Blessing of Nethys vs Location Fog Bank


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Fog Bank
At this Location
After you play a card of use a power that examine cards in this location deck, shuffle it.

Blessing of Nethys
POWERS
...
Discard this card to examine the top 2 cards of your location deck, put them back in any order, then explore your location.

We have been arguing about the effects of both card.

1- Blessing of Nethys makes player examine 2 top card of his location deck, then;

-- Fog Bank interrupts --

Shuffle the location deck, then explore the location.

2- Blessing of nethys makes player examine 2 top card - then explore the location (preventing the shuffle)

3- Shuffle is delayed; Examine 2 top card, explore, then shuffle location deck.


"After you play" means resolve the card, then do the thing. So BoNethys would have you examine the top two, put them back in any order, explore. When you finish the exploration encounter, you shuffle.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I'm not so sure between 1 and 3...


:) Frencois asked a very similar question once upon a time, and the community response was #3.

More significantly, nearly an identical question was asked about using the power of the S&S barrier Lookout Duty; Hawkmoon opined #3 above is correct; both Mike and Vic posted later in the thread without correcting him, so we've got to conclude Hawkmoon was right. (Who'd have thunk.) (Thread here.)

(I vaguely recall Vic saying Paizo would stop telling people to explore "immediately", because an additional exploration is always "immediate", but the closest I could find to that is Vic's post here.)

I find the "banking" of a shuffle effect extremely un-PACG-like. But apparently that's what happens.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Better memory than me...

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I suspect that Mike would probably prefer the Fog Bank effect firing off before the exploration, but the rules are clear: Fog Bank tells you to shuffle after you use the power, and the power consists of multiple actions that include the exploration, so you shuffle after the exploration.

Lone Shark Games

Vic Wertz wrote:
I suspect that Mike would probably prefer the Fog Bank effect firing off before the exploration, but the rules are clear: Fog Bank tells you to shuffle after you use the power, and the power consists of multiple actions that include the exploration, so you shuffle after the exploration.

Nah, Mike's fine with this.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Blessing of Nethys vs Location Fog Bank All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion