
harmor |

Does Raise Animal Companion in Ultimate Magic require that you must be the caster casting on your own Animal Companion?
The last part where it says, "Paladin's mount" is confusing me.
Just checking.

Stynkk |

It is a paladin, ranger and druid spell. So they included the paladin part because the paladin doesn't have an animal companion, but they do have a bonded mount.
IMO you can target any dead bonded mount or dead animal companion with the spell, there doesn't seem to be any restrictive language.
EDIT:
Good point on the familiar.

![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Ra ise Animal Companion
School conjuration (healing); Level druid 5, paladin 4, ranger 4
Casting Time 1 minute
Components V, S, M (a diamond worth 1,000 gp)
Range touch
Target dead animal companion or bonded mount
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw none, see text; Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
This spell functions as raise dead, but it only affects an animal
companion, familiar, or paladin’s bonded mount.
Nice confusion here.
it can raise a familiar or not?

leo1925 |

Quote:Ra ise Animal Companion
School conjuration (healing); Level druid 5, paladin 4, ranger 4
Casting Time 1 minute
Components V, S, M (a diamond worth 1,000 gp)
Range touch
Target dead animal companion or bonded mount
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw none, see text; Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
This spell functions as raise dead, but it only affects an animal
companion, familiar, or paladin’s bonded mount.Nice confusion here.
it can raise a familiar or not?
Yes it can.

Drejk |

Diego Rossi wrote:Yes it can.Quote:Ra ise Animal Companion
School conjuration (healing); Level druid 5, paladin 4, ranger 4
Casting Time 1 minute
Components V, S, M (a diamond worth 1,000 gp)
Range touch
Target dead animal companion or bonded mount
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw none, see text; Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
This spell functions as raise dead, but it only affects an animal
companion, familiar, or paladin’s bonded mount.Nice confusion here.
it can raise a familiar or not?
If I remember correctly text takes precedence over tables in case of contradictory rules.

Stynkk |

Of course, the spell's obviously intended to allow PCs to Raise their special animal friends... but what about when it comes to non-animal Improved Familiars and the like? My imp familiar's an Outsider, right - can this spell Raise him?
IMO yes, it seems like "familar" was left off the targeting line. Need some errata already on UM.