
Matthew Downie |

You ask the target creature a single question. On the subject’s next action, it must answer truthfully in the same language as the question or take 1d6 points of damage per two caster levels (maximum 5d6) and be sickened for 2d4 rounds. A successful Will save negates the sickening effect and halves the damage.
Suppose someone wants to lie despite this having been cast on them, then pretend that they weren't hurt so that their lie would be believed. Are there any rules that cover this? If not, how would you rule it? Bluff skill versus Sense Motive? (Would the amount of damage affect the DC?) What about a Fortitude save?

TxSam88 |

I doubt there are rules for this, so this is how I would rule it...
yes, it would be a Bluff Vs. Sense motive, as normal for telling lies, but the Bluff would have a penalty equal to the total damage dealt by the spell, so every round you take damage, faking it gets harder, with an additional penalty of -5 if sickened.

![]() |

Personally, I believe a penalty related to the damage dealt would be too harsh. Add Sickened and -5 on top of that and this will be an impossible check.
It is important to remember that hit points and damage are an abstraction, so 5d6 damage to a 1st level character is completely different than a 10th level character taking the same damage.
Personally, I'd go with both a Fortitude save and then a Bluff check. Same DC as the spell for the Fortitude save and if the character passes, they managed to contain the pain, allowing them to make a Bluff check with no penalty (or just with the sickened if they failed the Will save).
If the Fortitude fails, then have the Bluff check with a -5 or -10 penalty (for unlikely or far-fetched lie), plus the sickened penalty.

Azothath |
Confess:E2 seems pretty straight forward and Bluff doesn't enter the spell description as it's not a perceived truth but they can prevaricate and hide the truth within lies thus avoiding damage as adding disinformation to the truth is allowed. I think answering with a riddle that does not state the "truth" would count as "not speaking the truth in the same language" as it requires interpretation. The caster and target know if the target made or failed the save right after attempting to affect the target. Any damage and conditions apply AFTER the target fails to meet the spell requirements.
Still, if the player gets creative (not a bad thing) make sure the PC's INT or Bluff is reasonable for what they said.

Pizza Lord |
My thoughts on this are that it could be possible in a similar case. But in this specific case, it is highly unlikely to work (in so far as tricking the caster).
In a similar situation, I like TxSam88's ruling, where it would be Bluff vs Sense Motive with a penalty for the damage (or a –2 distraction penalty at the least). I wouldn't do a –5 penalty for being sickened, I would just add the –2 penalty sickened already gives to skill checks. I don't see the need to double (or triple, in this case) penalties for being sickened. (As a GM, I might also allow the caster to make a Heal check vs the Bluff check to note that you're hiding the sickened condition if it's higher than their Sense Motive, but that's a personal call and it wouldn't tell them you're lying... maybe you were sickened before, but it would be a strong indicator, but only one or the other).
In this specific case, however, there's some factors to be taken into account. First, the assumption is that you only get to make a save when you lie and the spell damages you (and that's the basis of this question, you lying about it). So that's means, when you lie, you get a save. If you pass the save for half damage, the caster knows you made the save (because the spell has no other obvious physical or visual effect that I can see). Ergo, he knows you lied (or at least didn't answer, which he'd also know... since you didn't answer). So I wouldn't allow a Bluff at all in that case to convince him you're telling the truth, whether you can believably pretend you took no damage.
So, you'd have to fail (or choose to fail) and take full damage and be sickened for the caster to not know you failed (since they get no indication unless you pass the save) in which case they can either assume you lied and failed or told the truth and didn't make a save.
So, yes, it's possible if you fail the save, and then pass a Bluff check with penalties for Sickened and probably penalties either based on damage, or a –2 distraction penalty at the very least (but thats GM's call).
Having said all that, in this case, it's probably best to just not answer, or tell the truth and then add on something that will be detrimental that isn't part of the question, but could be mistaken as such.
For example, if they ask where your boss is (In a house on Wharf Street with a blue door), you can't say behind a green door. But, if the house had a blue and a green door leading into it, but the green door was trapped, you could. Or you could say 'The house on Wharf Street with the blue door, The passcode is 'Gold'." Even if that code is a warning phrase or danger code, because they didn't ask how to get in or if there was a code and they might not realize what you did.

Mysterious Stranger |

Trying to lie to a 5th level or higher inquisitor is very difficult. Not only do they have an incredible sense motive, they can also discern lies for 1 round per level. So, you need to be able to make a will save and beat their sense motive. Once the inquisitor has access to discern lies confess is not all that useful of a spell for determine the truth.
I usually don’t bother with confess for an inquisitor for this reason. They get so few spells that taking this to add an additional layer of difficulty is not really worth it. Detect Thoughts is a much better choice if you want to get information from a target.

Matthew Downie |

I found the rule some of you mentioned about knowing if someone made a save:
Succeeding on a Saving Throw
A creature that successfully saves against a spell that has no obvious physical effects feels a hostile force or a tingle, but cannot deduce the exact nature of the attack. Likewise, if a creature’s saving throw succeeds against a targeted spell, you sense that the spell has failed. You do not sense when creatures succeed on saves against effect and area spells.
So bluffing not being hurt to the caster is impossible. They'll know you didn't speak the truth because you rolled the save. But you could delay answering, take the damage and then when the spell is no longer in effect say, "All right, I'll talk, the truth is..."

![]() |

So bluffing not being hurt to the caster is impossible. They'll know you didn't speak the truth because you rolled the save. But you could delay answering, take the damage and then when the spell is no longer in effect say, "All right, I'll talk, the truth is..."
This isn't true. The inquisitor casts the spell and the character makes the save before the character answers (or not) the answer. This in fact will work in favor of the character, because if they fail the save, the inquisitor will know and then will be either expecting the truth to their answer or the visible pain.
So, because of this, if the character can hide the pain (either with a fortitude save or Bluff vs Heal, or whatever), the inquisitor should be very inclined to believe what the character is saying and I'd even give the character a bonus because now the inquisitor wants to believe the character.

Mysterious Stranger |

You ask the target creature a single question. On the subject's next action, it must answer truthfully in the same language as the question or take 1d6 points of damage per two caster levels (maximum 5d6) and be sickened for 2d4 rounds. A successful Will save negates the sickening effect and halves the damage. A creature that is unable to answer still takes damage.
By the description you only have to make the save if you are not willing or able to answer truthfully. The choice to answer is left to the target. The saving throw is also listed as will partial, not will negates. So, when the spell is cast you either decide to answer truthfully, or you resist the spell. The rule specifically states that a caster knows if the target makes his save. So, if the target succeeds on the will save the caster is aware of it. If the target fails his save he is sickened for 2d4 rounds and takes damage. Trying to hide the sickened condition is going to be a lot more difficult than hiding the damage.
Sense motive can also be used to detect if a person is under an enchantment. Since Confess is an enchantment that means you can use sense motive to determine if the target is under the influence of the spell. This means an inquisitor can roll vs the DC of 25 instead of the targets bluff.
I have to agree with Matthew on the fact that you are not going to be able to bluff your way past this.

Azothath |
there's a lot of putting the cart before the horse in the posts. Reading up on how spellcasting and saves work is a GMs job, so thumbs up.
There is a set of sequences that you have to go through. The save happens right after targeting the creature as there's no variance in the spell description from the normal rules. You'd have to GM rule it to take place later (on the target's turn). Making assumptions about the results is simply going to add in-game humor.
Due to Game Balance, any spellcasting is kinda obvious (to prevent spellcasters from running amok and sometimes I think they said that just so they could say "amok"). Spellcasting Manafrustrations(or manifestations) along with wacky verbal components and wielding a divine focus are going to ensure observers are aware of spellcasting (spellcraft is needed to identify the spell).
TBH there is a vast murky forest of half-truths between the plain truth and non-truth. So only detecting a believed verbal truth or plain lie isn't going to help much (but it's better than Sense Motive). The GM is going to be the arbiter on what is or isn't a stated truth or non-truth or lie. While thematic to an inquisitor this type of spell can lead to more excuses for uncalled for violence (murder hoboing). The deities are watching.
I'm kinda amused that mimes, the severely afflicted (deaf, mute, cursed, confused(75%), catatonic, pathological liars) and some others (like sleepers) are always going to fail stating a verbal truth to the question in time. Clearly the answer is given under duress.

Matthew Downie |

The spell is language-dependent.
If the target cannot understand or hear what the caster of a language-dependent spell says, the spell has no effect
So deaf or sleeping people would not be affected, and you can't use it as a combat spell just by asking questions in a language your target doesn't know.
Do the rules ever specifically say that by default a save happens right after targeting the creature? I'd assume a save to halve the damage you take would happen if and when you took the damage.

Mysterious Stranger |

As far as I know there is no rule that states all saves are made when they target the creature. In fact, some spells do not actually target creatures but allow save. Illusions are the best example of this. You only get a save vs an illusion if you interact with the illusion. There are also plenty of spells that allow a save at a later date.
Dominate Person gives you a new save if the command forces you to take actions against its nature. You could tell someone under a Dominate Person to kill anyone coming through this door and the barbarian fails the initial save. The barbarian is going to attempt to kill anything coming through the door. If someone the barbarian loves comes through the door, they get a new save to resist killing their loved one.

Pizza Lord |
As far as I know there is no rule that states all saves are made when they target the creature.
Agreed. While that's likely the method for most spells, I think it isn't always the case. It just wouldn't make sense for all of them.
There is a set of sequences that you have to go through. The save happens right after targeting the creature as there's no variance in the spell description from the normal rules.
It would certainly help if all spells stated such things, but it's not how it works. Sometimes things aren't parsed out in perfect order or it's believed (or hoped) that the reader will understand the intent.
Triggered hallucination does have such text, and checks for Spell Resistance when cast (so you'd know in that case if it failed), but there's no saving throw until the trigger occurs, which you might not even be around for. You don't get to know ahead of time whether they'll fail or not when it triggers. There's no save to stop the spell from being cast. Theoretically there could be 15 triggered hallucinations on a target and there's nothing they could do about it (barring Spell Resistance or dispelling them before the trigger occurs). No save or anything, just hope they can pass it when it happens.
You don't check first and know, "Oh, it's not gonna work when it happens." Nor should the target,
Marks of Forbiddance doesn't say it, but reading the intent, it doesn't look like it checks when it's cast, only when the targets try to attack each other. Otherwise you are having a spell that can fail based on two creatures making a save and if one passes the spell is wasted (obviously if one passes the spell shouldn't work just one-way), and then having a save again for each attack just for the spell to do anything. It just doesn't seem intended that such a short-lived spell, with conditions that make it harmless (just don't attack each other), would be intended to require the caster to beat two saving throws and require another each round to have any effect.
Same with discern lies. While I agree all the targets (let's say up to 7 at the level you can cast it) have to be in range (and within 30 feet of each other at casting), I don't think you make the save until you concentrate on one and try to discern the lies. Otherwise, you know which ones passed already, and why would you ever concentrate on that target (and they're not even technically a target anymore, since they passed and Negated it), they shouldn't still have a negated magic aura visible or be under it's effect after saving, even if you can't do anything. It just makes logical sense that when you actually concentrate on that one, you make the check.
So while the save at casting thing is probably correct 95%+ of the time, it's not always the case, and I don't think it works for confess as smoothly as only requiring the save when/if they lie and would take damage.