Do Class Feats That Grant Additional 10th-Level Spell Slots Allow Spontaneous Casters to Learn a New 10th-Level Spell?


Rules Discussion


I was reading over the classes, and was curious about the class feats that grant additional 10th-Level spell slots. Would spontaneous casters who take these feats be granted a third 10th-Level spell? Or does the feat only grant them two casts of their given 10th-Level spells.

My gut says no, but I am new to this system, and could not find another thread talking about this question. I was curious how other GM's would interpret this.


Under spell repertoire it says:

Though you gain them at the same rate, your spell slots and the spells in your spell repertoire are separate. If a feat or other ability adds a spell to your spell repertoire, it wouldn't give you another spell slot, and vice versa.


moosher12 wrote:

I was reading over the classes, and was curious about the class feats that grant additional 10th-Level spell slots. Would spontaneous casters who take these feats be granted a third 10th-Level spell? Or does the feat only grant them two casts of their given 10th-Level spells.

My gut says no, but I am new to this system, and could not find another thread talking about this question. I was curious how other GM's would interpret this.

Gortle is right. The feat only grants a new slot, not a new spell to your repertoire.

Look at the language for the class feature that grants 10th level slots to Sorcerers, Bloodline Paragon:
"Add two common 10th-level spells of your tradition to your repertoire. You gain a single 10th-level spell slot you can use to cast these spells, using sorcerer spellcasting. Unlike other spell slots, you don’t gain more 10th-level spells as you level up, and they can’t be used for abilities that let you cast spells without expending spell slots or abilities that give you more spell slots. You can take the Bloodline Perfection sorcerer feat to gain a second slot."

To paraphrase- You don't gain more 10th level spells when you level up, but you can get a second slot by taking a feat.

Both the Oracle and Bard class features have nearly identical language.


Gortle wrote:

Under spell repertoire it says:

Though you gain them at the same rate, your spell slots and the spells in your spell repertoire are separate. If a feat or other ability adds a spell to your spell repertoire, it wouldn't give you another spell slot, and vice versa.

It's not even that: this quote is only about 1-9 spell slots and levels. Level 10 spell slots and levels are defined by the

Bloodline Paragon Level 19 feature wrote:
You have perfected the magic in your bloodline. Add two common 10th-level spells of your tradition to your repertoire. You gain a single 10th-level spell slot you can use to cast these spells, using sorcerer spellcasting. Unlike other spell slots, you don’t gain more 10th-level spells as you level up, and they can’t be used for abilities that let you cast spells without expending spell slots or abilities that give you more spell slots. You can take the Bloodline Perfection sorcerer feat to gain a second slot.

and

Bloodline Perfection Feat 20 wrote:

Prerequisites bloodline paragon

You command the ultimate powers of your bloodline and tradition. You gain an additional 10th-level spell slot.

These explicitly say what happens and what you get.

Because if complete class feature "Spell Repertoire" worked for 10th level spells, then this would work for 10th level: "Each time you get a spell slot (see Table 3–17), you add a spell of the same level to your spell repertoire." And it doesn't only because the Table 3-17 has an asterisk and a note for 10th level. =)
On the other hand, wizards really can get 4 10-lvl spells for their spellbook (two at 19 at two at 20), because for them this must work:
"Each time you gain a level, you add two more arcane spells to your spellbook, of any level for which you have spell slots." And they have 10th level slot(s) at 19th and 20th level. If this didn't work wizards couldn't get any free 10th level spells. Which is absurd.


Errenor wrote:
It's not even that: this quote is only about 1-9 spell slots and levels. Level 10 spell slots and levels are defined by the

That is not relevant to the actual question asked.


Thank you all. I should have noticed my oversight regarding the clause in the Spell Repertoire ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Do Class Feats That Grant Additional 10th-Level Spell Slots Allow Spontaneous Casters to Learn a New 10th-Level Spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.