Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

TWF with 2x strength bonus to damage?


Rules Questions

Star Voter 2013

Inspired by this thread
Flurry of blows with 2x strength bonus to damage?

I havea a slightly diferent question.
Would a Two handed fighter TWF with a greatsword and armor spikes and gain 2x strength bonus to damage with the greatword?

"At 7th level, when a two-handed fighter makes a full-attack with a two-handed weapon, he adds double his Strength bonus on damage rolls for all attacks after the first."


the short answer? yes

the long answer?: Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssss

the explaining answer: It'll work, first attack will be at 1.5 str, the rest of your mainhand (aka the sword) attacks will be at 2X and all the offhand (armor spikes) will be at half/no strength. Although your gonna have to have those spikes on the legs cause by RAW only monks get to do unarmed attacks beyond punch, kick, and headbutt

Liberty's Edge

DeusTerran wrote:

the short answer? yes

the long answer?: Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssss

the explaining answer: It'll work, first attack will be at 1.5 str, the rest of your mainhand (aka the sword) attacks will be at 2X and all the offhand (armor spikes) will be at half/no strength. Although your gonna have to have those spikes on the legs cause by RAW only monks get to do unarmed attacks beyond punch, kick, and headbutt

First attack will NOT be at 1.5X Str. Monks always do flat STR damage when flurrying. At best this would allow him to do 1x damage with the first strike and 2x with the follow-up attacks.

Star Voter 2013

Tis thread is not about monk, taht is the reason i made a new thread for htis question. So what FoB does is irrelevant here.

Liberty's Edge

Nicos wrote:
Tis thread is not about monk, taht is the reason i made a new thread for htis question. So what FoB does is irrelevant here.

Ah my mistake. That's what I get for skimming. So yes.


file under Backswing Errata: how does it work if 1st attack is not a 2handed attack, e.g. the 'offhand' attack is made first, or you make a natural attack like Bite first in addition to iteratives? is the intent that the first 2-handed attack is normal, and only subsequent 2-handed attacks benefit? and how does Backswing work for weapons that don't normally gain 2-handed str bonus, like rapier or light weapons?

Liberty's Edge

I think this is one of those ones where the intent was pretty clearly that the first attack with the THW did not get the bonus, but all subsequent attacks with the two-handed weapon did. Probably could stand to have an extra word or two implanted in there, but they do have word-counts and page counts they have to adhere to....

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / TWF with 2x strength bonus to damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.