Brilliant Energy: Legal for all ranged weaponry discrepancy...


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, there's a discrepancy between the CRB and Ultimate Equipment it seems.

Core Rulebook wrote:
Brilliant Energy: A brilliant energy weapon has its significant portion transformed into light, although this does not modify the item's weight. It always gives off light as a torch (20-foot radius). A brilliant energy weapon ignores nonliving matter. Armor and shield bonuses to AC (including any enhancement bonuses to that armor) do not count against it because the weapon passes through armor. (Dexterity, deflection, dodge, natural armor, and other such bonuses still apply.) A brilliant energy weapon cannot harm undead, constructs, and objects. This property can only be applied to melee weapons, thrown weapons, and ammunition.
Ultimate Equipment wrote:
A brilliant energy weapon has its significant portion transformed into light, although this does not modify the item's weight. It always gives off light as a torch (20-foot radius). A brilliant energy weapon ignores nonliving matter. Armor and shield bonuses to AC (including any enhancement bonuses to that armor) do not count against it because the weapon passes through armor. (Dexterity, deflection, dodge, natural armor, and other such bonuses still apply.) A brilliant energy weapon cannot harm undead, constructs, or objects.

Both books charts indicate that it can be applied to ranged weaponry, but the CRB chart doesn't have a superscript showing that said weapon bestows the property to it's ammunition (because it was meant for throwing weapons), whereas the UE chart does.

So, which source do I go with when they are in conflict? The newer source book or the CRB?

Lantern Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

And to add, sorry for all of the recent threads, it's winter break, making this the time to prepare all of my encounters and campaigns for the coming semester. Hence, more questions than usual O.o


Good catch. It should also be noted that the UE tables actually do have a subscript which apply certain enchantments only to thrown ranged weapons (anchoring and returning), but this is conspicuously not used for the brilliant energy enchantment.

Also, ammunition uses a separate table in UE, and has the brilliant energy enchantment listed there as well.

This does appear to be a conflict between the two sources. Is there any general rule which prefers the CRB over the expansion book, or vice-versa?

Lantern Lodge

No wonder why I was confused in the other thread O.o


I was also surprised to see the change. I usually assume that the later books take precedence over the core rulebook.


I would normally assume later books take precedent. While being able to ignore armor is powerful, the price tag on it makes it virtually undesireable in real play. The earliest you can even semi-reasonably afford it is between levels 13 and 14. Assuming you can spend no more than half wealth by level on a single item and you are only having a +1 brilliant energy weapon.

In truth, I am doubtful this matters much.


Customarily the later book takes precedence.

If it didn't it is worth noting that the CRB wouldn't need the superscript because it didn't allow the quality to be added to a weapon that could transfer it to it's ammo.

The fact that UE added that superscript indicates that the change is deliberate.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Brilliant Energy: Legal for all ranged weaponry discrepancy... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.