
![]() |

Is there any reason to believe that the movement from Ride the Blast ["You can use this wild talent as part of activating a kinetic blast other than telekinetic blast. You transform yourself into your element or energy and send yourself along with your kinetic blast. You appear at the end of the blast’s path, adjacent to the blast’s target (or final target, for form infusions like chain) or at the center of the burst or spread for form infusions like explosion. This ability doesn’t work with form infusions that involve melee attacks (such as kinetic blade) or that use a cone shape (such as spray)."} would provoke AoOs?
And could you escape a grapple with it?
My own opinion is "No" and "Yes" respectively, but there may be rules reasons I'm not aware of or considering.
Thanks.

![]() |

While I agree that it could logically seem that it shouldn’t provoke an AoO, there is nothing in the text overriding the general rule of “movement provokes AoOs.” Unlike a teleportation ability, you actually do pass through squares while riding the blast. Now, the better argument might be “I transformed myself into fire (or wind, or negative energy, etc.). How can someone damage that, anyway?”
As for your second question: yes you can escape a grapple but in order to use the blast (Sp) in the first place you have to succeed at a concentration check. Which is usually very hard while grappled.

Melkiador |

Feels like there'd be multiple AoO possible.
1. Spell like ability creates one, unless you succeed at casting defensively.
2. Ranged attack provokes one.
3. By then only the rare monster will have combat reflexes to hit you because of the movement.
Edit: I did forget something:
If successful, both you and the target gain the grappled condition (see the Appendices).
Grappled: A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.
So, you shouldn't have to worry about AoO from the creature that's grappling you, but if they have allies in threat range, it's a concern.

Melkiador |

A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell.
I didn’t focus on it, but that’s going to be a pretty hard concentration check to pull off against any creature meant for grappling.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

A fire elemental is made of energy but it can be damaged without problems. It doesn't say you become incorporeal, nor it says that you get DR/something, so I think you can be damaged normally if we follow RAW.
No idea what is RAI, but using the ability is a free action that is part of using your blast, it giving you invulnerability while moving seems a bit strong.
The "it allows me to escape a grapple" part of the question is even more difficult to answer. An air or fire elemental doesn't have an easier time fleeing a grapple than any other creature (besides the burn damage the fire elemental do). The ability doesn't say that your shape changes, it is not a polymorph or transmutation effect. So by game logic, it doesn't help you escape a grapple.
By RL logic it helps, so RAI can be that it would allow you to escape a grapple, pass a small opening, and do other stuff that a narrow jet of matter or energy can do.
Without a word from Paizo developers (most unlikely), the only workable reply is "Ask your GM". If you are the GM, read the replyes and decide how it works.