If you reduce an Attack Damage to 0 (via resistances / block / etc) its other effects (like a poison / paralysis) still apli?


Rules Discussion


An attacke like Goliath Spider would apply its venom if i reduce it to 0 damge?

Melee Single Action fangs +24 [+19/+14] (reach 10 feet), Damage 2d12+12 piercing plus goliath spider venom

Where in the books is this stated, couldnt find anywhere.


p621 wrote:

Usually, if an

effect negates the initial damage, it also negates the
persistent damage

Poison is not explicitly called out anywhere, but if the vector is injury and you don't take damage, then I would say no, you are not exposed, you were not injured.


Resistances and shield block are applicable here, just remember not to reduce the damage to zero as a result of penalties. Per the Errata:

Page 451: Following the formulas for calculating damage
rolls, add the sentence “If the combined penalties on an
attack would reduce the damage to 0 or below, you still
deal 1 damage.”


mrspaghetti wrote:

Resistances and shield block are applicable here, just remember not to reduce the damage to zero as a result of penalties. Per the Errata:

Page 451: Following the formulas for calculating damage
rolls, add the sentence “If the combined penalties on an
attack would reduce the damage to 0 or below, you still
deal 1 damage.”

"Penalties" is a specific step, its the "1dX+Y" step where if Y is a negative, that's a penalty. 1d6-2 can never roll less than 1, it does not apply at the resistances and shield blocking step.


Draco18s wrote:
mrspaghetti wrote:

Resistances and shield block are applicable here, just remember not to reduce the damage to zero as a result of penalties. Per the Errata:

Page 451: Following the formulas for calculating damage
rolls, add the sentence “If the combined penalties on an
attack would reduce the damage to 0 or below, you still
deal 1 damage.”

"Penalties" is a specific step, its the "1dX+Y" step where if Y is a negative, that's a penalty. 1d6-2 can never roll less than 1, it does not apply at the resistances and shield blocking step.

Yeah, like I exactly stated.


mrspaghetti wrote:
Yeah, like I exactly stated.

And unhelpful:

Quote:
An attacke like Goliath Spider would apply its venom if i reduce it to 0 damge? (VIA RESISTANCES / BLOCK / ETC)


Draco18s wrote:
mrspaghetti wrote:
Yeah, like I exactly stated.

And unhelpful:

Quote:
An attacke like Goliath Spider would apply its venom if i reduce it to 0 damge? (VIA RESISTANCES / BLOCK / ETC)

Note the "ETC" at the end. That stands for "etcetera":

adverb
adverb: etcetera
used at the end of a list to indicate that further, similar items are included.


Injury poisons have a specific thing about only being delivered on an attack that deals at least 1 point of slashing or piercing damage. Absent a similar rule for other "riders", they would still apply.


I agree damage has to be done to deliver an injury poison, and with spiders I'd generally rule that way. Except technically the poison could be a contact poison. And then there's whether it contacted or not!

Apologies for muddying the waters for humor, as rules-idolators might actually run with that argument. I think it's fairly clear that unless the description emphasizes the poison is deadly to the touch, the Strike has to injure.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / If you reduce an Attack Damage to 0 (via resistances / block / etc) its other effects (like a poison / paralysis) still apli? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.