Boon that does not specify combat or non-combat


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hi, everyone.

Sorry if the question sounds too obvious but, I just wanted to confirm with you guys, if you play a boon that add a 1d10 to a stealth check for example.

Can I use that card on a Stealth combat check ?

Because most card specify do specify wether it affect combat or only non-combat check.

But there are a few cards that do not specify wether it affects combat or non-combat checks; Like the Ally;

BURGLAR

Powers
Recharge this card to add 1d10 to your Disable or Stealth check or your check to defeat a barrier.

I have been playing for months now, using the Ally [Burglar] in combo with weapon such as [Blowgun]; which enables me to use my Stealth Skill + 1d4 for my combat check. Was I wrong all that time doing so ?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Arcaneumkiller wrote:

Sorry if the question sounds too obvious but, I just wanted to confirm with you guys, if you play a boon that add a 1d10 to a stealth check for example.

Can I use that card on a Stealth combat check ?

Rules As Written: you most definitely can.

However, make the difference between *using* your skill, and *adding your skill* to a check.

I can't remember the Blowgun wording - but if it says that you can ADD your Stealth skill - that doesn't make your combat check also a Stealth check ("adding a skill" never adds the skill as a trait to the check).

I think there was Summoner Class Deck character that could use Stealth for her combat checks - she would profit a lot from having a Burglar buddy around...


Hi,

thank you for the answer;

Blowgun
======================================================================
Powers

For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Dexterity, Ranged, or Stealth Skill + 1d4, you may additionally recharge this card to add another 1d6.

When playing another weapon that has the Ranged trait, you may discard this card to add 1d4 and the Poison trait to your combat check.
======================================================================

This makes my attack a Dexterity and Stealth Check since I am using Zadim which has Dexterity d8 Stealth: Dexterity +2.

If I know I won't be exploring again, I have a not so bad potentional, I usually go if I have all the card in my hands;

Reveal Blowgun, to use Stealth Skill(1d8(+2)) + 1d4
Recharge Blowgun, for add. 1d6
Recharge Burglar, for add. 1d10

Zadim 2nd Power (which is; You may recharge a card to add your Intelligence Skill to your check that invokes the Poison trait), (Intelligence = d8), for add 1d8

I also use Zadim 3rd Power (which is; You may discard a weapon that does not have the 2-Handed trait to add your Stealth Skill to a combat check by a character at your location). for add. 1d8(+2)

Plus if I also have my trusty armor; Stalking Armor (which does; (2nd effect) Reveal this card to add 2 to your Stealth or Perception check). for an add. (+2)

End result; I roll 1d10 + 3d8(+6) +1d6 + 1d4, lol its a minimum of 12.
And it is even more if I and/or other player(s) play a blessing.
(+ 1d8 or 2d8 and/or more depending on which and how many blessing played).


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yup, the above is correct (though you won't be able to use Stalker Armor to prevent damage if you fail - as you already played an Armor on the check, when you revealed it for +2)

...Also, it may seem like a powerful combo, but it requires a hand of 5 cards, 4 of them specific, 2 of which are Weapons that leave your hand. This most likely leaves you without further explores and/or combat capabilities, so depending on where you are in the scenario it may or may not be the wisest play.


Which also means that the Card;

Potion of Hiding, is extremely powerful in combo with any character using a boon or power which enables him/her to use his/her Stealth skill + 1d(#) for his/her combat check like with Blowgun.

Potion of Hiding

Powers

Banish this card and choose a character at your location to succeed at a stealth check.

(I also have Alchemist's Kit)

Powers

Display this card, while displayed, when you would banish a card that has the Alchemical trait for its power, discard it instead.

You have displayed Alchemist's Kit on the table.

You simply reveal blowgun, and then discard Potion of Hiding, boom instant kill of any monster/henchen/villain who is not immune to poison in this case (since Blowgun has the poison trait).

And :) Zadim 5th Power on his role card (Side/Role: Executioner);

You may ignore a monster's immunity to the poison trait.

Meme: Green Power Ranger evil laugh lol


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Arcaneumkiller wrote:

Which also means that the Card;

Potion of Hiding, is extremely powerful in combo with any character using a boon or power which enables him/her to use his/her Stealth skill + 1d(#) for his/her combat check like with Blowgun.

Potion of Hiding

Powers

Banish this card and choose a character at your location to succeed at a stealth check.

(I also have Alchemist's Kit)

Powers

Display this card, while displayed, when you would banish a card that has the Alchemical trait for its power, discard it instead.

You have displayed Alchemist's Kit on the table.

You simply reveal blowgun, and then discard Potion of Hiding, boom instant kill of any monster/henchen/villain who is not immune to poison in this case (since Blowgun has the poison trait).

And :) Zadim 5th Power on his role card (Side/Role: Executioner);

You may ignore a monster's immunity to the poison trait.

Meme: Green Power Ranger evil laugh lol

Seems legit for now. There was a (short-lived) rule in WotR saying "You can never automatically succeed at a combat check." which was a bit problematic. Mike and Vic were working on rewording it, but it appears that Mummy's Mask omitted the rule entirely (not even a reword is present). Whether this is a reversal of intent or just an oversight, I'm not sure.


Oh!, well I wish someone from the staff could share their opinion on that, If that rule is still valid, then I will not use the Item for that purpose. I don't like cheating. I guessed it would make sense that you can't do that, but a small part of me still hope that It may now be accepted/legal.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Boon that does not specify combat or non-combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.