Hex Strike and Conductive weapons


Rules Questions


Can you use the Hex Strike feat through a conductive weapon?

Hex Strike

Conductive

Most hexes would not work via a conductive weapon because they do not require an attack roll. But a hex delivered by Hex Strike obviously does. While the feat does not list what type of ability it is, but nor does it say that it changes the underlying hex from being a (SU) ability.


thorin001 wrote:

Can you use the Hex Strike feat through a conductive weapon?

Hex Strike

Conductive

Most hexes would not work via a conductive weapon because they do not require an attack roll. But a hex delivered by Hex Strike obviously does. While the feat does not list what type of ability it is, but nor does it say that it changes the underlying hex from being a (SU) ability.

No, because it the unarmed strike for the hex strike feat is not actually delivering the hex… the feat simply grants you the ability to use a hex as a swift action after making a successful unarmed strike. The hex still doesn’t require an attack roll. In other words, the feat doesn’t grant you a different way to use your hexes, it gives you better action economy for a specific hex.


Yup, I agree with Chell.

You can use some Hexes with a Conductive weapon without Hex Strike, but from memory the ones that require a touch attack aren't worth using. I'd love to be proven wrong here though.


Hexes that work with a conductive weapon:

Scar, only useful if the target gets way
Blight, only affects animals and plant creatures (and is terrible)
Healing, only harmful against undead (or other negative energy attunes creatures), also has a once per 24h limit
Major Healing (major hex), same as above
Eternal Slumber (grand hex)

Not listed: Ameliorating, Major Ameliorating (major hex), Regenerative Sinew (major hex), and Vision (major hex), which are all harmless. Harrowing Curse (major hex) uses a touch attack, but doesn't work with a weapon.

On the original topic, Hex Strike doesn't make the hex a touch attack. Not only does it only trigger after the attack roll has already been made, it doesn't have you touch anything.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hex Strike and Conductive weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.