Falconer ranger archetype is unclear on one point:


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

A couple of quick questions about the Falconer ranger archetype from Ultimate Combat.

The feathered companion gains three special tricks, one of which is tragicaly unclear on two points. First, the quote:

the PFSRD wrote:

Distract (DC 20; bird only)

The animal companion flutters wildly around any enemy it would normally attack with the attack trick. It makes an attack roll against that enemy. On a hit, the enemy is shaken.

So, two questions:

1.) What kind of action is this?
2.) How long is the target shaken for?

The first question is the most important: is this an attack action or a standard action? I am hopeful that it's an attack action, since the ability would be much more useful if it were.

The second question is almost as important, though. There's a big difference between "shaken for the duration of the encounter" and "shaken for one round".

My thinking so far is in favor of the most literal interpretation: the target is shaken for as long as the bird (the object of it's fear) is around. Since no duration is mentioned, no expiration is specified for the shaken condition. However, if there's no bird, there's nothing to be shaken over.

Thoughts / advice?

Dark Archive

not sure here. i would guess that its a special attack, which they tend to be standard actions unless otherwise stated (such as a dragon's breath weapon). The second is simply bad wording. I would say as long as its maintained. And I'd assume maintaining it would also be a standard action.


Garden Tool wrote:
is this an attack action or a standard action? I am hopeful that it's an attack action, since the ability would be much more useful if it were.

In what way? The attack action is a standard action. Perhaps you mean to ask if it can be done in place of a melee attack?

Anyway, my guess for both questions would be thus:

Attack (DC 20): "The animal attacks apparent enemies. You may point to a particular creature that you wish the animal to attack, and it will comply if able."

So, instead of telling Bird to "Attack that orc!" you say "Distract that orc!" and he runs up and makes attack rolls as normal. On success, the orc is shaken (for the round). When/if the bird stops distracting (stops attacking) the orc stops being shaken.

So, I guess, if the bird has multiple attacks, and threatened multiple enemies, and was intelligent enough to split up his attacks, he could try to distract multiple foes with a full attack.

Either way, when the bird stops fluttering and flies away, the opponent is no longer distracted by it, and thus not shaken. (My 2c)

Grand Lodge

One thing also to note: The giant bird in the falconer iconic IS an artist mistake.

Shadow Lodge

LazarX wrote:
One thing also to note: The giant bird in the falconer iconic IS an artist mistake.

Why? Its just as likely to allow for a Roc as a Hawk...

Grand Lodge

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
LazarX wrote:
One thing also to note: The giant bird in the falconer iconic IS an artist mistake.
Why? Its just as likely to allow for a Roc as a Hawk...

Read the rules of the archetype, it's VERY specific on what's allowed. That's why it's called a falconer, not a rocener.

Shadow Lodge

LazarX wrote:
One thing also to note: The giant bird in the falconer iconic IS an artist mistake.

Good. It was silly. Nicely drawn, but silly.

On to answer the OP,

1) I'd say it's in place of an attack.
2) Probably until the start of the falcons next action. It's what makes the most sense.

Shadow Lodge

LazarX wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
LazarX wrote:
One thing also to note: The giant bird in the falconer iconic IS an artist mistake.
Why? Its just as likely to allow for a Roc as a Hawk...
Read the rules of the archetype, it's VERY specific on what's allowed. That's why it's called a falconer, not a rocener.

I have, have you?

UC wrote:

At 1st level, a falconer earns the

trust and companionship of a bird of prey. The bird can be of
any type of large hunting or scavenging bird
(even a vulture).
This ability functions like the druid animal companion
ability (which is part of the nature bond class feature),
but the falconer must take the bird animal companion,
and that companion has only half the normal hit points.

All it has to be is a bird of prey, a roc is described as a raptor, ie bird of prey. It may be called a falconer, but that doesn't limit you to falcons.


Hecknoshow wrote:
2) Probably until the start of the falcons next action. It's what makes the most sense.

I would say Turn, not action. If the falcon squawks or makes an immediate action or whatever, that shouldn't stop the effect.

As for the Roc: "Rocs taken as animal companions by druids or rangers are typically newly hatched birds—a baby roc is the size of a person and ready for flight and hunting within minutes of hatching. Unfortunately for druids seeking animal companions of legendary size, an animal companion roc is limited to Large size-still large enough for a Medium druid or ranger to use the flying beast as a mount."

There are even stats for the Roc companion.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
UC wrote:

At 1st level, a falconer earns the

trust and companionship of a bird of prey. The bird can be of
any type of large hunting or scavenging bird (even a vulture).
This ability functions like the druid animal companion
ability (which is part of the nature bond class feature),
but the falconer must take the bird animal companion,
and that companion has only half the normal hit points.

Must take the bird. What's the bird choice?

PHB wrote:


Bird (Eagle/Hawk/Owl)
Starting Statistics: Size Small; Speed 10 ft., fly 80 ft. (average); AC +1 natural armor; Attack bite (1d4), 2 talons (1d4); Ability Scores Str 10, Dex 15, Con 12, Int 2, Wis 14, Cha 6; Special Qualities low-light vision.

4th-Level Advancement: Ability Scores Str +2, Con +2.

My interpretation?

Fluff=any bird of prey you want.
Crunch=the bird animal companion choice.

Shadow Lodge

Grick wrote:
Hecknoshow wrote:
2) Probably until the start of the falcons next action. It's what makes the most sense.

I would say Turn, not action. If the falcon squawks or makes an immediate action or whatever, that shouldn't stop the effect.

Oops, I was thinking turn. Not sure why I wrote action.


Kryzbyn wrote:
UC wrote:

At 1st level, a falconer earns the

trust and companionship of a bird of prey. The bird can be of
any type of large hunting or scavenging bird (even a vulture).
This ability functions like the druid animal companion
ability (which is part of the nature bond class feature),
but the falconer must take the bird animal companion,
and that companion has only half the normal hit points.

Must take the bird. What's the bird choice?

PHB wrote:


Bird (Eagle/Hawk/Owl)
Starting Statistics: Size Small; Speed 10 ft., fly 80 ft. (average); AC +1 natural armor; Attack bite (1d4), 2 talons (1d4); Ability Scores Str 10, Dex 15, Con 12, Int 2, Wis 14, Cha 6; Special Qualities low-light vision.

4th-Level Advancement: Ability Scores Str +2, Con +2.

My interpretation?

Fluff=any bird of prey you want.
Crunch=the bird animal companion choice.

So if I understand correctly, it can be a roc, but it uses the "bird" stats? The description says that one can have a vulture, but vulture isn't one of the "bird" options. Is that how you are interpreting it as well?


No, it can't be a roc.

Loot at it like this:

Fluff: At 1st level, a falconer earns the
trust and companionship of a bird of prey. The bird can be of
any type of large (not large as in size category, just large as as in big, because this is fluff) hunting or scavenging bird (even a vulture).

Crunch: This ability functions like the druid animal companion
ability (which is part of the nature bond class feature),
but the falconer must take the bird* animal companion,
and that companion has only half the normal hit points.

*Bird (Eagle/Hawk/Owl)
Starting Statistics: Size Small; Speed 10 ft., fly 80 ft. (average); AC +1 natural armor; Attack bite (1d4), 2 talons (1d4); Ability Scores Str 10, Dex 15, Con 12, Int 2, Wis 14, Cha 6; Special Qualities low-light vision.

4th-Level Advancement: Ability Scores Str +2, Con +2.

Make sense?

EDIT: It doesn't say "must take a bird companion", implying more options. It says "must take the bird companion", implying only one possible choice.


But the class ability clearly states that they can take a vulture, which is not listed as one of the three birds. In fact it states that they can choose any type of large hunting or scavenging bird. "Any" seems to imply that they aren't limited to just those three options. Saying that they must take the bird animal companion just seems like a simple way to make sure that no particular bird is better than another.


You asked why I thought that, I responded, no biggie.
Allow rocs, if you wish.
Further food for thought:
The Ranger AC list is smaller than the Druid one, and the only selection from that list that is a bird is the eagle/hawk/owl. As to the point about the vulture, I really think they don't care if it's a vulture or not, I think the list of creatures(eagle/hawk/owl) has an implied etc. after it. It's kind of like saying you can't have an cougar or osceolot as a companion because it only says cheetah/leopard under small cat. Of course you can, it's just mechanicly the "Cat, small".


I'm just trying to follow your thought process. Sometimes I miss things when reading rules and I like to make sure that I've got all the information in there. It's amazing how easy it is to read the same thing over and over and miss key details. I think you and I are on the same page with the interpretation.


Well clearly she cast animal growth on the bird.


No worries Bob...
I enjoy mechanics discussions.


Grick wrote:
Hecknoshow wrote:
2) Probably until the start of the falcons next action. It's what makes the most sense.

I would say Turn, not action. If the falcon squawks or makes an immediate action or whatever, that shouldn't stop the effect.

As for the Roc: "Rocs taken as animal companions by druids or rangers are typically newly hatched birds—a baby roc is the size of a person and ready for flight and hunting within minutes of hatching. Unfortunately for druids seeking animal companions of legendary size, an animal companion roc is limited to Large size-still large enough for a Medium druid or ranger to use the flying beast as a mount."

There are even stats for the Roc companion.

Thats right dude keep your mind open and always be willing to alter the proscribed paradigm for more flavor and fun. I play a grippli falconer and the dm let me take a giant dragonfly as my "feathered companion" and it works great for everyone. I would say allowing a roc is totally acceptable.


Actually they are the same size, the halfling in the art and the small bird of prey. Think beefy eagle and petite halfling.

Grand Lodge

Talynonyx wrote:
Well clearly she cast animal growth on the bird.

Jacobs actually came out and said that the artist got the mistaken impression on what was wanted as far as the falcon. It was supposed to be a normal falcon in the drawing. But due to budget and time constraints they used what they got.


There is one thing I'm confused with, and I apologize if this was answered before in another post.

"At 1st level, a falconer earns the trust and companionship of a bird of prey. The bird can be of any type of large hunting or scavenging bird (even a vulture). This ability functions like the druid animal companion ability (which is part of the nature bond class feature), but the falconer must take the bird animal companion, and that companion has only half the normal hit points."

And Hunter's Bond at 4th restores the bird to full HP. The question I have, is the Ranger's effective Druid level equal to his Ranger level, or still with the -3?


still with the -3... Hunter's Bond is always at -3 unless it specifically says so. Essentially you get a 1 HD bird for three levels, then at 4th it becomes a 2 HD bird.


Falconer (Ranger Archetype): Play a Huntsmaster Cavalier instead. It's both better, and much better written.

But at least you can use shenanigans to make a foe Frightened, no save.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Falconer ranger archetype is unclear on one point: All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.