
AvalonXQ |

No, it does not. SR only applies when the spell is cast on an unwilling creature or an attended object in the possession of an unwilling creature.
Essentially the spell gives you two options:
1) Cast it on a point in space, object, or ally. The enemy gets no Will save and you don't have to check against SR, but the enemy can move out of the area to escape its effects.
2) Cast it on the enemy or something the enemy is holding. The enemy gets a Will save and SR, but the spell moves with the enemy or the enemy's possession.

klevis69 |

No, it does not. SR only applies when the spell is cast on an unwilling creature or an attended object in the possession of an unwilling creature.
Essentially the spell gives you two options:
1) Cast it on a point in space, object, or ally. The enemy gets no Will save and you don't have to check against SR, but the enemy can move out of the area to escape its effects.
2) Cast it on the enemy or something the enemy is holding. The enemy gets a Will save and SR, but the spell moves with the enemy or the enemy's possession.
Is there something explicitly stating that in rules?

klevis69 |

When Spell Resistance Applies
Each spell includes an entry that indicates whether spell resistance applies to the spell. In general, whether spell resistance applies depends on what the spell does.
Targeted Spells
Spell resistance applies if the spell is targeted at the creature. Some individually targeted spells can be directed at several creatures simultaneously. In such cases, a creature's spell resistance applies only to the portion of the spell actually targeted at that creature. If several different resistant creatures are subjected to such a spell, each checks its spell resistance separately.
Area Spells
Spell resistance applies if the resistant creature is within the spell's area. It protects the resistant creature without affecting the spell itself.
Effect Spells
Most effect spells summon or create something and are not subject to spell resistance. Sometimes, however, spell resistance applies to effect spells, usually to those that act upon a creature more or less directly, such as web.
Spell resistance can protect a creature from a spell that's already been cast. Check spell resistance when the creature is first affected by the spell.
Check spell resistance only once for any particular casting of a spell or use of a spell-like ability. If spell resistance fails the first time, it fails each time the creature encounters that same casting of the spell. Likewise, if the spell resistance succeeds the first time, it always succeeds. If the creature has voluntarily lowered its spell resistance and is then subjected to a spell, the creature still has a single chance to resist that spell later, when its spell resistance is back up.
Spell resistance has no effect unless the energy created or released by the spell actually goes to work on the resistant creature's mind or body. If the spell acts on anything else and the creature is affected as a consequence, no roll is required. Spell-resistant creatures can be harmed by a spell when they are not being directly affected.
Spell resistance does not apply if an effect fools the creature's senses or reveals something about the creature.
Magic actually has to be working for spell resistance to apply. Spells that have instantaneous durations but lasting results aren't subject to spell resistance unless the resistant creature is exposed to the spell the instant it is cast.
This is confusing a little and makes me think that SR may apply.

David Thomassen |

Spell resistance has no effect unless the energy created or released by the spell actually goes to work on the resistant creature's mind or body. If the spell acts on anything else and the creature is affected as a consequence, no roll is required. Spell-resistant creatures can be harmed by a spell when they are not being directly affected.
So if the spell is not targeted on the creature with Spell Resistance then the spell is in effect. The spell effect is not working on the mind or body of the creatures within the area, but the air around them - so Spell resistance has no effect.

![]() |

prd wrote:This is confusing a little and makes me think that SR may apply.When Spell Resistance Applies
..
Area Spells
Spell resistance applies if the resistant creature is within the spell's area. It protects the resistant creature without affecting the spell itself.
Thanks for posting this.
Silence is an emanation, which is a type of area. A creature with SR that enters the area can resist the spell. Its SR doesn't cancel the spell. This allows it to make sounds, such as verbal components. However, such sounds don't pass through or leave the area, nor does any other sound pass through the area to reach the creature, so it can't be heard by anyone nor hear sounds from either inside or outside the silence.

![]() |

This would mean an SR creature in a Silence area would be able to cast spells with V components? If he made the original SR?
That's my reading.
What about Ice Storm? (the -4 Perception checks and the difficult terrain, not the damage which I understand would be prevented by SR)
The ice storm still has ice flying through the area and clattering on the ground (though not getting in the resistant creature's eyes) so the penalty to Perception should remain. I'm not sure about the difficult terrain.

klevis69 |

nosig wrote:This would mean an SR creature in a Silence area would be able to cast spells with V components? If he made the original SR?That's my reading.
nosig wrote:What about Ice Storm? (the -4 Perception checks and the difficult terrain, not the damage which I understand would be prevented by SR)The ice storm still has ice flying through the area and clattering on the ground (though not getting in the resistant creature's eyes) so the penalty to Perception should remain. I'm not sure about the difficult terrain.
I guess the question is, does the silence affect the creature's body? Or does it just mute sounds that come out?