| Matthew Downie |
The rules for 5-foot step say:
You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn’t hampered by difficult terrain or darkness.
The rules for the entangled condition say:
Being entangled impedes movement, but does not entirely prevent it unless the bonds are anchored to an immobile object or tethered by an opposing force. An entangled creature moves at half speed, cannot run or charge, and takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and a –4 penalty to Dexterity.
A literal reading of the rules would suggest she could make the step, because her movement is hampered by something other than difficult terrain or darkness.
I suspect the intent of the rule is that anything that hampers your movement prevents 5-foot steps, but that's up to the GM.
| Scavion |
entangled does not stop a 5 foot step unless it anchors them to the ground
I would go with this since Entangle doesn't double your movement cost, but cut your total available movement in half. A subtle but important difference. A 5ft step would still be 5ft rather than 10ft in this case.
| blahpers |
The entangled condition does not prevent a 5-foot step (edit: unless, as vhok mentioned, the entangling effect is anchored to the ground).
The entangle spell, however, does, because in addition to causing the entangled condition on a failed save, it makes the affected area difficult terrain (no save).