Julien Dien
|
We play under PFS rules.
(1) CRB 447: A character can carefully administer a potion to an unconscious creature as a full-round action...What about administer a potion to an conscious creature? Is it a standard action as usual?
I think it's ok.
(2) According to PFS FAQ, Arbiter, Avian, Biped [claws], Biped [hands] are able to grasp and carry one object at a time in their paws, claws, or hands, including weapons, rods, wands, and staves, but most of Familiars can not use them.
Can they use potions? Can they administer a potion to another creature?
| VoodistMonk |
Given that they do not specify the necessary actions to administer a potion to a conscious creature, you would probably just follow the rules for handing an object to them... they are awake and can drink the d@mn thing themselves...
Otherwise you would have people using their actions to spoon-feed the Barbarian health potions as she continues to chop up the enemy.
As for Familiars, if they can hold it, they can pour it down your throat... giving a potion to someone else is more a matter of smarts than body parts... they have to understand that it has to be drank to take effect, and that spilling it on your face will not be enough.
| Lelomenia |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
if I want my animal, plant, or vermin companion to drink a potion, do I need to succeed at a Handle Animal check to push it?
No. If you are holding a potion and are adjacent to your companion, your companion can drink the potion as a standard action on its turn. Animal companions with the biped (hands) shape can draw potions on their own.posted March 2018
not exactly the OP question, but it has drinking a potion as a standard action of the drinker independent of who is holding it.
Also extrapolating, but it would appear bipedal familiars should also be able to use potions on themselves without help. I would expect that they could also administer them to you if you were unconscious.
I don’t see support for providing potions to conscious characters without requiring action on part of the PC in rules or in reality.
| Mark Hoover 330 |
To make absolutely certain that any Familiar can use it's own potions or deliver a potion to someone, consider the Valet archetype for the Familiar. You lose Share Spells unfortunately but the Familiar can now cast Open/Close and Prestidigitation at will.
With Prestidigitation you can move/manipulate up to 1lb of material. With Open/Close you can, obviously, open or close any container and "bottle" is noted as one such example. So, with these 2 Cantrips at will a Valet Familiar of any kind should be able to open the bottle and tip it slowly into their own open mouths, or do the same for an unconscious PC, with their minds.
I don't think that this archetype has been banned from PFS play but I could be wrong.
| Joesi |
(1) CRB 447: A character can carefully administer a potion to an unconscious creature as a full-round action...What about administer a potion to an conscious creature? Is it a standard action as usual?
I think it's ok.
This question has come up a lot. By following RAW as close as possible it would be a full round action, but that's still problematic. I think making it a standard action PLUS a standard action from the recipient (only if they are able to) makes more sense. A standard action without the recipient losing anything does not make sense to me unless the recipient took a feat to do so (custom feat).
(2) According to PFS FAQ, Arbiter, Avian, Biped [claws], Biped [hands] are able to grasp and carry one object at a time in their paws, claws, or hands, including weapons, rods, wands, and staves, but most of Familiars can not use them.
Can they use potions? Can they administer a potion to another creature?
My opinion —which I think matches the rules more-or-less (at least for PFS if I recall)— is that none of the base familiars can use a consumable magic item (or any other use-based items in general I think), and that you'd have to get an advanced familiar to do so.
People may argue that a monkey should realistically be able to, but this is a case where balance needs to be considered over realism. It doesn't make sense for one specific familiar type to get such a huge advantage over the others for realism sake.
Also note that when it comes to wands specifically (but not potions) a monkey doesn't normally speak a language, and hence would not be able to activate it (while a bird wouldn't be able to aim it at anything properly)