
Tridus |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

Unless they're things that interfere with each other, yep. Actually happens a fair bit when you have buffs like Bless up, since that area can overlap with other areas.
Usually(*) it will only be an issue with things that counteract each other (like Light/Darkness trait effects) or things that block other things (Wall of Force will block an AoE).
* I say "usually" because a GM can expand this if they feel it's appropriate beyond just the ones explicitly spelled out in the rules. ie: if someone cast Wall of Fire into an area where Howling Blizzard is already up, I could see some GMs ruling that the snow drifts left by Howling Blizzard are melted from the wall's radiating heat and the difficult terrain ends early. But other GMs wouldn't make the same ruling.

Ravingdork |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Most instantaneous AoE effects, such as damaging fireballs and lightning bolts have their full normal effect. If you get blasted by two fireballs, for example, you will likely take damage twice.
For AoEs that have ongoing duration and apply starus effects, it can get a little bit more nuanced.
For starters, bonuses and penalties of the same type don't stack. So it doesn't matter how many overlapping malediction auras you find yourself in, you only take a -1 status penalty to AC. This is true even of different effects. For example, if you were frightened 1 from a fear spell, it would not lower your AC any worse than malediction already has.
Disparate effects generally work normally. So an AoE that blinds and another that stuns, could leave victims blind and stunned in the overlapping areas.
And then on top of all that you have the potential for opposing forces counteracting each other as described by Tridus above.
For your two specific spells, slither and carrion mire, they would each have their full, normal effects. Keep in mind though that the latter requires you to sustain the effect, and the former takes three actions to cast, so under most circumstances you can only cast slither and then cast carrion mire, not the other way around.
I hope that helps!

Finoan |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Seconding what others have said.
As long as the effects are different, the overlapping area will have both effects.
There will only be non-stacking in cases where:
* The effects are causing Redundant Conditions.
* The effects are causing bonuses of the same type.
* The effects attempt to counteract each other (and the caster of at least one of the effects chooses to have them attempt the counteract).
* If the GM determines that the effects are Duplicate Effects even though they are from different sources. (Instantaneous effects should not be considered duplicates because they affect the target at different times.)