make yourself Frightened for a long duration


Advice

The Exchange

Hello, is there any way to make yourself frightened for a long duration?

I'm not allowed to put links in my first post, sorry.

I have a strange build that uses swallow your fear.

If the subject is frightened, he remains in place and gains the confused condition for the remainder of the fear effect, except he treats all results of “attack self ” as “do nothing” and treats “attack nearest creature” as “act normally.”

Since this build is already confused, this confusion effect is a buff. However I need to remain frightened in order to keep the buff. My current approach is to have two fear effects which each shake, so they combine together to frighten.

Fear wrote:
Fear effects are cumulative. A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes frightened

However, if I get a single effect that frightens, then I can cure the shaken while keeping the frightened, and then I don't suffer from the -2 penalty.

Fear wrote:
Characters who are frightened are shaken, and in addition they flee from the source of their fear as quickly as they can.

Here is the investigation I've already done

Shadow Lodge

The morale bonuses from Swallow Your Fear (A Gorum specific spell, btw) won't stack with the bonuses from the Rageshaper's Devestating Form as they are both morale bonuses (the AC Penalties, however, will stack).

Source Ultimate Wilderness pg. 82

...
Devastating Form (Su): A rageshaper can enter a state of intense fury, transforming into a living engine of destruction. This ability functions as the barbarian’s rage class feature, except entering this state of fury requires a full-round action that provokes attacks of opportunity and has additional effects as noted below. At the start of the rageshaper’s next turn, he not only gains the benefit of rage but also grows one size category larger (though worn equipment and held items do not increase in size).
...
A rageshaper can remain in his devastating form for a number of rounds per day equal to his shifter level. He can dismiss devastating form only with a successful Will save (DC = 10 + his shifter level) made as a free action. On a failed save, the attempted remains in devastating form for an additional round. If the rageshaper does not successfully end his devastating form before he runs out of daily rounds, the next time he fails his Will save to revert, he flies into an uncontrollable frenzy as if affected by confusion, but he treats a roll of 26–50 as “attacks nearest creature.” Each round the rageshaper spends in an uncontrollable frenzy, the Will save DC to exit devastating form decreases by 2.
...
Barbarian wrote:

Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 31

...
Rage (Ex): A barbarian can call upon inner reserves of strength and ferocity, granting her additional combat prowess. Starting at 1st level, a barbarian can rage for a number of rounds per day equal to 4 + her Constitution modifier. At each level after 1st, she can rage for 2 additional rounds. Temporary increases to Constitution, such as those gained from rage and spells like bear's endurance, do not increase the total number of rounds that a barbarian can rage per day. A barbarian can enter rage as a free action. The total number of rounds of rage per day is renewed after resting for 8 hours, although these hours do not need to be consecutive.

While in rage, a barbarian gains a +4 morale bonus to her Strength and Constitution, as well as a +2 morale bonus on Will saves. In addition, she takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class. The increase to Constitution grants the barbarian 2 hit points per Hit Dice, but these disappear when the rage ends and are not lost first like temporary hit points. While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.

A barbarian can end her rage as a free action and is fatigued after rage for a number of rounds equal to 2 times the number of rounds spent in the rage. A barbarian cannot enter a new rage while fatigued or exhausted but can otherwise enter rage multiple times during a single encounter or combat. If a barbarian falls unconscious, her rage immediately ends, placing her in peril of death.
...

Source Pathfinder #35: War of the River Kings pg. 73

School enchantment; Level bard 1, cleric 1, oracle 1, skald 1, warpriest 1 (Gorum)
Casting
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Effect
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one creature plus one additional creature per four levels, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart
Duration 10 minutes; see text
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
Description
You make the affected subjects ready for battle despite their fear. If a target is suffering from a fear effect of any kind, he gains a +2 morale bonus to Strength and Constitution, a +1 morale bonus on Will saves, and a –2 penalty to AC. If the subject is frightened, he remains in place and gains the confused condition for the remainder of the fear effect, except he treats all results of “attack self ” as “do nothing” and treats “attack nearest creature” as “act normally.” If the subject is panicked, he remains in place and gains the confused condition for the duration of the fear effect.

Please note that since the rageshaper archetype doesn't specifically refer to the Unchained Barbarian class feature of the same name, you are supposed to use the CRB Barbarian's version.

Finally, the 'multiple spell effect' guidelines indicate that the 'rage' confusion will probably replace the 'spell' confusion since the spell was presumably cast first (remember, rage prevents you from spellcasting) so the actual spell itself seems kinda pointless...

Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 208

Spells or magical effects usually work as described, no matter how many other spells or magical effects happen to be operating in the same area or on the same recipient. Except in special cases, a spell does not affect the way another spell operates. Whenever a spell has a specif ic effect on other spells, the spell description explains that effect. Several other general rules apply when spells or magical effects operate in the same place:

...

Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts.

Dark Archive

This trait might help?
Iron Control
Source Bastards of Golarion pg. 10
Category Race
Requirement(s) Half-Orc—Human-Raised
You learned the hard way that expressing the rage you inherited from your orc blood exacerbates humans’ fearful and hostile reactions to you; after years of effort, you’ve mastered self-control and buried your anger deep. Whenever you’re confused and roll to determine behavior in a given round, subtract 10 from the result.

The Exchange

Taja the Barbarian, I only care about the confusion effect from swallow your fear, not the mini-rage effect. The mini-rage only lasts 10 minutes, while the confusion lasts as long as the frightened effect does. BTW, how did you preserve formatting when copying everything into a quote box? That seems like a lot of work!

Thank you for citing the Combining Magical Effects chapter, I hadn't read it before. It seems like this doesn't apply, because it's not two instances of the same spell, and also:

Rageshaper's Devastating Form applies before the confusion roll.

he flies into an uncontrollable frenzy as if affected by confusion, but he treats a roll of 26–50 as “attacks nearest creature.”

While the other effect modifies the result after the roll.

If the subject is frightened, he remains in place and gains the confused condition for the remainder of the fear effect, except he treats all results of “attack self ” as “do nothing” and treats “attack nearest creature” as “act normally.”

-----

"Name Violation", thanks for suggesting the Iron Control trait. It doesn't help this build, but it did help a previous version that wasn't using swallow your fear.

-----

Also, the question has been solved by ciopio on the Giant in the Playground Forums: have the phobia spell cast once, then trigger your phobia to panic, then use Headband of Unshakeable Resolve to reduce the panic to frightened.

Shadow Lodge

Covert Operator wrote:
Taja the Barbarian, I only care about the confusion effect from swallow your fear, not the mini-rage effect. The mini-rage only lasts 10 minutes, while the confusion lasts as long as the frightened effect does. BTW, how did you preserve formatting when copying everything into a quote box? That seems like a lot of work!

Yeah, it's a bit of work as it is done by hand, but if I'm taking the time to quote something, I want to make certain it is clearly readable.

Covert Operator wrote:

Thank you for citing the Combining Magical Effects chapter, I hadn't read it before. It seems like this doesn't apply, because it's not two instances of the same spell, and also:

Rageshaper's Devastating Form applies before the confusion roll.

he flies into an uncontrollable frenzy as if affected by confusion, but he treats a roll of 26–50 as “attacks nearest creature.”

While the other effect modifies the result after the roll.

If the subject is frightened, he remains in place and gains the confused condition for the remainder of the fear effect, except he treats all results of “attack self ” as “do nothing” and treats “attack nearest creature” as “act normally.”

You aren't getting two seperate buffs to one confusion: You are getting two separate confusion effects with different effect tables, which is exactly the situation the 'combined magical effects' section is supposed to cover.

The changes to the Confusion tables refer to the specific condition created by that ability and can't really be combined in any practical fashion:

  • A) Per the guidelines, the 'New' confusion effect (and it's special table) should probably override any other confusion effect entirely for its duration.
  • B) Alternately, if it is ruled the 'old' confusion is somehow a stronger effect (perhaps a higher effective caster level), you'd end up with the 'New' confusion just having no effect at all.
  • C) Finally, if don't apply these guidelines, you end up with two separate confusion effects (each with its own custom table) and you need to roll twice per round and somehow apply both results (which is the sort of nightmare the guidelines try to prevent).
You don't just combine the features you want into a single 'super-confusion' effect (it would be a different story if one or both abilities were 'Whenever you’re confused...' like the Iron Control trait, but they aren't written this way).

Also, please note that 'swallow your fear' specifically states that the target 'remains in place' which means your character can not move if the text is taken literally (significantly, it doesn't just say that you don't flee).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / make yourself Frightened for a long duration All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.