Alchemist Questions


Rules Questions


The Alchemist class confuses and frightens me. Perhaps some of you nice people can answer my questions:

1. Is using an extract the same as casting a spell? For example, if you provoke an attack of opportunity while using an extract do you have to make a concentration check? Can you use an extract "defensively" to avoid provoking?

2. What kind of action is it for another character to use one of your infusions? Can a character (who isn't an alchemist) draw and drink an infusion as a standard action?


Using an infusion is like drinking a potion - it's a standard action if it's in your hand.

Using an extract is like drinking a potion, except you can do it as a standard action without starting the round with it in your hand. No concentration check or 'drinking defensively' applies.

Grand Lodge

I'm pretty sure drinking an extract still provokes, just like drinking a potion.


Thank you, so using extracts follow the rules for drinking potions, not for spell casting. I was very confused.

Liberty's Edge

Oldest One wrote:
Thank you, so using extracts follow the rules for drinking potions, not for spell casting. I was very confused.

Actually...that's incorrect. For the Alchemist anyway. To quote:

Alchemist Class wrote:
An alchemist can draw and drink an extract as a standard action.

For other people lacking that class feature they're pretty much Potions, yeah.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions