
Korthis |

Say its a huge monster with (20 ft reach)6 arms w/claws, grab special ability, greater grapple, and combat reflexes (or whatever the multiple AOO feat is). If three monsters provoke what happens?
By raw it seems all monsters get hit, if all grabs are successful then all get pulled adjacent, but how does greater grapple fit in? Do they count as adjacent already because of reach? Can they all be grabbed at once or is it "grab to stop movement, next AOO release previous grab to grab new guy, etc"

MurphysParadox |

I don't believe grab and greater grapple actually work together. You can either use grab to get a free grapple check after hitting something OR you can use greater grapple and make the target provoke AOOs. But you can grab off an AOO, so one could do a greater grapple and the other ones hit and grab.
They can free action to immediately let go (if there's a reason for wanting to actually grab) or just pass on the free grab.

![]() |

1) Frank the Fighter pulls out a potion, provoking from Monstroso the Monster.
2) Monstroso makes an attack roll.
2a) He hits.
2b) He rolls damage.
TABLE VARIATION ALERT: Grab is a Free Action. A GM may rule that a Free Action grab may only occur on your turn (except talking, which is called out as being able to occur when it is not your turn).
2c) He makes a grab check.
2d) Monstroso and Frank now have the Grappled Condition.
3) Cliff the Cleric casts a spell, provoking an AOO. HOWEVER, creatures with the grappled condition may not make AOOs, so Monstroso cannot attack Cliff.
Greater Grapple has no bearing on this situation.

Mojorat |

If a monster is not attempting to maintain a grapple, it does not have alot of need for greater grapple. the creature you seem to be describing is not really going to need an extra +2 to grapple.
If it is intending to grapple it likely also has enough CMB to take the -20 option.
but as the others have said, you really cant grab and release as an AOO

fretgod99 |

I looked and no where does it say free actions only on your turn. I was thinking you could aoo attack, free action grab, free action release, aoo again.
It's an exception that proves the rule kind of thing.
Speak
In general, speaking is a free action that you can perform even when it isn't your turn.
The inclusion of a specific statement that speaking can be done outside of your turn carries with it the implication that ordinarily Free Actions cannot be done outside of your turn (else there would be no reason to specifically call out that speaking can).
The same goes for Swift and Immediate Actions. The entry for Swift Actions never says that one cannot be done outside of your turn. However, because the entry for Immediate Actions specifically says that Immediate Actions can be done outside of your turn, the implication is that Swift Actions cannot.
So, the general rule is that no action can be done outside your turn unless you're specifically told otherwise.
For this specific case, I think you'd be fine making a free action grab as a part of an AoO (because you can grab as a free action whenever the relevant attack hits). Doing the release as a free action outside your turn I don't think would be permissible, though.