Mother Myrtle and spells question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Just a clarification on Mother Myrtle (an home game rules debate)...and apologies if this has been asked and answered elsewhere.

On her card is states that she may use her Wisdom skill to make her Arcand (or Divine) check.

I read this to mean that when she casts a spell she doesn't have the Arcane or Divine skill and so the spell would be banished. Which then kicks in her other power of using her Knowledge check to be able to recharge the card instead of banishing.

The counter-side of the discussion is that she does not have to banish the spell because the Wisdom skill allows the Arcane and Divine therefore because such a check is possible the banish effect does not occur.

Thanks for opinions. :)

Silver Crusade

I believe the first one is correct. Being able to use Wisdom for an Arcane or Divine check does not give you the Arcane of Divine skill. So they're still banished, and her other power kicks in.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Qwenlyn wrote:

Just a clarification on Mother Myrtle (an home game rules debate)...and apologies if this has been asked and answered elsewhere.

On her card is states that she may use her Wisdom skill to make her Arcand (or Divine) check.

I read this to mean that when she casts a spell she doesn't have the Arcane or Divine skill and so the spell would be banished. Which then kicks in her other power of using her Knowledge check to be able to recharge the card instead of banishing.

My read: She doesn't have the Arcane or Divine skills, so the banishment WOULD trigger. She can use her Wisdom in place of them, but she doesn't actually have the skills.

However, as you point out, this kicks her second power of allowing her the Knowledge check, which will either recharge or discard the spell. So the banishment never happens, but because of the second power, not the first.

Grand Lodge

I agree with the others. MM doesn't actually HAVE the skills, but when it comes time to roll her default d4 (which doesn't count with respect to Recharge checks), she can substitute her Wisdom, which is mighty.


I'm not understanding why this is a question.

Spell cards say, if you don't have the Arcane/Divine skill, banish the card.

Does Mother Myrtle have the Arcane or Divine skill? No.

So she banishes the card. (Or she would, then as others say, she can use her Knowledge check power).

Grand Lodge

elcoderdude wrote:
I'm not understanding why this is a question.

Think of it as a question on the wording of Mother Myrtle's power.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

"You may use your Wisdom skill for your Arcane (□ or Divine) check."

It says exactly what it should say. She can use her Wisdom skill for that check—no more, no less. Contrast with S&S Damiel, who *does* temporarily gain skills: "You gain the skills Arcane and Divine equal to your Craft skill while you play or when you would banish a spell that does not have the Attack trait."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Mother Myrtle and spells question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion