wrath of the Righteous Base set, and sometimes we play with his game and he says that if you choose to skip your turn you get a Peace token and that at the end of the scenario/or if we lose the scenario and you have a peace token, you lose 1 card permennantly from your character's deck, and get to begin 1 card short on the next game. Is that an official ruling ?

Finally, I bought SKull & Shackles about a year ago, fell in love with the game bought the gunslinger class deck, been playing with Skizza love him by the way.

Anyways, I bought Mummy's Mask last week, and I was planning on starting a scenario soon and I was planning on using Seltyiel, from my Skulls & Shackles Base set, am I allowed to do that ?

In the rulebook it says that; certain card from other set may not be as effective - that I understand and I accept the consequence, It also mentions that you are not allowed to swith the role card I am ok with that as well. SO I have a few more questions

3) Is there any official rulling that says its forbidden for me to use a character from a previous Base set into another base set game. (By the way I didn't play with Seltyiel in Skulls & Shackles) I would start with no feats unlock - fresh.

4) About the exchanging of the role card, I understand you cannot switch but what if I decide to play with the same character from a class deck instead, I just have to remove the character from the base set entirely right ?

5) And what if I decide to remove the Alahazra from the mummy's mask base set, and use the character card and role card of the S & S base set, Is there any rulling against that ? isn't the same as using a card from a class deck ?


Hello everyone,

I received my Summoner Class deck a few days ago and I was looking forward to playing Zeta.

I was quite sad when I saw her very first power on her character card that says (Word for word);

______________________

After you play a spell that has the Attack trait, banish it.
______________________

She can use her Cohort for combat but she is rolling only 1 die for combat.

Anyways, my question is; even though it went back into the box because of her Power, can I still attempt to recharge the card I just played.

At first I thought not, but now I have a glimmer of hope because; I came across that page of errata or update on ruling, on this website, a few minutes ago.

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1h4

Its basically under;

Help/Faq

Then in the box on the right hand side of the page (MORE FAQS)

The 8th one;

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Wrath of the Righteous Fri, Oct 7, 2016

Then under Rules Question

The 7th one;

Something made a card go back in the box or into a deck even though there were still things on the card that hadn't been done. Do I still do those things?

Yes.

Resolution: On page 10 of the rulebook, following the paragraph that appears after the bulleted list of actions, add the following: "Cards often have instructions that you need to follow after you play the card; follow these instructions even if the card is no longer in your hand (even if the card is out of your sight, such as in the box or in a deck)."

posted May 2015 | back to top


Hello,

I have read a few thread about this issue. But most answer on them are still not enough to convince me, if anyone here would be able to confirm the following.

Most(if not all spell) card are seperated into 3 sections.

Cost - Effect - Recycle

1- Cost; Discard this card to use your...Arcane/Divine SKill + XdY

which is the cost - Discard to ...

2- Effect [To use your Arcane/Divine Skill] + xdy

3- Recyle - After playing this card, if you do not have the Arcane/dinvine skill banish it; Otherwise succeed a to a Arcane/Divine X check to recharge...

Also what reinfoce my stand on this question is 2 things

First: It says after the effect part - After playing this card which in my opinion means the end of [for its power] which means that you are banishing not for its power, but you are banishing as an effect of not having the required skill to recycle the spell.

Second: On the role card of Damiel (MINDCHEMIST), ...([] or discard) a card...or a spell for its power...

Which in my opinion makes it so that once you unlock/gain/upgrade that power by checking that box you will be able to automatically recharge a spell after playing it, since you are discarding it for its power.