Shock Rune confusion


Rules Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So our table is having a heated discussion about the shocking rune. It reads "Electric arcs crisscross shock weapons, dealing an extra 1d6 electricity damage on a hit. On a critical hit, electricity arcs out to deal an equal amount of electricity damage to up to two other creatures of your choice within 10 feet of the target." The problem we have run into is weather the damage that jumps to the two other creatures. Dose the die damage double when it hits the original target? Does that damage that hits the other two the damage from the die or is it the doubled damage that hits thee first target?


5 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

The 1d6 added to hits doubles on a crit. The electricity that jumps out to other creatures is an effect that ONLY happens on a crit, therefore it does not double.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I read it as "Deal an equal amount to the electricity damage dealt to the additional targets". and not "Deal 1d6 damage".

So whatever the 2d6 shows is dealt to both additional targets, imo.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Not entirely clear imo – does 'equal amount' refer to the damage expression from earlier in the sentence, or does it refer to the actual electricity damage dealt to the target? I play it as the latter, thus preserving the doubling, for simplicity and for making it feel a bit more impactful and worthwhile to apply.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Lol. I again see that 'extra damage' wording for damage runes. Then, for doubling damage:
"When this happens, you roll the damage normally, adding all the normal modifiers, bonuses, and penalties. Then you double or halve the amount as appropriate."
'Extra' is not 'modifier', 'bonus', or 'penalty'. Remind me again, why do we even think that crits affect rune damage?
If it's not, the wording of the rune becomes very simple and clear, it's just always an extra 1d6, and the effect on a crit is explicitly written.
This reading also probably could get prevalence of damage runes in check a bit.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Errenor wrote:

Lol. I again see that 'extra damage' wording for damage runes. Then, for doubling damage:

"When this happens, you roll the damage normally, adding all the normal modifiers, bonuses, and penalties. Then you double or halve the amount as appropriate."
'Extra' is not 'modifier', 'bonus', or 'penalty'. Remind me again, why do we even think that crits affect rune damage?
If it's not, the wording of the rune becomes very simple and clear, it's just always an extra 1d6, and the effect on a crit is explicitly written.
This reading also probably could get prevalence of damage runes in check a bit.

Because the rules are meant to be read as English, not a technical manual. If you're going to try to get this technically specific with wording, then you go down a rabbit hole of ridiculous problems. Exemplar's Gleaming Blade damage is 'additional'. That isn't 'modifier', 'bonus', or 'penalty'. So by your logic it doesn't double on a crit either. So are you supposed to subtract that damage before doubling it, and make the whole process substantially more complicated?

This kind of tortured legalistic interpretation of text that isn't written with that level of rigor leads to these kinds of ridiculous arguments.

Try reading it again as a plain English sentence: you roll the damage normally, then you double it for a crit. You normally roll rune damage when doing damage, so you double it on a crit. The only time that doesn't happen is if it explicitly says otherwise, or if the effect is from a crit itself (because you're not normally rolling that).

This is pretty straightforward unless you try to overcomplicate it.


NorrKnekten wrote:

I read it as "Deal an equal amount to the electricity damage dealt to the additional targets". and not "Deal 1d6 damage".

So whatever the 2d6 shows is dealt to both additional targets, imo.

This is how I read it, as well. "Equal amount of damage" is going to be what you rolled as part of your damage roll on the primary target, which will be 2d6 since its a crit. That also means you don't have to roll damage, then turn around and immediately roll damage again with a different number, which helps keep things moving as a nice bonus.

I can see where people reading it the other way are coming from, though.


Tridus wrote:
This kind of tortured legalistic interpretation of text that isn't written with that level of rigor leads to these kinds of ridiculous arguments.

This is NOT 'tortured', 'ridiculous' and not even that legalistic. And don't pretend that it is. The only thing you did here is rejection. That is not in good conscience.

Rules on damage are a mess. We don't know precisely what they intended. In this case too. They probably wrote all those 'extra' and 'additional' to make them stack with everything. But this DOES remove such damage from normal doubling rules.
And also don't pretend that calculations are harder: it's exactly the same number of operations, and you roll runes damage separately anyway, as it's almost always of another type.


Errenor wrote:
Tridus wrote:
This kind of tortured legalistic interpretation of text that isn't written with that level of rigor leads to these kinds of ridiculous arguments.

This is NOT 'tortured', 'ridiculous' and not even that legalistic. And don't pretend that it is. The only thing you did here is rejection. That is not in good conscience.

Rules on damage are a mess. We don't know precisely what they intended. In this case too. They probably wrote all those 'extra' and 'additional' to make them stack with everything. But this DOES remove such damage from normal doubling rules.
And also don't pretend that calculations are harder: it's exactly the same number of operations, and you roll runes damage separately anyway, as it's almost always of another type.

No, it absolutely is. You're arguing 'extra' is not 'modifier', 'bonus', or 'penalty' and thus shouldn't count.

Extra is literally a synonym of bonus.

We often don't know what they intend, but the argument that they don't intend this because they used a common synonym instead of another specific term is not a good one. That's treating the rules as if they're written like the Formula 1 Technical Regulations in how hyperspecific the word choices are, and they're absolutely not written with that kind of rigour.


Tridus wrote:
This kind of tortured legalistic interpretation of text that isn't written with that level of rigor leads to these kinds of ridiculous arguments.

I don't think this argument makes sense here.

This entire debate hinges upon squinting at an odd word choice in very specific ways to divine a solution. The entire discussion is legalistic and technical.

It's a bit much to call the other person's view 'tortured' when the whole thing revolves around language that most other similar abilities just don't use. Especially when the alternative interpretation bypasses the norms for how crit bonuses work.


Squiggit wrote:
Tridus wrote:
This kind of tortured legalistic interpretation of text that isn't written with that level of rigor leads to these kinds of ridiculous arguments.

I don't think this argument makes sense here.

This entire debate hinges upon squinting at an odd word choice in very specific ways to divine a solution. The entire discussion is legalistic and technical.

It's a bit much to call the other person's view 'tortured' when the whole thing revolves around language that most other similar abilities just don't use. Especially when the alternative interpretation bypasses the norms for how crit bonuses work.

Arguing that the damage for the extra creatures doesn't double because they're only taking damage due to a crit makes perfect sense. I wouldn't rule it that way, but the rules case there is reasonable.

Arguing that it doesn't happen because "extra != bonus" is ridiculous and opens up scouring the books for anything that is adding damage to see if its using "bonus" or a synonym of bonus that thus has to be treated differently on crits.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Errenor wrote:
Tridus wrote:
This kind of tortured legalistic interpretation of text that isn't written with that level of rigor leads to these kinds of ridiculous arguments.

This is NOT 'tortured', 'ridiculous' and not even that legalistic. And don't pretend that it is. The only thing you did here is rejection. That is not in good conscience.

Rules on damage are a mess. We don't know precisely what they intended. In this case too. They probably wrote all those 'extra' and 'additional' to make them stack with everything. But this DOES remove such damage from normal doubling rules.
And also don't pretend that calculations are harder: it's exactly the same number of operations, and you roll runes damage separately anyway, as it's almost always of another type.

That reading would be a lot more impactful than just energy runes. It is also a claim that Rage, Sneak Attack, Precision Edge, Weapon Specialization, Implement Empowerment, assorted weapon Ikon Immanence effects, etc all do not double on a critical hit.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
yellowpete wrote:
Not entirely clear imo – does 'equal amount' refer to the damage expression from earlier in the sentence, or does it refer to the actual electricity damage dealt to the target? I play it as the latter, thus preserving the doubling, for simplicity and for making it feel a bit more impactful and worthwhile to apply.

The question listed is exactly the right question to be asking.

Does the 'equal amount' of damage refer to the 1d6 listed earlier in the rule, or does it refer to the rolled amount of damage (which doubles on a crit).

I rule it as the first. It deals 1d6 damage on a crit to the other targets. It will double the damage to the primary target because it is a crit and the rune normally deals 1d6 damage on a hit to that target.

'simplicity' and 'make it feel more impactful' aren't good reasons to override the rule for doubling damage on a crit: "Benefits you gain specifically from a critical hit, like the extra damage die from the fatal weapon trait, aren't doubled."

Since the rune normally does not deal any damage to other targets, then the damage to those other targets on a crit is a benefit that you only get on a crit. It shouldn't be doubled.

If you are rolling 2d6 for the doubled electricity damage on a hit, it might be more difficult to choose which d6 to apply to the other targets. The solution for that is to roll 1d6 and, you know, double it to apply to the primary target. Then there is only one choice for which 1d6 of damage to apply to the other targets. Simple.


Yeah RAW it would be 2*1d6 on initial target, With it being the same value or just the value of the d6 being dealt to additional targets being somewhat ambigious.

I think either way is fine even if I feel that 1d6 to the additional targets makes the shock rune quite a lot weaker compared to the other elemental damage runes like Decaying or Flaming which typically adds quite alot more than just 2d6 worth.

Def one of those "Apply it based on table preference".

"Equal amount" being the ambigious part that could be easily clarified with a numerical value, as obviously you dont double the persistent damage from a Decaying or Flaming rune so why would you do it in this instance.


To determine intent with game balance, let's compare it to the flaming rune. It's the same level after all.

Flaming causes the weapon to do an additional 1d6 fire on a hit, plus 1d10 persistent fire on a crit.

So in terms of power, which interpretation is closer to 1d10 persistent fire? 1d6 electricity to two other creatures, or 2*1d6 electricity to two other creatures?


If we are only talking total damage dealt by the two effects,because the value of spreading damage is very subjective, then 2*1d6.

If the persistent damage only deals damage twice we are looking at 11avg. 16.5avg if it lasts 3 turns which 56% of the time it does unless combat ends earlier.

So if we expect 11-16 damage from a single instance of persistent damage then the closest we get is 4*1d6 (same 2*1d6 dealt to both targets).

As 2(d6) averages 7
And 4(d6) averages 14

Both effects can lose out on damage either because combat ended before the persistent got a second or third tick, or because there werent two extra targets nearby.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I agree that the already doubled electricity damage is what the damage to the other targets is equal to. If it was meant to deal the undoubled damage, the crit effect would likely say "deal electricity damage to up to two other creatures of your choice within 10 feet of the target. This damage is equal to the result of the electricity damage die you rolled."


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I would go with the player rolling the die.
Take that result and apply it where the game asks.

For the crit damage calculation it would be included before multiplying.
For the targets within 10 feet of the crit target it would not be multiplied since those targets were not critically hit by anything.


I feel that if they intended for the damage to not be dubbed on crit they would have added a statement about it in the text.

something like this.
"electricity arcs out to deal an equal amount of electricity damage, Before doubling to up to two other creatures of your choice within 10 feet of the target."


Yeah, otherwise, what is the electricity damage even equal to?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

The amount on the rolled die.
If you look at the damage section in Player Core it says you will have situations where you multiply damage critical damage is one of them. But the damage that triggers specifically because of a crit is never multiplied.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Bluemagetim wrote:

The amount on the rolled die.

If you look at the damage section in Player Core it says you will have situations where you multiply damage critical damage is one of them. But the damage that triggers specifically because of a crit is never multiplied.

That section is kinda useless for this discussion though, as it does not at all resolve the ambiguity of "equal amount of electricty damage" since it could mean "deals an equal amount of electricity damage as to the primary target".

Nobody is saying that you double the damage against the two targets. Rather the issue lies with the rune being written with "deal an equal amount of electricity damage to up to two other creatures". Thats not a doubling of damage, Rather its a copy of a value. Even the axe crit spec needed to be clarified that it wasn't doubled for much of the same reason since it read that you "deal the result of the weapon damage dice".

And thats where we are now, Nobody can with enough confidence or evidence show which reading of what an "Equal amount" is between Base Damage or Dealt Damage.

Gramatically I believe damage dealt is the correct reading and RAI, we can draw inferences that backs that up to simply by how small the crit effect is in comparison to other runes. But unless Errata or Paizo Devs blesses us with a clarification this is where we stand.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
NorrKnekten wrote:
Bluemagetim wrote:

The amount on the rolled die.

If you look at the damage section in Player Core it says you will have situations where you multiply damage critical damage is one of them. But the damage that triggers specifically because of a crit is never multiplied.

That section is kinda useless for this discussion though, as it does not at all resolve the ambiguity of "equal amount of electricty damage" since it could mean "deals an equal amount of electricity damage as to the primary target".

Nobody is saying that you double the damage against the two targets. Rather the issue lies with the rune being written with "deal an equal amount of electricity damage to up to two other creatures". Thats not a doubling of damage, Rather its a copy of a value. Even the axe crit spec needed to be clarified that it wasn't doubled for much of the same reason since it read that you "deal the result of the weapon damage dice".

And thats where we are now, Nobody can with enough confidence or evidence show which reading of what an "Equal amount" is between Base Damage or Dealt Damage.

Gramatically I believe damage dealt is the correct reading and RAI, we can draw inferences that backs that up to simply by how small the crit effect is in comparison to other runes. But unless Errata or Paizo Devs blesses us with a clarification this is where we stand.

Im not sure we can be that dismissive of the damage section as it applies here. I’m pretty sure it describes what to do and not do.

Ill take another look later and get back to this.

And believe me, im the first person who would want an electricity effect to be more powerful rather than less, but im pretty sure it isnt here.


Bluemagetim wrote:

Im not sure we can be that dismissive of the damage section as it applies here. I’m pretty sure it describes what to do and not do.

Ill take another look later and get back to this.

Ok, Let me rephrase that,

The section does not apply or give any clarity because the ambiguity of the rune itself. And the text can be read as "Deal an equal amount of electricity damage dealt by that critical hit"

If the effect tells us the value is equal to the damage dealt then yeah, it is equal to the damage dealt and not the result of the die regardless of what the doubling on crit rules say.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Electric arcs crisscross shock weapons, dealing an extra
1d6 electricity damage on a hit. On a critical hit, electricity
arcs out to deal an equal amount of electricity damage to up
to two other creatures of your choice within 10 feet of the
target.

Ah ok there was my misread. Its not the roll result that is the equal amount.
What is actually referred to when they say equal amount of damage? The only damage reference I see in the description is 1d6. The equal amount of damage must also be 1d6.

As you also acknowledged we know we are not going to multiply any amounts of damage that happen only because of the crit so it stays 1d6 for the targets 10 ft away.

This is clear enough to know you will do 1d6 to the targets 10 ft away. it actually probably should be rolled anew for the new targets because 1d6 is what is being referenced.

The 1d6 being the equal amount is actually what Finoan said earlier in the thread so credit to Finoan.


Bluemagetim wrote:

Ah ok there was my misread. Its not the roll result that is the equal amount.

What is actually referred to when they say equal amount of damage? The only damage reference I see in the description is 1d6. The equal amount of damage must also be 1d6.

That is why its ambigious, The part "equal amount of electricity damage" is the issue, Because as said "amount equal to what".

If we take the text as it currently reads there is no distinction between it meaning; The result of the d6 from the rune, 1d6 to each target with separate rolls, the amount of damage the primary target was dealt from the rune.

That is also why the previously mentioned rules section does not solve this. Because the text can be read as telling you to deal the same 2(1d6) to the other targets as the primary target was dealt. And that still follows the rules about not doubling the damage on effects specific to criticals. Because if we doubled that we would be looking at 4(1d6) per target.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
NorrKnekten wrote:
Bluemagetim wrote:

Ah ok there was my misread. Its not the roll result that is the equal amount.

What is actually referred to when they say equal amount of damage? The only damage reference I see in the description is 1d6. The equal amount of damage must also be 1d6.

That is why its ambigious, The part "equal amount of electricity damage" is the issue, Because as said "amount equal to what".

If we take the text as it currently reads there is no distinction between it meaning; The result of the d6 from the rune, 1d6 to each target with separate rolls, the amount of damage the primary target was dealt from the rune.

That is also why the previously mentioned rules section does not solve this. Because the text can be read as telling you to deal the same 2(1d6) to the other targets as the primary target was dealt. And that still follows the rules about not doubling the damage on effects specific to criticals. Because if we doubled that we would be looking at 4(1d6) per target.

1d6 is a variable amount of damage and it is the only damage reference in the description to go on. That is enough for me at least to be certain that 1d6 is the damage they mean when they say equal to.

I mean it doesn't say do damage equal to the result right?
So when you state equal to what? the answer is 1d6 and that answer can be found in the description itself.


If they actually wanted the other targets to take 1d6 damage, why not just write "deal 1d6 damage to up to 2 other targets?"

It makes more sense that what the amount of damage dealt is meant to be equal to is an actual amount of damage dealt rather than a damage roll reference.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Mhm, Gramatically there isn't a distinction as to what this "equal amount" is, nor is there any obvious interpretation to be made.

SuperParkourio wrote:
If they actually wanted the other targets to take 1d6 damage, why not just write "deal 1d6 damage to up to 2 other targets?"
Here is the thing, early Shock didn't have this problem. Because it litterary did say that
2018 playtest p375 wrote:

Shock Rune 9+

Electric arcs crisscross this weapon each time it hits, dealing 1d6 additional electricity damage on a successful attack. On a critical hit, electricity arcs out to damage up to two other creatures.

Type Standard; level 9
On a critical hit, the weapon deals 1d6 to each additional target.

Type Greater; level 14
The weapon also deals 2d6 persistent electricity damage to the initial target, and the electricity damage from this weapon ignores the initial target's resistance. On a critical hit, the weapon deals 2d6 electricity damage to each additional creature.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
NorrKnekten wrote:

Mhm, Gramatically there isn't a distinction as to what this "equal amount" is, nor is there any obvious interpretation to be made.

SuperParkourio wrote:
If they actually wanted the other targets to take 1d6 damage, why not just write "deal 1d6 damage to up to 2 other targets?"
Here is the thing, early Shock didn't have this problem. Because it litterary did say that
2018 playtest p375 wrote:

Shock Rune 9+

Electric arcs crisscross this weapon each time it hits, dealing 1d6 additional electricity damage on a successful attack. On a critical hit, electricity arcs out to damage up to two other creatures.

Type Standard; level 9
On a critical hit, the weapon deals 1d6 to each additional target.

Type Greater; level 14
The weapon also deals 2d6 persistent electricity damage to the initial target, and the electricity damage from this weapon ignores the initial target's resistance. On a critical hit, the weapon deals 2d6 electricity damage to each additional creature.

Well im not sure there is this much ambiguity written there.

They say it deals an equal amount of electricity damage and the sentence just before it gave the 1d6 electricity damage. So its not stated in a vacuum.


The playtest version did not claim the 1d6 to the other targets was equal to the 2*1d6 to the initial target. There's no reason to conclude that the up to date version is using "equal" as a substitute for 1d6, especially since "equal amount of" takes up a lot more space than "1d6." The whole point of the playtest was to see what needed fixing, as evidently this rune did.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
SuperParkourio wrote:
The playtest version did not claim the 1d6 to the other targets was equal to the 2*1d6 to the initial target. There's no reason to conclude that the up to date version is using "equal" as a substitute for 1d6, especially since "equal amount of" takes up a lot more space than "1d6." The whole point of the playtest was to see what needed fixing, as evidently this rune did.

I am not sure you've established there is no reason to conclude "that the up to date version is using "equal" as a substitute for 1d6,..."

The reason to conclude it is 1d6 is found in the current description.
The playtest comments don't change what the current entry states.

Actually they did save space in another area. Its just further down. The level 8 entry no longer has to say how much damage the shock rune does to additional targets on crit where its giving the price for it since its given in the description. Also trimmed a bit for the higher level version by removing the persistent damage.

Type shock; Level 8; Price 500 gp
Type greater shock; Level 15; Price 6,500 gp
Electricity damage dealt by this weapon ignores the target’s
electricity resistance (and the other creatures’ on a critical hit)


Bluemagetim wrote:
Actually they did save space in another area. Its just further down. The level 8 entry no longer has to say how much damage the shock rune does to additional targets on crit where its giving the price for it since its given in the description. Also trimmed a bit for the higher level version by removing the persistent damage.

Until you realize that other similar runes also had this formatting change but the only one who lost the explicit mention of how much damage it deals was Shock Rune. Others like the Corrosive Rune gained an explicit mention of damage.

Flaming and Vitalizing(previously disrupting) for example used to read

2018 playtest p375 wrote:

Flaming Rune +9

This weapon is empowered by flickering flame. The weapon deals 1d6 additional fire damage on hit and additional effects on crit
Type; Standard level 9
on a critical hit, the target also takes 1d10 fire damage.
Type; greater level 14
on critical hit, the target also takes 2d10 persistent fire damage, fire damage dealt by this weapon (including the persistent fire) ignores the target's fire resistance.
2018 playtest p375 wrote:

Disupting Rune +5

A disrupting weapon deals extra damage to undead. undead hit by an attack with a disrupting weapon takes extra positive damage and additional effects on critical hit.
Type; Standard level 5
This weapon deals 1d6 extra positive damage. On a critical hit, the undead is enfeebled 1 until the end of your next turn.
Type; greater level 15(uncommon)
This weapon deals 2d6 extra positive damage. On a critical hit, the undead creature must attempt a DC32 Fortitude save with the following effects.

Success: The target is enfeebled 2 until the end of your next turn
Critical Success: The target is enfeebled 1 until the end of your next turn
Failure: The target is enfeebled 3 until the end of your next turn
Critical Failure: The target is destroyed.

Formatting was changed to avoid typing out repeated phrases such as "this weapon deals X extra damage" across the board but the only one where they didnt move the explicit damage reference was the shock rune while also overhauling the greater version to make it even less clear if this is a change in behavior or not.

Why? Who knows! But using "deals an equal amount of electricity damage" is a very strange choice when "deals 1d6 electricity damage" is more concise and with less ambiguity if they are indeed meant to have the mean the same here.

Remember, this entire thread started because a group couldnt come to the same interpretation, Evidently this forum can't either as this isn't the first post discussing the shock rune Probably won't be the last either. Specifically because of this ambiguity that could've been preserved with the previously mention of "deals 1d6 electric damage" that was removed upon the release of CRB.

There is just as much reason to think its 1d6 as it is 2*(1d6) and the only way we are going to come to any sort of resolution there is a dev clarification, Errata or going to deep into linguistics than what is comfortable for a difference of 7 damage average at level 8.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Normally, when a spell wants to use a die expression again for a different instance of damage, it actually prints out the die expression a second time because it's more readable and takes up less space than "equal amount of". For instance, Live Wire doesn't say, "The wire deals 1d4 piercing damage and an equal amount of electricity damage. On a critical hit, deal double damage and an equal amount of persistent electricity damage."


The more I read this and the texts of runes the more I think that runes' damage was never intended to double on crits and supposed to be just a bit of damage 'on top' plus additional specific effects on crits.


Errenor wrote:
The more I read this and the texts of runes the more I think that runes' damage was never intended to double on crits and supposed to be just a bit of damage 'on top' plus additional specific effects on crits.

Any basis for claiming that every player, GM, and VTT implementation has been wrong about this game for the past 6 years?

The base damage added by the rune is explicitly not exclusive to a critical hit, which means a critical hit doubles it.

As for the shock rune, the damage is also not exclusive to a critical hit. It's just that said damage is normally only dealt to the initial target, and now it's also being dealt to two other targets.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

How have VTTs implemented the additional electricity damage on crit to other targets?

Foundry I manually apply the 1d6 roll to other targets.


I'm talking about the doubling of rune damage on a crit in general. I don't know if or how Foundry handles the shock crit effect, but I assume Foundry expects you to manually reduce the HP of the secondary targets.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

yeah Foundry will double the damage from the rune for the creature that was critically hit.
The crit effect for additional targets is a manually applied


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Errenor wrote:
The more I read this and the texts of runes the more I think that runes' damage was never intended to double on crits and supposed to be just a bit of damage 'on top' plus additional specific effects on crits.
There is an errata that touches upon this.
Quote:
Page 585: In the wounding rune, given that persistent damage doubles on a critical hit, changing the 1d6 to 1d12 instead of doubling would actually make it deal less damage on average. Thus, remove the part about changing to 1d12 damage on a critical hit. Instead, the wounding rune's bleed damage doubles as normal for persistent damage.
Bluemagetism wrote:
How have VTTs implemented the additional electricity damage on crit to other targets?

For how PF2e foundry devs implemented it, They actually cannot automate it with how the system works as seen inThis issue from 2020.

Taken from The current implementation nothing has changed.
-add 1d6 electricity damage
-when rolled critically attach a note.

Last time I checked was years ago and the one I was talking to was also unsure if "equal amounts of electricity damage" meant the value after the damage roll, or equal to the result of the damage die you rolled like it is worded in the axe crit spec.

That crit spec too is something where they had to include the line "This amount isnt doubled" at the CRB launch, Because people were playing it as it as dealing 2*(Initial Weapon Damage dice roll) to the secondary target during playtests. Which is pretty much the exact same issue that we see here.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
NorrKnekten wrote:
Errenor wrote:
The more I read this and the texts of runes the more I think that runes' damage was never intended to double on crits and supposed to be just a bit of damage 'on top' plus additional specific effects on crits.
There is an errata that touches upon this.
Quote:
Page 585: In the wounding rune, given that persistent damage doubles on a critical hit, changing the 1d6 to 1d12 instead of doubling would actually make it deal less damage on average. Thus, remove the part about changing to 1d12 damage on a critical hit. Instead, the wounding rune's bleed damage doubles as normal for persistent damage.
Bluemagetism wrote:
How have VTTs implemented the additional electricity damage on crit to other targets?

For how PF2e foundry devs implemented it, They actually cannot automate it with how the system works as seen inThis issue from 2020.

Taken from The current implementation nothing has changed.
-add 1d6 electricity damage
-when rolled critically attach a note.

Last time I checked was years ago and the one I was talking to was also unsure if "equal amounts of electricity damage" meant the value after the damage roll, or equal to the result of the damage die you rolled like it is worded in the axe crit spec.

That crit spec too is something where they had to include the line "This amount isnt doubled" at the CRB launch, Because people were playing it as it as dealing 2*(Initial Weapon Damage dice roll) to the secondary target during playtests. Which is pretty much the exact same issue that we see here.

I think the on crit abilities not ever doubling is the thing to follow. So the equal to amount needs to be the pre doubled amount to the keep with the spirit of the rules


2 people marked this as a favorite.

And maybe you are right because we don't know the intention, but we also agree that crit benefits arent doubled. But rules as written, if an element's crit effect tells you a referenced value then you use that value. For example if a crit-effect deals a secondary target the same amount of damage as the primary. You just don't double the value after the fact.

The on hit effect of "Deal 1d6 electricity damage" will be 2(1d6) on a crit. So wording like "equal amount" doesn't help determining pre or post-doubling the same way "equal to the result of the rolled die from this rune" does. But if that was ambigious enough for Axe Crit Spec to warrant adding "this amount is not doubled" then what does that say about this rune?

The playtest iteration was lovely and concise. "On critical hit, deal 1d6 to up to two additional targets within 10ft".

Currently im of the mind that any of the 3 common rulings in this thread are valid and perfectly fine RAW, even if I go with the generous one to make it competitive with the other options. Ofcourse GM has final say. But I would not fault anyone from just saying "oh.. Im going to pick frost instead" when they only got half of what they expected.


Even if we use the most generous ruling(one that i agree with) that you take the doubled damage,

i never take that rune for its crit effect but rather theme or to bump my already existing electricity damage(usualy because of character theme :p)

getting a smal amount of spread out damage rarely do anything, especially when you cant controll when it happens.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Shock Rune confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.