Creatures with Multiple Attacks


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Regarding creatures with multiple natural attacks...

Must the creature use the same attack order as printed in it's stat block? Or can it change the order? Where is this referenced in the rules online or in CRB?

Example #1 - "Melee: bite +5 (1d6), 2 claws +5 (1d6)"
(while technically it wouldn't matter with this example, but sometimes creatures have different effects to their attacks)

Example #2 - "Melee: bite +5 (1d6, grab), 2 claws +5 (1d6)"
(this creature may want to use its claws prior to biting to avoid suffering any grappling penalties while using its claws)

Example #3 - "Melee: 2 claws +5 (1d6), bite +8 (1d6+5)"
(this creature may be only allowed a single attack, or using an AoO, so would prefer to use the bite attack)

Thanks!


I am not aware of anything mandating an order to natural attacks. I would normally go with primary attacks before secondary ones in deference to the 'attacks must go from highest to lowest by BaB' rule, even though it doesn't strictly apply.

Similarly, to the best of my knowledge a critter can make an AoO with any of it's natural attacks, same way a NPC/PC carrying a weapon in either hand can make an AoO with either weapon.


I agree with dragonhunterq.


Nope.

Full Attack wrote:
If you get multiple attacks because your base attack bonus is high enough, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest. If you are using two weapons, you can strike with either weapon first. If you are using a double weapon, you can strike with either part of the weapon first.

First bolded part says that the highest to lowest clause only works when you're dealing with iteratives (such as BAB +6/+1). Second bolded part says that if you're using two weapons (which two separate Natural Weapons would easily be considered two weapons), you can choose which one to attack with.

Of course, the clause does not apply to TWF, which mandates that you take all Primary attacks before any Secondary/Offhand attacks, as shown by the TWF FAQ.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Is there a rule require taking all primary natural weapons before secondary natural weapons?


James Risner wrote:
Is there a rule require taking all primary natural weapons before secondary natural weapons?

To the extent of my knowledge, and I did do some digging on this in the past, the only rules for order are the ones DtP cited, so no.


No, there is no rule calling out a certain order, but as a player I would suggest informing the GM of which attack are about to roll for if you are doing them out of order. That way you are not accused of anything.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Creatures with Multiple Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions