Stasis (Time Domain - Focus Spell 4) Questions and likely Typo / Errata


Rules Discussion

Scarab Sages

Hey all, getting ready to build a Time Domain cleric and had one definite Errata discovery as well as a few questions about whether or not certain rules from PF1 are still in the PF2 CRB, as I'm having trouble finding them for how they would apply to this- admittedly very unique- focus spell from the Time domain.

First, the spell in question, bold emphasis from me. Text is from Archives of Nethys, but I have double-checked my hard copy of Gods and Magic and can confirm the issues are in the print edition as well.

Stasis, from Archives of Nethys. wrote:

Incapacitation Transmutation

Source: Gods & Magic pg. 118
Domain: time
Cast: Two Actions somatic, verbal
Range: 30 feet; Targets 1 creature or up to 1 Bulk of objects
Saving Throw: Reflex; Duration varies

The flow of time congeals around an object or creature, holding it in place. The target must attempt a Will save (an unattended object automatically critically fails its save).

-Critical Success The target is unaffected.
-Success The target is stunned 1 as time thickens around it.
-Failure Time ceases to pass for the target for 1 round. It is invulnerable to all damage, it cannot be targeted or affected by anything, and no rounds elapse for any timed durations, conditions, afflictions, and other effects it has. While in stasis, the target can’t be moved, and it remains fixed in place, defying gravity if need be.
-Critical Failure As failure, but the target is held in stasis for 3 rounds. At the end of each of its turns, it can attempt a Will save to reduce the remaining duration by 1 round or end it entirely on a critical success.

First off, the errata question: The spell Stasis's overview states that it is a Reflex Save; however, every later mention of a saving throw describes it as a Will save. I'm assuming Will is the intended saving throw for this spell, as it is listed twice, but a confirmation one way or the other would be appreciated.

Second: Assuming that the target of the spell is correct in not specifying Unattended Objects (as the later mention of them could be referring to the specific instance where the target is Unattended), what saves would the Object use to resist the spell, since Attended Objects would presumably not fail automatically? I feel like I remember there being a ruling in PF1 where a held object used the statistics of its wielder for defensive purposes, but am unsure if that ruling still applies in PF2e.

Third: Another ruling that I am not sure applies in PF2e, but that I wanted to have confirmation on in advance: Could a willing target of this spell choose to fail/crit fail their saving throw, or would a willing target have to attempt the check and hope they roll low? asking as I could see a situation where a party member in dire straits might be in need of total invulnerability to make it out of a particularly rough encounter, or could for instance be Stasis'd until the fight ends to prevent them from bleeding out.

Thanks in advance for any advice or CRB rules text I may have missed.


Yea, looks like an error to me.

I could see this as either Ref or Will (or Fort). So not sure which way to go.


I agree with you that there is a need for Errata on which save is required. I'd personally go with Will, but that's just me.

For your first question: I was unable to find a general rule in the rulebook that covers this. However, in every spell that targets attended objects I could find that requires a save (curse of lost time, necrotic radiation, grease) or a similar creature ability (shattering harmonics from the destrachan), the wielder attempts the corresponding saving throw. In light of that, I'd rule the weilder just rolls a Will save with appropiate effects.

For your second: There's no mention of being allowed to willingly fail/crit fail saves, so the target would have to attempt the save per RAW


per RAW you can't willingly fail a saving throw. There is an ability/feat/whatever, don't remember which unfortunately, that directly states that "the target can fail his saving throw if he wants" so in light of that i assume that if an ability doesn't state that, you can't.

for the saving throw type, definately an Erratta, and it's most likely a Will save indeed.

I would also use user's saves for attended objects since that seems to be the paradigm on similar object targeting abilities.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Stasis (Time Domain - Focus Spell 4) Questions and likely Typo / Errata All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.