Poisoner and Poison Weapon


Rules Discussion

Wayfinders

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Poisoner archetype allows you to take the Rogue feat Poison Weapon at level 6. Note that, in this edition, everyone knows what I mean by "level 6" because it's the level my character is and that always means the same thing unless preceded by the word "spell". Essentially, the whole concept of a class level is a thing of the past... Which is brilliant, except that Poison Weapon mentions your "rogue level" in its Special benefit.

Poison Weapon wrote:
Special During your daily preparations, you can prepare a number of simple injury poisons equal to your rogue level. These poisons deal 1d4 poison damage. Only you can apply these poisons properly, and they expire the next time you prepare.

This poses a problem for the Poisoner archetype, as it doesn't grant a rogue level, because, as above, that's not actually a thing. Nobody has a rogue level, not even members of that class, though a Rogue player obviously knows that the feat means "your level" because it couldn't mean anything else. Even in the case of the Rogue archetype, because the rules are a conversation, one could make an educated guess and assume that, as with qualifying for class feats granted by multiclass archetypes, the effective level is equal to half your level.

However, if you agree with that ruling, no such provision exists for the Poisoner archetype. If you don't, you're left with the same conundrum for both the Rogue archetype and the Poisoner. Either you have a "rogue level" of zero by dint of not being a Rogue, or you just do as the Rogue player does and mentally edit out the word "rogue" entirely. Erring on the side of caution, the former option effectively means that they only gain the primary effects of the feat, which are cool... Except that the archetype also grants the Improved Poison Weapon feat, which has vanishingly little point if not for the Special entry on Poison Weapon. It technically saves you a poison on a critfail, but that being the sole benefit for a tenth-level feat doesn't really make sense intent-wise when you get Sticky Poison two levels earlier.

So the intent was, I think, that you get the full benefit of the feat, using your full level as always because there's no special exception. I don't know if that holds up at all, though I also don't think it'll massively throw off balance for anyone.

Is there anything I've missed or got wrong?
Is this a reasonable interpretation?
Third question for comedic effect?

Horizon Hunters

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Pretty sure it's your level, and they forgot to adjust the text when making it available for the poisoner archetype. If it was indeed your "rogue level" then it would even be useless for those with the rogue dedication.


Sounds like a typo to me.

It should be equal to your class/character level, or just plain level, since that seems to be the obvious intent based on it being a holdover from PF1 verbiage.


Sounds like something to report in the CRB post-Update Errata thread. At least it's a straightforward fix.

Wayfinders

Okay, good to know I haven't missed something silly. :P Thanks!

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Sounds like something to report in the CRB post-Update Errata thread. At least it's a straightforward fix.

Ah, thank you. Will do.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Poisoner and Poison Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.