Question About Attacking While Underground with Earth Glide


Rules Questions


If a creature has reach as well as a way to see enemies on the surface through the ground, can that creature freely attack without penalty? Attacks of Opportunity?

Liberty's Edge

If the creature has a way to see (or some equivalent sense, i.e. some form of blindsight) the enemies, yes.


Note that they can still be fought against, and they use the concealment rules for incorporeal creatures in objects. So if you use readied attacks, you can attack against the creature with just cover. However, the creature in the object, assuming it has the aforementioned blindsight or similar, can ignore the miss chance to attack.

Liberty's Edge

Cuup asked about a creature with reach, so it can get total cover by staying submerged in the ground and attacking only with its limbs.
The target would need [url=https://aonprd.com/FeatDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Strike%20Back]Strike Back

to be able to attack the creature limbs.

I don't like that kind of limitation, so I house-ruled that everyone can do that if he uses a ready action, but RAW you need the feat.


But what if you had lunge and you used that "strike back" through the ground?

Liberty's Edge

AwesomenessDog wrote:
But what if you had lunge and you used that "strike back" through the ground?

Through what is, for you, a solid surface?

I don't get what you are trying to say.


With it's body underground, the Earth Elemental has total cover, even if it reaches out to strike at people aboveground.

Liberty's Edge

This whole thread has given me the idea of creating a new kind of earth elemental that moves through the earth by liquefying it around its body. It will require some extensive rules about the effect but it will be an interesting creature.


Diego Rossi wrote:
AwesomenessDog wrote:
But what if you had lunge and you used that "strike back" through the ground?

Through what is, for you, a solid surface?

I don't get what you are trying to say.

It's hand still has to stick out to hit you, but you still theoretically threaten it either with your own reach weapon or when you ready a lunge.

Dark Archive

AwesomenessDog wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
AwesomenessDog wrote:
But what if you had lunge and you used that "strike back" through the ground?

Through what is, for you, a solid surface?

I don't get what you are trying to say.
It's hand still has to stick out to hit you, but you still theoretically threaten it either with your own reach weapon or when you ready a lunge.

And to attack its hand, you need the feat strike back


Except if the wall is not there, you could hit the creature with reach, and while the creature is attacking, it doesn't benefit from total cover from said wall.

Liberty's Edge

AwesomenessDog wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
AwesomenessDog wrote:
But what if you had lunge and you used that "strike back" through the ground?

Through what is, for you, a solid surface?

I don't get what you are trying to say.
It's hand still has to stick out to hit you, but you still theoretically threaten it either with your own reach weapon or when you ready a lunge.

Unless you have the feat Strike Back, no, you can't attack it.

You don't threaten it, even with the feat, as you can't strike its body.

Quote:
Threatened Squares: You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn.

You can't make an attack through several feet of stone or earth unless you have a special weapon or some special ability. Plus, even if you have a way to attack through the earth and stone, you need a way to see in the creature square to threaten it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question About Attacking While Underground with Earth Glide All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.