Syncretism in Multiclass Clerics


Rules Discussion

Radiant Oath

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

The text of the Syncretism feat specifies different benefits depending on which Cleric doctrine you follow.

Given if you multiclass via the Cleric Archetype, you don't actually pick a doctrine, where does that leave a character who picks Syncretism up via Basic Dogma (especially since the only prerequisites for Syncretism are "you follow a deity?" Would it make more sense to just say Syncretism can only be taken if Cleric is your character's initial class, or to homebrew some third option, like the feat suggests if the Cleric is neither Cloistered nor Warpriest but another secret third thing?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The easiest, most fair, and probably most RAW ruling is that the <null> doctrine most definitely qualifies as "If you have a different doctrine than cloistered cleric or warpriest".

Other rulings would be that you couldn't take that particular feat from the archetype - whether by adding a dependency on the two doctrines, or just a pointing out that the feat will do nothing for the character. There are feats that are like that - though generally most of them will list a class feature as a prerequisite in order to expressly prevent taking them. Tandem feats for Summoner Archetype also comes to mind.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Superscriber
breithauptclan wrote:

The easiest, most fair, and probably most RAW ruling is that the <null> doctrine most definitely qualifies as "If you have a different doctrine than cloistered cleric or warpriest".

Other rulings would be that you couldn't take that particular feat from the archetype - whether by adding a dependency on the two doctrines, or just a pointing out that the feat will do nothing for the character. There are feats that are like that - though generally most of them will list a class feature as a prerequisite in order to expressly prevent taking them. Tandem feats for Summoner Archetype also comes to mind.

I agree with you.

It is worth noting that for PFS, they have specifically nullified that last line of the feat "If you have a different doctrine than cloistered cleric or warpriest" so if the OP is looking for PFS guidance, the answer is less clear.


Which probably means that PFS is going with the second option - that Cleric Archetype characters shouldn't take the feat. Because without that line it is hard to justify the feat having any benefit to a Cleric that doesn't have one of the two doctrines.

Liberty's Edge

breithauptclan wrote:
Which probably means that PFS is going with the second option - that Cleric Archetype characters shouldn't take the feat. Because without that line it is hard to justify the feat having any benefit to a Cleric that doesn't have one of the two doctrines.

RAW in PFS you can take the feat and the anathema but you get no benefit if Multiclass.

Radiant Oath

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Awwwww, NERTS! I figured this was the case. Thanks for the confirmation!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Syncretism in Multiclass Clerics All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.