Can spells with an area extend past the spell's listed range?


Rules Discussion


As the title.

If I cast a Fireball at maximum range, does the explosion continue past it (giving an effective range of 520 feet)? Or does it simply fizzle out past 500 feet?

Also, what about Wall spells: if I cast a Wall spell at maximum range, does the entirety of the Wall have to be in range, or only one part of it?


No, I dont believe so but the rules are relatively light on the issue.

CRB pg 304 wrote:
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I don't see why not. The range is limit of the "point" where your spell starts. If it's affect after this could go further I don't see a reason to it not go on.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Fireball happens to be the spell used in the example of burst area in the book

Burst, CR 456 wrote:
A burst effect issues forth in all directions from a single corner of a square within the range of the effect, spreading in all directions to a specified radius. For instance, when you cast fireball, it detonates at the corner of a square within 500 feet of you and creates a 20-foot burst, meaning it extends out 20 feet in every direction from the corner of the square you chose, affecting each creature whose space (or even one square of its space) is within the burst.

Walls should follow the normal rules of effect


2 people marked this as a favorite.

The only area shape that I can think of that would have this interaction (both an area and a range) would be a burst spell like Fireball.

And yeah, the range for a burst spell uses the example of Fireball - which has a 500 ft range. And the rule says that the origin point of the burst is a grid corner that is within that 500 ft range and that the effect extends to the squares within 20 feet of that origin point.

Which includes the squares 518 feet away from you.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Regarding this quote:

CRB pg 304 wrote:
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!

My argument is that the area is being created (its defining origin point is) within the spell's range.


breithauptclan wrote:

Regarding this quote:

CRB pg 304 wrote:
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!
My argument is that the area is being created (its defining origin point is) within the spell's range.

That's an interesting point, but the reason I bring up Walls as an example is because they don't actually have an Area entry compared to spells like Fireball, hence why I wonder if the entirety of the wall must be constrained to within the range of the spell.

They list dimensions in their description, but it's not an actual Area entry, which gives me pause, even though it essentially behaves like an Area entry, in a sense.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, for walls I would go with the 'make things appear' part of the rule. So the entirety of the wall would need to be within the listed range.

Summoning spells are another interesting case. I think that their initial summoning would have to be within range - for the entire creature if they take up more than one square. For that same 'make things appear' clause. But after that, unless they have a maximum distance from the caster that is listed in the spell, then they can be commanded to move outside that range. The ones that I spot checked didn't have any such restriction.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
breithauptclan wrote:

Regarding this quote:

CRB pg 304 wrote:
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!
My argument is that the area is being created (its defining origin point is) within the spell's range.

That's an interesting point, but the reason I bring up Walls as an example is because they don't actually have an Area entry compared to spells like Fireball, hence why I wonder if the entirety of the wall must be constrained to within the range of the spell.

They list dimensions in their description, but it's not an actual Area entry, which gives me pause, even though it essentially behaves like an Area entry, in a sense.

Yes, since Wall spells aren't burst or line effects, even the ones which have a fixed shape like Wall of Fire and Wall of Ice would need to be wholly w/i range


breithauptclan wrote:

Regarding this quote:

CRB pg 304 wrote:
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!
My argument is that the area is being created (its defining origin point is) within the spell's range.

Interesting. So is fireball real range (500 feet - 20-foot burst)?


YuriP wrote:
breithauptclan wrote:

Regarding this quote:

CRB pg 304 wrote:
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!
My argument is that the area is being created (its defining origin point is) within the spell's range.
Interesting. So is fireball real range (500 feet - 20-foot burst)?

I don't think so. There is an express example that was quoted in the rules for Burst effects (which Fireball certainly is) which uses Fireball in it that states that the explosion centers within 500 feet, and that the explosion still radiates 20 feet out from there.

That being said, that seems to be more of an exception to Bursts than it is that the general rule of effects with Areas can extend past the listed range, since other Area-based spells (as well as walls) don't have that kind of exception.

I was largely curious with the Walls more than anything, and it appears I have found my next item to bring up with my Sunday group for rules clarifications.


OK then I change my question to a more boolean condition.

So Chain Lightning max jump range is 500 feet from caster and and 30 feet from each target? If one of these conditions is false the spell can't jump to a new target?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
YuriP wrote:

OK then I change my question to a more boolean condition.

So Chain Lightning max jump range is 500 feet from caster and and 30 feet from each target? If one of these conditions is false the spell can't jump to a new target?

yes, if the spell would ever exceed either 500ft from the caster or 30ft from the last target, it cannot jump

and also
>and you must have line of effect to all targets


YuriP wrote:

OK then I change my question to a more boolean condition.

So Chain Lightning max jump range is 500 feet from caster and and 30 feet from each target? If one of these conditions is false the spell can't jump to a new target?

I'll reiterate what Baarogue said, because it's correct. This is because Chain Lightning does not have an Area entry and is not a Burst effect, giving it the exception to expand out of its listed range, so long as the origin point of the Burst is within range.

But, assuming you have line of sight and line of effect to every desired target, it will work so long as each target is within 30 feet of each other, and within 500 feet of the initial spell.

That being said, I always thought Chain Lightning had only a 30 foot range, though, and the jumps could happen indefinitely outside that, but maybe I'm misremembering something.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Baarogue wrote:
YuriP wrote:

OK then I change my question to a more boolean condition.

So Chain Lightning max jump range is 500 feet from caster and and 30 feet from each target? If one of these conditions is false the spell can't jump to a new target?

yes, if the spell would ever exceed either 500ft from the caster...

I would agree with that. It falls under the 'affect targets' part of this rule.

Quote:
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can spells with an area extend past the spell's listed range? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.