I'm Hiding In Your Closet
|
*You can buy raise dead using 16 PP, 5,450 gp, or??? 8 PP and 2,450 gp.
Waaait...what good is the former price tag, then?
Are they just universalizing the Risen Guard award? If so, what becomes of the original Osirion/Scarab Sages version, and those PCs who have already received that 'treatment?'
|
|
New for this year:
*You can buy raise dead using 16 PP, 5,450 gp, or 8 PP and
2,450 gp.People didn't seem to know about this, trying to get it out there because level 2-3 characters getting raises is amazing.
Anyone else see any changes in the guide?
Oddly, if your pregen dies you can split the cost of resurrection and true resurrection as well but the footnote for the regular casting purchase limits it to raise dead.
|
Just checking: if a 2nd-level PC gets a raise dead in PFS, what are the ramifications? How fast do the restorations need to come, for the character to avoid dying to the negative levels?
And, I hope I'm not harping on an issue, but I've never gotten a good answer: if a player of a 2nd-level character is running a pre-gen who dies but is raised during the adventure, and the experience for the adventure is assigned to the 2nd-level character, what are the ramifications for the PC?
SCPRedMage
|
| 4 people marked this as a favorite. |
Just checking: if a 2nd-level PC gets a raise dead in PFS, what are the ramifications? How fast do the restorations need to come, for the character to avoid dying to the negative levels?
This apparently hasn't been updated in the PRD, but according to the sixth printing of the CRB:
The subject of the spell gains two permanent negative levels when it is raised, just as if it had been hit by an energy-draining creature. Negative levels equal to or greater than the creature’s Hit Dice are instead applied as Constitution drain (if this would reduce its Con to 0 or less, it can’t be raised).
The second-level raise dead gap was patched out of the system; the character would gain one permanent negative level and one point of Constitution drain.
I've only got PDF copies of the second, fifth, and sixth printings of the CRB (should probably get around to cleaning up my downloads folder), but the original version of the spell appears in the second printing, but has changed by the fifth printing. The change doesn't appear in the errata documents that update any of the previous editions to the current printing (which is probably why the PRD hasn't been updated with this change), so I can't narrow down when it changed any further than that.