15' Cone Straight Down, While Flying


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Here is the scenario:

My wizard is flying above the enemies. I'd like to cast Burning Hands on them, straight down.

The disagreement came that I believed it should essentially be a 15' Radius, much like a actual 3-D cone with the caster being at the top of the cone, but my GM felt it would still essentially be a regular 15' cone shape, with some minor adjustments.

I went with the ruling after a couple minutes of discussion, but I just wanted to know what other think about it as well.

If this has been discussed before I do apologize, but I couldn't find any threads discussing this.


If you take the "regular 15' cone shape" and rotate it so that it is pointing down, the stuff it hits on the ground is a circle. So you were asking for the 'regular 15' cone shape'.

What did he say it should be? What actually happened? Now I'm curious:)


Hand him a funnel and ask what part of "cone-shaped" he is having problems with. But in seriousness, I have both played and GM'd characters with cone spells and never even had it suggested that it should run any way other than how you wanted to do it.


One note though, a 15' cone will have a 15' diameter circle at the base, not radius.


The PRD wrote:
A cone-shaped spell shoots away from you in a quarter-circle in the direction you designate. It starts from any corner of your square and widens out as it goes. Most cones are either bursts or emanations (see above), and thus won't go around corners.

Note where it says "quarter-circle." I think this wording, combined with an essentially 2-dimensional battle, is why you have the problem. People look at the battle map and think "fan" rather than "cone" and eliminate the third dimension. This is weird when you have to take into account flying creatures, but it happens.

I always count cones as cones. Granted, when you're standing on the ground they essentially become half-cones, but when fired into the air (or in your instance, from the air to the ground) I take into account an entire cone-shaped area, meaning that in your example I'd have everyone standing in a 15 foot diameter at the end of the effect making Reflex saves.

Dark Archive

No, it wouldn't be a 15' radius.

Trust me on this one and look up the word radius.


See, this is why we don't play on a grid, but on terrains with actual elevation and buildings and trees, and whatnot.

Off the grid, your thinking is freed up from abstracts. A cone aimed downward becomes a circle as a matter of course.


This sort of thing is why I really don't like flying PCs in the d20 system. Three-dimensional thinking is hard; there's a reason rocket science is the cliche for difficulty.


Bizbag wrote:
This sort of thing is why I really don't like flying PCs in the d20 system. Three-dimensional thinking is hard; there's a reason rocket science is the cliche for difficulty.

/sarcasm... I hope...


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yeah, I meant diameter instead of radius. I'll admit even after Calculus 2 and other high-level math classes, I still get them mixed up some nights.

Thanks for your input guys!


Harrowed Wizard wrote:

Yeah, I meant diameter instead of radius. I'll admit even after Calculus 2 and other high-level math classes, I still get them mixed up some nights.

Thanks for you're input guys!

My Calc 2 professor was fond of reminding us that professional mathematicians frequently forgot how to add.


Bizbag wrote:
Harrowed Wizard wrote:

Yeah, I meant diameter instead of radius. I'll admit even after Calculus 2 and other high-level math classes, I still get them mixed up some nights.

Thanks for you're input guys!

My Calc 2 professor was fond of reminding us that professional mathematicians frequently forgot how to add.

Well, addition is pretty complicated if you construct it from a foundation of one propositional logic operator.


Would it be a 3x3 square grid, or one without the corner squares (cross)?


Probably 15' x 15' - though that's only if the caster is exactly 15 feet away from the ground. If he's 10 feet away, it'd be 10' x 10', and if he's 5 feet off the ground it'd only hit the square directly beneath him.

I'd say the GM is well within rights to limit spells to working in a 2-dimensional, by-the-book manner, as working with 3-dimensional combat can be frustrating for some*, but burning hands would function as a cone in my game.

*In a 3-D game, squares really become cubes. Now you need to figure out how many cubes tall creatures are. If you're 20 feet up and cast burning hands, do you only hit the ogre or does it hit everyone but the gnome rogue? What if the human fighter is prone? The cubes are 5 feet on a side, and Medium creatures can exceed this height by nearly double, or fall short of it by a foot. However, dropping prone doesn't by default cause a Medium creature to occupy a 1x2 space.


Long long ago in some edition far far away the Burning Hands spell used to describe the effect as a "fan-like sheet of flames" I wonder if the DM remembered that description and based the ruling on it. I recall times in an old 1e/2e game where somebody would drop prone so that the Magic-User could shoot Burning Hands over them to zorch the monsters.

I agree that a cone fired from the air should have a diameter about as wide as the height from which the cone was generated, but if you want to be really exact you could check the AoE templates for cones since the larger ones tend to get a little narrower near the far end, more like a teardrop than a traffic cone.

Breathing down in this manner can be a great tactic for dragons, especially if they have Flyby Attack.


Mathematically speaking, if you were about 10 feet in the air, you'd hit a circle of diameter about 20 feet with the cone aimed straight down. If you were a full 15 feet up, keep in mind that the "base" of the cone is actually curved rather than flat so the very middle of the circle will touch the ground, but the edges wouldn't; they'd fall short by about 5 feet. In this case, you'd hit anything within a circle of 5 feet (on the grid, a square 10x10 around the intersection you target from) but the rest of the circle would only hit if the target is taller than 5 feet. Conversely, if you were 5' up, the ground would truncate the wider range and you'd only hit the 5' circle under you.


Actually the math comes out pretty well. A 15' cone pointed straight down becomes a circle with roughly a 10' radius. (15^2+15^2=450, sqrt(450) = 21.21). A 30' cone makes a circle with a 20' radius, and a 60' cone makes a circle with a 40' radius.


Xexyz wrote:
Actually the math comes out pretty well. A 15' cone pointed straight down becomes a circle with roughly a 10' radius. (15^2+15^2=450, sqrt(450) = 21.21). A 30' cone makes a circle with a 20' radius, and a 60' cone makes a circle with a 40' radius.

Ummm..... A 15' cone has a 15' diameter base and a 15' height. Also, in the event of an irregular cone then you did the math wrong. You can't find the adjacent side's length in the fashion you describe, even if you assumed the hypotenuse was 15'. In fact, a cone with a 15' height and a 15' hypotenuse would be called a line.


BigDTBone wrote:
Xexyz wrote:
Actually the math comes out pretty well. A 15' cone pointed straight down becomes a circle with roughly a 10' radius. (15^2+15^2=450, sqrt(450) = 21.21). A 30' cone makes a circle with a 20' radius, and a 60' cone makes a circle with a 40' radius.
Ummm..... A 15' cone has a 15' diameter base and a 15' height. Also, in the event of an irregular cone then you did the math wrong. You can't find the adjacent side's length in the fashion you describe, even if you assumed the hypotenuse was 15'. In fact, a cone with a 15' height and a 15' hypotenuse would be called a line.

I don't think you're rightly comprehending the geometry involved here. The "Cone" (while actually a section of a circle), if aimed straight down would be 20' at the widest point. An Isosceles right triangle (2 out of 3 sides equal length and 90 degree angle between them) 15' on those two sides would have the hypotenuse equal to (15*sqrt(2)) which is about 20'. This denotes the widest part of the cone and the base of the raw triangle that the area forms, but there's also a rounded taper at the end.

Here's a Sample Diagram that I put together for this lesson. As you can see, for a person floating 15' above the ground with the cone aimed down, you have the area denoted by triangle AED plus the sections covered by the rounded area. The bottom right-most and left-most spots would not be covered by the AoE, only the middle two squares on the bottom row, denoted by the 10' span bar. So if you were a full 15' up, you'd only hit creatures full-on if they're in the 2 square by 2 square area in the middle whereas if you were only 10' up, you get the widest circle covering 4 squares by 4 squares with the corners omitted.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 15' Cone Straight Down, While Flying All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions